Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne

Ron Jeremy

You know this post is what makes me laugh about some of our supporters, they will attack and attack certain players, yet make numerous excuses about others.

There are scapegoats at this club, and others like Hayne who are apparently untouchable. It was the same last year when we played rubbish for 12 weeks, Hayne was terrible but barely anyone was willing to criticise him.

He played much of his junior career at centre and has played 10 weeks at centre and trained a whole off season there. For mine his performances are declining rather than improving. He looks lethargic and disinterested at times. And why of why when he gets in space does he slow down and not back himself these days, in last night's game he got the ball in space with hodges coming across to cover he should have pinned the ears back. Instead he slowed and came into hodges, this is the same guy he outpaced in origin last year. Its not the first time this year he has been unwilling to use speed.

Look he has heaps of talent, he is big and strong, but he defence at centre has been poor and his lack of involvement in attack is a problem.

I do agree with Ron on one point though and that is moving him to fullback. More so because Burt for mine is just not cutting it. I have always been a fan of the variety Burt gives us, but he has massive limitations. He would have to be the easiest player to tackle in the nrl, get a finger on him and its over, he has no physical presence at all. Brett Hodgson and Presto seem like powerhouses compared to Burt. He also seems to have lost pace. Defencively he is very weak and my major problem is his positional play seems to be poor currently, how many times does he take the ball on the full and how do wingers run 50m and a fullback never get a shot on them. His advantages are he is another kicking option, good support player and in the opposition 20m great and chasing grubbers. But I just think for the balance of the side now, Burt's time may be up.

I tend to think Hayne struggles as a team player a little in the centres, waits for the ball to come. Plays as an individual, at fullback he can do that. I think centre is a little bit too confining for him and defencively at centre he seems to have very little idea.

But yeah as I said does make me laugh the defence of Hayne who has played rubbish this year bar a few shining moments and the over the top criticism of others. Its hypocritical.

Hayne is a superstar fullback/winger playing centre, it took Lockyer a while to become an established 5/8, just as it will take Hayne a while to get use to 5/8, not that i'm comparing the two in talent, Lockyer is a champion.

Hayne hasn't been used wisely all year, but when he does get quality ball you wait and see, a current SOO player, says it all.

I'd like to ask this question, why should we look for an exciuse for a bloke like Jarryd who is one of the most talented players and highest paid player at the club when we can't seem to find the same excuse for everyone else? INU showed more impact last night than Jarryd has done in the whole year and yet it's almost a mortal sin to even scrutenise him.

I think it's slightly disturbing when one of our most despised outside back in Joel Reddy is infact our highest try scorer in first grade so far and we can find a way to drop him but we don't dare question the committment of one our star players.

We want to lynch Grothe for his performance last night and in a way I agree it was a terrible defensive effort, but then why shouldn't we blame Haynes effort which lead to Stagg and Hodges try.

the bias and the agenda that people have towards certain players is absolutely ridiculous when you follow a sporting contest that involves supporting a team of 17 players on the field, and last night I was able to pinpoint a dozen incidents minor or major that may well have made the difference to the end result and not one person should put their hand up claim responsability for the end result.

Ron Jeremy

I'd like to ask this question, why should we look for an exciuse for a bloke like Jarryd who is one of the most talented players and highest paid player at the club when we can't seem to find the same excuse for everyone else? INU showed more impact last night than Jarryd has done in the whole year and yet it's almost a mortal sin to even scrutenise him.

I think it's slightly disturbing when one of our most despised outside back in Joel Reddy is infact our highest try scorer in first grade so far and we can find a way to drop him but we don't dare question the committment of one our star players.

We want to lynch Grothe for his performance last night and in a way I agree it was a terrible defensive effort, but then why shouldn't we blame Haynes effort which lead to Stagg and Hodges try.

the bias and the agenda that people have towards certain players is absolutely ridiculous when you follow a sporting contest that involves supporting a team of 17 players on the field, and last night I was able to pinpoint a dozen incidents minor or major that may well have made the difference to the end result and not one person should put their hand up claim responsability for the end result.

Grothe has been letting in trys for years now, it's a massive problem, that's where the opposition target us.

If Hayne is still having problems adjusting like Grothe has defensively for a decade then yes i will whinge about that.

And i'm not being biased, even opposition fans are having a say about Grothe, go and check out the NRL forum>

Nah dude up in newie no net for me still. I haven't been on this site in ages. When you coming to a game mate? You still owe me a round from last year

Ron Jeremy

Nah dude up in newie no net for me still. I haven't been on this site in ages. When you coming to a game mate? You still owe me a round from last year

hahaha tight arse.

Mate, all the games this year have been mainly on fri night, it's ****ing ****, i finish work at 7 most nights so i cant get down.

I'll do my best, haven't seen u blokes for ages.

Ike E Bear

Well, this is a productive thread.

