Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hodges: Pick me or look silly

did any of you read the article? or did u just read the title....

If I don't make it, I don't make it and I'll look forward to playing for Queensland and proving them wrong."

"It's up to the selectors and Ricky who they pick," Hodges said. "If it's not me, it's his problem.

"I'll probably be a bit upset but I'll keep playing well for the Broncos - that's where my heart is."

GO JUSTIN!

kickback

woodgers said:
My opinion is that it depends who plays 5/8, Lockyer or Barrett. If it is Barrett then you are better off sticking with Gasnier and Cooper who play with him every week and understand his game. If it is Lockyer then you would be looking at Gasnier/Hodges I think. Combinations aren't made after a weeks training camp and those type of things need to be considered, anyone who has played the game should know that.

I agree with Razor about Bennett. Who is he to criticise coaches who pick their favourites?

we also need to consider that Hodges hasn't really handled rep and pressure matches very well. Ricky will know that for sure and certain. Ricky may opt to let QLD see if he can play at a rep level before he picks him in his side.

Hodges may be playing good footy and settled down last year but you know what they say, a leopard doesn't change its spots. This is the Hodges of old and it was only a matter of time.

lol you have got to be kidding your self Barrett has no chance of making the side at all, he has done nothing all year. Locky will be 5/8 and Thurston should fill the spot on the bench with 3 forwards.

If barrett is picked at lock out of position the selection process is a joke!

salivor

Razor said:
Centres should be Bell/Gasnier

And good to see that Hodges is a very modest person saying that he should be one of the first players picked for the team. And a hypocrit too. For many years as QLD coach and when he was Australian coach Bennett didn't pick players he didn't like, even though they deserved it. Hodges should come out and say that Bennett looked silly in not picking certain players, and Stuart shouldn't do the same(even though Hodges doesn't deserve it).

Hodges did deserve to be in the Australian team several years ago - the best centre in the game by a mile. But he wasn't picked.

Oh but I thought Inglis just had to be in the test team a week ago? Is this proving to be another embarrassement after putting Gidley as your 3rd best centre and then the 4th the next minute? How's he going by the way? Not too good, still apparently Hodges can't hold a candle to him at just 5th lol.

Razor said:
On form Inglis would be above Gasnier, but having 2 rookie centres is not a good idea. So you take the best centre on form this year - Bell. And add an experienced centre who is in good form. Hodges won't even make the QLD side - Bell & Inglis will be the 2 QLD centres.

And if we needed any further proof that you have zero credibility we've found it just here. Hodges WILL be in the QLD team barring injury, anyone who thinks otherwise either hasn't seen Justin Hodges play this year, is wearing Red and Blue tinted glasses or severly lacks football knowledge, I think your a combination of all 3. Every other person in the RL world can see that Hodges is in career best form and the form centre in the competition except you, congrats on once again proving your a troll when it comes to any matter even slightly associated with the Broncos.

balmainbenny

Gasnier / Hodges would be my pick. Steve Bell would have to be one of the unluckiest players in the NRL. He'll get his shot one day.

BroncoBuck

Nobody has raised the point here that both Gasnier and Hodges are right centres. Considering that Gasnier would probably be most's first pick, I don't think there is a place for Hodges. Hodges standard play is to run an arc to the right and then use his left fend (right arm carry) or step off his right if defenders overcommit. I don't think he would be as effective on the left, so I would go for Gasnier and King (the best left centre in the game).

balmainbenny said:
Gasnier / Hodges would be my pick. Steve Bell would have to be one of the unluckiest players in the NRL. He'll get his shot one day.

agreed :)
Gas and Hodges, form and talent wise thats the go IMO

Mad Dogg

Hodges has played in five of the seven Broncos games this year. In three of those games he has been easily the best Bronco player on the field, and probably the best in the other two (to show what I mean by easily the best in three, I'm actually not counting his MOM performance this weekend when he was only 'probably' the best).

Along with Johns and Thurston (and maybe Inglis, but I haven't seen all his matches), Hodges has been the form player in the competition so far this season. I honestly can't see how anybody can dispute this.

