Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Heighno

Reek_Havoc

I know he is coming back from injury but he doesn't seem to have the same impact as he once did. Rarely bends the defensive line. He aint the biggest guy going around.

Am I being too hard on the bloke? I just get the feeling that his time is limited. Galea is doing a good job, young guys like Dwyer coming through.

What do you jibberers reckon ?

i think the only reason he stood out last year was because he had little competition/co-contributors up front.

This year KG and Ellis have been doing heaps, leaving Heighno with a smaller (normal) role.

He's still doing good work imo, he just doesn't appear as active because he finally has some forwards with some nuts about them actually having a f**king go.

Last year he played alongside Payne and Te'o ffs

Ellis' farts have more gusto then those two combined.

N.C.

Enough said...

No, really... I'd like to see Heighno running at more open space. Now that we have a decent 6 & 7 combo, this might start to become a feature of his game again.

Reek_Havoc

i think the only reason he stood out last year was because he had little competition/co-contributors up front.

This year KG and Ellis have been doing heaps, leaving Heighno with a smaller (normal) role.

He's still doing good work imo, he just doesn't appear as active because he finally has some forwards with some nuts about them actually having a f**king go.

Last year he played alongside Payne and Te'o ffs

Ellis' farts have more gusto then those two combined.

Fair call. He doesn't stand out as much as he used to when he was our lynch pin. But seeing him yesterday, he just seems a little lighter and not as much gusto as we are used to from him. I hope Shames doesn't show him any favouritism like he has done with others especially if he ain't performing.

DanOz

While his runs are not often penetrating, his fitness is his biggest asset. He can put in 15-20 hit ups a game when match fit, which means when Keith, Todd, Bryce and Gareth are struggling to get back after a kick etc, Chris is there to hit it up.

TrigaTheTiger

Well - give the guy a bit of a break - he didnt play much and was coming off a long injury spell.

Doesnt matter anyway, as soon as the Central Coast get a team - hes off there - so I think its great we are building a better team so his loss wont be so huge.

Reek_Havoc

I thought Danny Galea did a reasonable job. He played 72 minutes. 12 runs with 78 metres. 33 tackles. 2 tackle breaks and 1 offload. He is a bigger guy as well. Just think he and a few others like Shirnack are breathing down his neck. He needs to lift his game.

sando88

Not a Moderator
not near his best but still want him in the team instead of a toyota cup player

b.bear

yeah I noticed earlier in the year the lack of impact he was having in attack ,can still defend with the best of them and has supreme stamina but, is that enough? I dont know maybe he was playing with some sort of injury which hampered his line speed ,anyway can only get better after mid year lay off..

chopsy_05

Hasn't played the same since signing his contract extension last year. Tries to hit and spin on every hit up but all that results in is his loss of momentum.

eagle4life

As an outside observer i reckon u guys are being pretty hard on him, he fills an important role that u guys dont really have anyone doing. He's a bit of the starch in your defence and he's someone who can make up to 50 tackles and still play 80 min plus 100 and something running metres. Every team has one, look at michael luck for the warriors or dallas johnson, every team needs a work horse and before he got injured he was producing 40-50 tackles a game. plus it was a pretty serious injury so u gotta cut him some slack

Reek_Havoc

As an outside observer i reckon u guys are being pretty hard on him, he fills an important role that u guys dont really have anyone doing. He's a bit of the starch in your defence and he's someone who can make up to 50 tackles and still play 80 min plus 100 and something running metres. Every team has one, look at michael luck for the warriors or dallas johnson, every team needs a work horse and before he got injured he was producing 40-50 tackles a game. plus it was a pretty serious injury so u gotta cut him some slack

Fairy muff. Willing to give him a few more weeks. He has a few guys breathing down his neck.

Go Minly.

westie

If Heighno hits harder than Ellis, Payne, Galea, Payten, Gibbs, Morris, Gallant etc etc i'm the easter bunny.

He's playing better this year and you guys are ribbing him? He's conceded way less trys through laziness - even though this probably is more to do with a sounder defensive line.

I bet you'd be all over him again if he were the flavour of the month with commentators once more.

Reek_Havoc

If Heighno hits harder than Ellis, Payne, Galea, Payten, Gibbs, Morris, Gallant etc etc i'm the easter bunny.

He's playing better this year and you guys are ribbing him? He's conceded way less trys through laziness - even though this probably is more to do with a sounder defensive line.

I bet you'd be all over him again if he were the flavour of the month with commentators once more.

We all know Heighno's workrate and minutes on the field are fantastic. I think now that we have another 80 minute back rower in Ellis who is more penetrative both in A and D, poses the question, do we need 3 forwards (including Farah) playing 80 minutes or can we make more use of our bench and have 3 or 4 fresh penetrative forwards ?

eagle4life

We all know Heighno's workrate and minutes on the field are fantastic. I think now that we have another 80 minute back rower in Ellis who is more penetrative both in A and D, poses the question, do we need 3 forwards (including Farah) playing 80 minutes or can we make more use of our bench and have 3 or 4 fresh penetrative forwards ?

Ellis is not a workaholic type footballer. ive never seen him get up to 50 tackles or anything and hes not one of those guys who is always there and backing up. This season his highest tackle count was 38 and that was the first game of the season. Against manly he made 18 heighno made that many from the bench in limited mins. Ellis is a good footy player no doubt and is doing really well but his attack is better than his defense. He averages missing up to like 4-5 tackles a game (his high was 7 missed, 28 made in round 10, or 8 missed 32 made in round 15)

all stats from nrl website

macnaz

I must say im surprised by the stats on Ellis, not that they are bad stats . Maybe most of his tackles are 1 on 1 tackles as he usualy hits hard and drops em without help and some other players get all the flop and assist points as tackle stats against there name....Hard hits and hard runs equal more than more average hits and runs.. Hope that made sense ?

ffs Nick, he's a darn sight better than nearly every other back rower thats ever been at the club.

Beggars can'e be f**king choosers. He's not that bad when compared to all other backrowers in the comp.