I think Hayne had an average night, but was far from terrible. Except for dogging the chase for the Stagg try, I'd just say he was just mediocre on the night ... which almost all players have occasionally.

I think the Hodges try was just down to a great effort by him. Sometimes great players do great things. Hayne has shown that he can be a great player too, but that doesn't mean he can always stop another great player from doing the remarkable.

He deserves some criticism (especially for dogging that chase), but he hardly lost us the game. Hindmarsh (my favourite player) was ordinary too. Sometimes it happens ... that's why it's a team sport. It just all needs to be kept in perspective.

I don't think Hayne has been bad this year at all, just a little down on what we expect of him based on his potential.

That said, I agree that he'd better serve the team at fullback.

As for Grothe ... he was terrible in Brisbane. Period. He contributed hugely to the loss.

Funny how people are citizising him after last nights performance, sure he didn't play that great but lets just factoring in that he was:

- Playing centre, this position is not his natural position, and still learning the trade
- Was up against Hodges for alot of the night, imo Hodges in the best centre in the world and not many centres can contain him.
- He was given no quality ball, his team mates are not playing to his strengths, give him the ball early, let him do the creating.

a) shouldn't make Hayne immune from criticism if he was playing poorly - the criticism is directed at Hayne as a centre, not as a person, and is entirely valid...

b) if Hayne is so talented, then wouldn't he would have done a better job on Hodges? There was nothing special about when Hodges went sailing through him for a try. And I was more worried about Hayne's non-effort tracking back on the Stagg try - he directly cost us as many if not more tries than Grothe.

c) Isn't laming teammates for not getting Hayne ball really more a criticism of Hayne's attitude that he didn't get involved and look for it? Talented, creative type that he is and all...

Personally I think Hayne's performance smelt of a bit of a prima donna attitude, the moaning and carrying on when called back for forward passes etc, and I was especially disapppointed with his Stagg non-effort. Although since mine is a different POV to Ron Jeremy's it will probably earn me (like it did Parra Pete and Stagger) some pointless personal attacks from him in the future... ;-)

I don't think Hayne at fullback fixes any defensive problems or overlaps of the type we have been seeing this year? Unless analysing our defensive line up from the back and telling his teammates where to stand and slide has suddenly become part of Hayne's fullback talents? He can be a brilliant individual player in attack, and had a few good games at fullback last year, as did Burt if we put aside our biases and care to remember.

But I think this year with our halfback leaving mid-season we need to stick with more of a team player fullback rather than an unpredictable raw talent? We need someone who will communicate with those around him in attack and become a systematic option for the halfback, like Burt was starting to do last night.

Hayne had an absolutely shocking game at centre against Brisbane, and to be honest I've seen very little evidence that he is or will ever become a decent centre? So personally I'd get him out of the centres asap, put him on the wing where he does perform solidly and realiably, and then let him scare opposition teams with his talent from there - if he's good enough and care's about earning his increased money...

Ron Jeremy

a) shouldn't make Hayne immune from criticism if he was playing poorly - the criticism is directed at Hayne as a centre, not as a person, and is entirely valid...

b) if Hayne is so talented, then wouldn't he would have done a better job on Hodges? There was nothing special about when Hodges went sailing through him for a try. And I was more worried about Hayne's non-effort tracking back on the Stagg try - he directly cost us as many if not more tries than Grothe.

c) Isn't laming teammates for not getting Hayne ball really more a criticism of Hayne's attitude that he didn't get involved and look for it? Talented, creative type that he is and all...

Personally I think Hayne's performance smelt of a bit of a prima donna attitude, the moaning and carrying on when called back for forward passes etc, and I was especially disapppointed with his Stagg non-effort. Although since mine is a different POV to Ron Jeremy's it will probably earn me (like it did Parra Pete and Stagger) some pointless personal attacks from him in the future... ;-)

I don't think Hayne at fullback fixes any defensive problems or overlaps of the type we have been seeing this year? Unless analysing our defensive line up from the back and telling his teammates where to stand and slide has suddenly become part of Hayne's fullback talents? He can be a brilliant individual player in attack, and had a few good games at fullback last year, as did Burt if we put aside our biases and care to remember.

But I think this year with our halfback leaving mid-season we need to stick with more of a team player fullback rather than an unpredictable raw talent? We need someone who will communicate with those around him in attack and become a systematic option for the halfback, like Burt was starting to do last night.

Hayne had an absolutely shocking game at centre against Brisbane, and to be honest I've seen very little evidence that he is or will ever become a decent centre? So personally I'd get him out of the centres asap, put him on the wing where he does perform solidly and realiably, and then let him scare opposition teams with his talent from there - if he's good enough and care's about earning his increased money...

Also, the problem with Hayne is that by playing at centre he isn't given the luxery to roam, that has been given to Burt who imo is a terrible broken field runner particulary for a guy with his pace.

Burt at fb can be a liability, however he has more brains then Eric and a better defender so imo he should be wing.

