The Popper
I couldn't give a stuff if he was a bloody Martian. As long as he plays well for Cronulla, that's all I want and that'll do me.
ShireShark said:His parents are going to sue me because I said he's of questionable breeding stock?
I've said many times that I dont care what ethnicity Saleh is. But I also think people should say what they think. If I didnt like him cos he's an Arab, I'd say so. I dont think its the correct opinion to have but if I did think it, I certainly wouldnt water it down.
Where's the racism?
Then I suggest you post your opinion by registered mail to Hassan Saleh c/- Sharks management.
ShireShark said:Then I suggest you post your opinion by registered mail to Hassan Saleh c/- Sharks management.
Why would I do that?
When I say "questionable breeding stock" that does not include any reference to race.
Have I broken the all-conquering "rules" anywhere?
If I didnt like him cos he's an Arab, I'd say so. I dont think its the correct opinion to have but if I did think it, I certainly wouldnt water it down.
Willow said:ShireShark said:Then I suggest you post your opinion by registered mail to Hassan Saleh c/- Sharks management.
Why would I do that?
When I say "questionable breeding stock" that does not include any reference to race.
Have I broken the all-conquering "rules" anywhere?
One of the most important rules in these forums is to adhere to moderator's instructions.
There has already been some dodgy stuff deleted by Dean and quite frankly, I can see this thread slipping into being locked or deleted.
The mods and admin dont want to see that happen so you're being asked to tone it down.
I'm referring to your comment:
If I didnt like him cos he's an Arab, I'd say so. I dont think its the correct opinion to have but if I did think it, I certainly wouldnt water it down.
Look mate, this is a footy forum. And believe me, I've better things to do than to spell all this out for you.
I know we all like talk about other stuff from time to time but this thread (and the other one) seem far more interested in debating the rights and wrongs of racial commentary and far less interested in talking about the actual subject matter and the Hassan Saleh contract.
I'm telling you that this is going around in circles and is becoming a distraction for moderators.
There are other forums and other mediums to discuss racial issues. Take it elsewhere and give the mods a break.
ShireShark said:I cant believe I'm the one copping this stick
I made it abundantly clear, over and over again, that I dont dislike Saleh because of his ethnicity. It's irrelevant to me. I even tried to keep the thread on track and I avoided passing judgement on his ethnicity. I also said I'd encourage the signing of Hazem el Masri.
For those reasons, I dont get what I'm being asked to tone down. It doesnt matter though. I'll drop any issue of race whatsoever even though I thought I was one of the more liberal posters on here.
Aries, nothing personal, but you should save your sanctimonious lecture for someone else. I made it very clear that I dislike Saleh because he's a grub, not because he's of Lebanese descent. And if you couldnt comprehend that from the 1,000 odd times I articulated it, perhaps the problem lies with you and not me.
ShireShark said:And saying he's low, etc is not racially motivated
I specifically said nothing racial
It's really got nothing to do with you anyway, I think we're already overmoderated so with respect I dont think you need to do the mod's job!!
cheese said:get of SS's back ya bunch of f**king quoir boys.
re-read his posts, if anything, he was getting stuck into those that were inciting the race issue. f**king hippies
Too right salmon!OMFG if you dont care dont f***ing rave on about it FFS.
No one else gives a f***ing sh*t, so end it now.
El Garbo said:I've missed these pedantic late night arguments... its good to have you back Aries...