Rick has said today he showed Hodges too much loyalty in his tenure at the Chooks. Ricky said he is not dissapointed in showing him the loyalty he did.
As it is, Justin is 100000s to make this team with Ricky as coach.
But, thats Justins problem. As long as he kills it at the broncos thats all that matters for me.

Cockadoodledoo

I have no problem with Hodges speaking his mind but the senile fool, Wayne Bennett should keep his mouth shut. Form was not high on the agenda when he picked his sides and when Hodges signed with the Roosters he didn't want anything to do with him..

Dazzat

LOYALTY, LOYALTY, LOYALTY .... that's the key word from Stuart (like he was loyal to Kimmorley after one goofy pass in SOO1 last year). He said he is loyal to Gasnier and Cooper because they did the job in State of Origin and for Australia.

What is Stuart's definition of loyalty? Is it that you stick with players who performed six months ago even if they aren't performing now (Cooper). Where do you draw the line?

Why not pick Luke Rooney on the wing because he performed for Australia a year ago? Why not pick Craig Wing even though he hasn't done a thing this year?

There's no such thing as 'loyalty' in competitive sport. If you have enough shockers you'll be dropped. In representative football the term is used by coaches who don't want to put time and effort in to forge new combinations.

Meanie

Razor said:
On form Inglis would be above Gasnier, but having 2 rookie centres is not a good idea. So you take the best centre on form this year - Bell. And add an experienced centre who is in good form. Hodges won't even make the QLD side - Bell & Inglis will be the 2 QLD centres.

Mal Meninga has already virtually guaranteed Justin a centre birth. Along with common sense.

Ferocious Dogs

Mal has shown his cards already. Hodges will be one of the centres in the origin. Hodges should shut his trap and play footy which is what he is paid to do.

Mr Saab said:
Hodges should just shut his mouth and not feed the media. Give the standard cliche "If they pick me then fine, if they dont then i will just have to play better"

Agree totally...ever heard of being humble Hodges ??:roll:

Razor

Mortar said:
Ever heard of actually reading the article moron? :roll:

Did you?

Look at this quote - "I'm not really worried. If I keep playing good footy then he'll probably be the one who looks silly, not me"

Misty Bee

Firstly - top call Charlie. Hodges should keep his trap shut. (yeah yeah, article......I know...)

However, consider that Hodges form extends back, what, 6 games? This is a test jumper we are talking about, not a ribbon for Johnny-Come-Lateleys. Hodges has been on the scene for a while now - and while he is obviously a talent, he has taken his sweet time to put his paw no the vacancy left by Jamie Lyon all those years ago. Same could be said for all the other centre candidates. In all honesty, taking club AND rep form into consideration, I can't pick a standout between Gasnier, Cooper, Tate or Hodges, or Steve Bell for that matter. That's why, after so long in the wilderness, Tahu and Gidley are still in the frame.

Gasnier and Cooper will be test centres. Loyalty. Same deal that has seen a raft of hacks get test (and origin) jumpers over more deserved but less politically positioned players.

Heather is pivot, after half a dozen good games in 2 and a half seasons. Joey will get his swan song, pending fitness.

The best centre for Joey is Matt Gidley.

The best centre for Heather is Hodges.

Gasnier will get the Test gig, because to drop him would see him off to yawnion. (I'd make him sign a 10 year Rugby League loyalty agreement in the dresing room before he gets his jumper, mind you.)

Either way, it's all semantics. The 3 most deserving players won't see service in the backline (Grothe, Bell and Bowen), and I reckon it would be easy to name a better first 7 than the one that would represent v the Kiwis.

And no, Wayne you senile genius, it won't contain Trent Waterhouse!!!!

salivor

Misty Bee said:
However, consider that Hodges form extends back, what, 6 games? This is a test jumper we are talking about, not a ribbon for Johnny-Come-Lateleys. Hodges has been on the scene for a while now - and while he is obviously a talent, he has taken his sweet time to put his paw no the vacancy left by Jamie Lyon all those years ago.

You really didn't see much of the Broncos last year did you? Hodges would have been close to being one of our best players last year which is no mean feat when we were premiership favourites up until about Round 19 or 20 last year. He was also very unlucky IMO to miss out on Origin 3, he was the spark that QLD backline needed.

Misty Bee said:
Heather is pivot

God I'm in stiches right now, Chris Rock who?