Hayne needs to be given the fb spot, so many problems are occuring at the back, Burt isn't simply up to it imo and needs to be on the wing. Just watch Haynes games at fb last year, his best games were whilst playing full back and he probably was the form fullback of the comp in the later parts of last year.

And Stagger eel, get over your whinging about his pay packet, he's a deadset superstar playing out of position, not his preferred position. If you wont to see him justify his pay tell your mate Hagan to play him at full back, i guarentee we will see Hayne back to his best if this occurs.
[/QUOTE]

Stagger made this thread personal, i never attacked him orignially, all i stated was that he's a genuine star playing out position in his pay packet will be justified.

You "called him out" in your first post, thus making it personal RJ. You're a specialist at it, the least you could do is admit it, instead of hide behind excuses and pretend you don't know what you're doing :lol:.

You seem to pick a different person to target each month, wonder who it will be in July when you've finished with Stagger...?

Basic point though is Hayne was the worst player on field last night (yes, worsethan Grothe). Either he's up to it or not, and needs to step up one of these weeks to prove he is (still) worth the money and accolades. Inu returns from injury and shows more talent and passion than we've seen from the Kings Cross Party Boy all year...

Ron Jeremy

You "called him out" in your first post, thus making it personal RJ. You're a specialist at it, the least you could do is admit it, instead of hide behind excuses and pretend you don't know what you're doing :lol:.

You seem to pick a different person to target each month, wonder who it will be in July when you've finished with Stagger...?

Basic point though is Hayne was the worst player on field last night (yes, worsethan Grothe). Either he's up to it or not, and needs to step up one of these weeks to prove he is (still) worth the money and accolades. Inu returns from injury and shows more talent and passion than we've seen from the Kings Cross Party Boy all year...

Yes i pointed him out, however i never started with the insults, read over it again. It was meant to be a constructive debate, so know i'm not hiding behind anything.

lol i don't pick on anyone, i'm sorry if it comes across like that but couldn't be further from the truth:lol:

Maybe because Inu is playing in position? i wonder if you will use that same line in the Eric Grothe thread in regards to Inu's performance;-)

And Stagger eel, get over your whinging about his pay packet, he's a deadset superstar playing out of position, not his preferred position. If you wont to see him justify his pay tell your mate Hagan to play him at full back, i guarentee we will see Hayne back to his best if this occurs.

Gee Ron..that's not personal isn't it?

My 2 cents is that Hayne is massively under achieving and he and Grothe should be embarrased to accept their pay packets each week.

To add fuel to the fire, Hindy was on MMM yesterday morning. Rabs said to him that having Hayne & Inu in he side must give the team a heap of confidence as they both ooze with talent. Hindy replied yes Inu is all class and didn't mention Hayne. An oversight ? Nup.

I'm a bit confused about the whole "playing out of/in position" thing ..... were Jarryd and Inu wingers all their junior days? .... I may be wrong but I don't think so .... I think they've played numerous backline positions - wing, centre, fullback - infact I seem to recall hayne playing centre for NSW U17s (I think) in a game with a big stink .... infact I seem to recall you telling us Ron that you knew hayne should be a centre when hagan moved him there :lol:

I know NRL is a different level, but these guys are not "out of position" - they now how to play different backline positions - the difference in NRL is your opposition is bigger and better and the games are generally faster - if you are gonna be elite you have to step up to that level .... its been basically half a season now at centre - excuses have gotta stop sometime

look, don't get me wrong - jarryd is a great attacking player - a player who can excel in any position in the backline - but he seems to be underachieving this year .... and I reckon even jarryd would admit it - he seems frustrated out there, evident by his stupid dumping of carroll way after play had stopped which will now cost him a SOO game .... Inu doesn't seem to miss a beat - back from quite a bad injury and has a blinder - i reckon his head is just screwed on a bit better

cardinal

I'm a bit confused about the whole "playing out of/in position" thing ..... were Jarryd and Inu wingers all their junior days? .... I may be wrong but I don't think so .... I think they've played numerous backline positions - wing, centre, fullback - infact I seem to recall hayne playing centre for NSW U17s (I think) in a game with a big stink .... infact I seem to recall you telling us Ron that you knew hayne should be a centre when hagan moved him there :lol:

I know NRL is a different level, but these guys are not "out of position" - they now how to play different backline positions - the difference in NRL is your opposition is bigger and better and the games are generally faster - if you are gonna be elite you have to step up to that level .... its been basically half a season now at centre - excuses have gotta stop sometime

look, don't get me wrong - jarryd is a great attacking player - a player who can excel in any position in the backline - but he seems to be underachieving this year .... and I reckon even jarryd would admit it - he seems frustrated out there, evident by his stupid dumping of carroll way after play had stopped which will now cost him a SOO game .... Inu doesn't seem to miss a beat - back from quite a bad injury and has a blinder - i reckon his head is just screwed on a bit better

The fact is Inu and Hayne have both played their best footy in the nrl on the wing.