Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hodges view from the sideline next week

no name

Wouldn't make a difference unless the directors knew how to run the club.

The Gold Coast Giants were effectively Brisbane 1B. They wanted the Broncos license, but fell out of favour with the key decision makers before Arthurson decided SE Queensland needed another side (and to get out of his agreement with the non-compete for the Broncos, based them in Tweed). They failed because the owners didn't know what they were doing and never got going.

?

Yeah, the Giants were put together at the last minute, and it showed. That was on the NSWRL not the Beoncos.
The GC has potential for a successful clubs but have never had the right admin (bar a short period of the Chargers before they were booted by the Broncs)
Past failures have left a lingering stench.

Snappy

This has been amusing to read....

Yes, between Hodgo getting off, Shorty exhibiting little sibling syndrome, The Champ rustling Johnsy's jimmies, and the rest of the general anti Brisbane sooking, it has been top entertainment.

THE CHAMP

Yes, between Hodgo getting off, Shorty exhibiting little sibling syndrome, The Champ rustling Johnsy's jimmies, and the rest of the general anti Brisbane sooking, it has been top entertainment.

Agree but I did expect a much large meltdown from the butthurt brigade

Lambretta

Wouldn't make a difference unless the directors knew how to run the club.

The Gold Coast Giants were effectively Brisbane 1B. They wanted the Broncos license, but fell out of favour with the key decision makers before Arthurson decided SE Queensland needed another side (and to get out of his agreement with the non-compete for the Broncos, based them in Tweed). They failed because the owners didn't know what they were doing and never got going.

As for opposition codes, a lot of those figures were coming off maiden premiership runs or selective comparisons. Reds may have had a better average in 2012, but they played 3 less regular season games and had a post-season game to add to their tally. Take the best 9 crowds from the Broncos that season and see how they compare.

Past is the past, how much ground have those codes really made?

True about the Giants - even the Titans could be considered in the same boat. There is something about the transient nature of the Gold Coast that makes it a hard area to get into. Financial backing isn't there and the managements have been awful.

Locals normally support the Broncos anyway as they've been the local team for 30 years and anyone else brings their loyalties with them from elsewhere or is more interested in the beach and the lifestyle than football.

It doesn't help when access to the ground is so bloody hard to access and the prices charged enormous because of the deal with the Broncos supporting Queensland Government who own the stadium, but I digress.

As for other sports, I have a good mate here in Sydney who grew up in Adelaide and then lived in Brisbane before re-locating to Sydney. As such he is a Broncos and Queensland supporter when it comes to league.

He only lived in Brisbane for five years and in spite of the Bears / Lions thing he said that finding anyone who gave even the slightest of shits about AFL in Brisbane was virtually impossible. Within a year of being there, he was being dragged along to Broncos and Origin matches because to 99% of the Queenslanders he met, that's ALL that mattered. Everyone else could go jump. Admirable sentiments from our Maroon brethren and it makes me all warm hearted towards Queenslanders (which being a New South Welshman it shouldn't)

He said being an AFL tragic in Sydney is a lot easier because people here understand and take an interest in the game. There are league fans, but AFL fans here aren't like rocking horse shit like they are in Queensland.

So of course I drag him along to every NRL thing I can think of including taking him to Easts Leagues last Friday for the Semi.

He had a good night at least.

THE CHAMP

True about the Giants - even the Titans could be considered in the same boat. There is something about the transient nature of the Gold Coast that makes it a hard area to get into. Financial backing isn't there and the managements have been awful.

Locals normally support the Broncos anyway as they've been the local team for 30 years and anyone else brings their loyalties with them from elsewhere or is more interested in the beach and the lifestyle than football.

It doesn't help when access to the ground is so bloody hard to access and the prices charged enormous because of the deal with the Broncos supporting Queensland Government who own the stadium, but I digress.

As for other sports, I have a good mate here in Sydney who grew up in Adelaide and then lived in Brisbane before re-locating to Sydney. As such he is a Broncos and Queensland supporter when it comes to league.

He only lived in Brisbane for five years and in spite of the Bears / Lions thing he said that finding anyone who gave even the slightest of shits about AFL in Brisbane was virtually impossible. Within a year of being there, he was being dragged along to Broncos and Origin matches because to 99% of the Queenslanders he met, that's ALL that mattered. Everyone else could go jump. Admirable sentiments from our Maroon brethren and it makes me all warm hearted towards Queenslanders (which being a New South Welshman it shouldn't)

He said being an AFL tragic in Sydney is a lot easier because people here understand and take an interest in the game. There are league fans, but AFL fans here aren't like rocking horse shit like they are in Queensland.

So of course I drag him along to every NRL thing I can think of including taking him to Easts Leagues last Friday for the Semi.

He had a good night at least.

Great stuff.
Its funny you didn't even mention union.
Nobody gives a f**k about that here either but that's more of a nation wide thing.
When my mates (a lebbo by the way) son had a birthday about 6 I think he was I bought him a Broncos r shirt and that's all it takes

Yeah yeah mr butthurt
You want them beaten on Sunday so bluddy awful
Just f**kenadmit it

You could probably drop the butthurt line, it's starting to get embarrassing for you.

Here's the funny thing ignoramus.

I hope the Cows win, but if the Broncs get up I'll have no issue with it at all. Whoever wins will deserve the premiership, it's a simple concept.

I think you've over estimated the impact your club has on me, it's negligible at best. I seriously think you need some professional help, if not for your sake, for your families.

Good luck on Sunday.

Nice Beaver

You could probably drop the butthurt line, it's starting to get embarrassing for you.

I hope the Cows win, but if the Broncs get up I'll have no issue with it at all. Whoever wins will deserve the premiership, it's a simple concept.

I think you've over estimated the impact your club has on me, it's negligible at best. I seriously think you need some professional help, if not for your sake, for your families.

Good luck on Sunday.

Assuming he isn't sleeping with his family, I'd say they disowned him a long time ago.

THE CHAMP

Good luck on Sunday.

Keep that butthurt blazing johnsy
It'll be gone by Sunday

Lambretta

Great stuff.
Its funny you didn't even mention union.
Nobody gives a f**k about that here either but that's more of a nation wide thing.
When my mates (a lebbo by the way) son had a birthday about 6 I think he was I bought him a Broncos r shirt and that's all it takes

It's just I don't know anyone who was a Union fan who lived there and now lives here. I had no point of reference.

Union is HUGE where I live - both in the suburb where I live and the place where I work. I am forever surrounded by Union fans. The Bledisloe and Tri-Nations are big events with my neighbours and colleagues. In fact Union outnumbers League 20 to 1 where I live. (Sydney's North Shore)

It's me who doesn't give a rats

I have been to the odd Union event - BBQ at a mates house, night out at the pub etc, but that's more the social aspect, rather than caring too much about the game.

But there are people here that care deeply about the game. Just not enough to watch it at a club level. Only State and National.

Mind you - one of my good mates is a Brisbane boy (born in Newcastle, England but moved to Brissie aged 11). He lives in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney so he's the sort of person you'd think would care about Union. But he never mentions it to me. Cricket and League. Another Broncos fan too.

SLRBRONCOS

Union is massive where I grew up too. Then we all went to Boarding school and it was all union too. f**king shit.

Brisbane GPS is all about union.

SLRBRONCOS

Good luck on Sunday.

Agree with Johnsy here. The Champ you are starting to get too wild. Don't end up sounding like those NQ fans that seriously need to calm the ... down.