Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

hooker?

malabar

Riley Brown left the Jets game yesterday in an ambulance, hope its only a precaution. Rory limped off in the 2nd half, Jaubs is out so who will be hooker? By the way only 2 players stood out in a beaten team, Meredith and Axle, Meredith was very solid and they had Axle on the wing most of the game, he was very solid there but should have been fullback

BeeeeeRad

Omg this is not good news at all. Why do we get hit by the injury bug now?

Hopefully Friend and Jaubs will both be ok.

At least Foley is still playing well, he should come in for Grose next week.

STSAE

Axle should've damn well been in first grade.
I'm hoping Jaubs will be back, but if not I'd assume Friend.

Freddy made a huge error in my opinion dropping Brown. Then using Jones, who I thought played well in the circumstances, as a centre???

Pearce played dummy 1/2, Bwaiff was a target and got worked over, he was our ONLY option.

I reckon Freddy stuffed up, but hey like this team, hes just learning.

Ive backed Grose cos of expierence, but sadly he showed friday night he isnt good enough for 1st grade. Maybe Foleys the answer, I dont know, I havent seen him play for a few years. It will be nice to get SKD back, how many thought theyd welcome him back so readily earlier this season????;-)

:sarcasm::sarcasm:

sass

I got the impression on the footy show today that jaubs will be back on the weekend ... and they're only kind of keeping an eye on him just in case.

Monk

jaubs should be back to vs the sharks. we need a strong hooker playing otherwise de gois will rip us apart. we should bring foley in and have him at fullback or on the wing.

STSAE

jaubs should be back to vs the sharks. we need a strong hooker playing otherwise de gois will rip us apart. we should bring foley in and have him at fullback or on the wing.

We need a bench player that can cover both 1/2s and hooker, in my opinion. Thats why we should go with Brown/Jaubs/Friend combo.

We have Maubs, Sa and Soli that can cover the backs and forwards.

With SKD back I dont know where Foley would fit in???? Also is Foley explosive like Mini/Slater/Stewart etc???? Cos I recall him being "solid" and "reliable" but I wonder can he break a game open.

Cos THATS what we lack, "gamebreakers" in our backline, in my opinion of course. Too many "solid" defenders who lack spark in attack. Maybe only Amos, when he gets the platform, can be considered that at the moment. At least we know SKD can score a try and is improving.

BeeeeeRad

I regard Sa a gamebreaker because of those powerful runs that draw 3 defenders then getting a miracle offload away, but we need Mini back to break things open in the middle of the park, he had such a good support game which we are missing now. I constantly see O'Meley, Tupou, Cherrington, Paea and Mason with the arm free but no one with the pace in the right spot, it's really frustrating.

sass

yess sa has that thing I really don't understand (as someone who'e never played footy) where out of nowhere all of a sudden there is space and he's offloading into it.

it's a little bit ... gasnier-esque.

Agree with you there Sass.
Real shame, it's the underrated Roosters of late to be missing from our squad, where many non-Rooster fans see them as 'regular first graders'

D

Deleted member 10972

Foley
Roberts
Soliola
M Aubs
Perrett
Anasta
Pearce
Shrek
Brown
Pillow
Mason
Tupou
Ol Fitzy!

J Aubs
Cherro
L Paea
M Paea

When Myles comes back, he needs to start at prop, with Shillo to bench and Mickey Paea out. Sa to replace Cherrington.

don't forget that Cherro can play centre as well.. he used to play there at least.....

imo once we have all Sa, Cherro and Toops in the same side.. we'll be ready for firing ;)

STSAE

yess sa has that thing I really don't understand (as someone who'e never played footy) where out of nowhere all of a sudden there is space and he's offloading into it.

it's a little bit ... gasnier-esque.

Its called CLASS sass. And only FREAKS have it. It cant be coached, you either have it or you dont.

Solid players, whom we have too many of, will get you there but to WIN you need some CLASS.

Mini has it. Sa has it. Toops has it when he wants to. Amos too. Cherro looks like he will one day.

sass

that's as good a word for it as any!

I dunno about toops this year though .. he seems tired to me. I do love watching cherrington and sa play though, I can't wait till they're both on the field again.

Foley
Roberts
Soliola
M Aubs
Perrett
Anasta
Pearce
Shrek
Brown
Pillow:lol::lol::lol:
Mason
Tupou
Ol Fitzy!

J Aubs
Cherro
L Paea
M Paea

When Myles comes back, he needs to start at prop, with Shillo to bench and Mickey Paea out. Sa to replace Cherrington.

Shillo can go and get stuffed he offers nothing, id preferDallas Hood in the front row.

Mickey Paea has left shillo for dead in the last couple of weeks and his constant giving away of penalties is killing us.

We also need a creative halfback, if Anasta throws in a bad one, pearce isnt good enough to get us home.

Leave pearce at hooker he is wasted at halfback all he wants to do is tackle anyway.

Jake Friend should never have been dropped, Freddy is really starting to be found out.

Having blabbered on though i like the looks of our side on paper when myles,sa,fitzy come back in.

I also dont know why Maubs hasnt been considered as hooker, he is a boring as batsh*t player but he can tackle, has a bit of speed and anyone can pass a ball.

Monk

Shillo can go and get stuffed he offers nothing, id preferDallas Hood in the front row.

Mickey Paea has left shillo for dead in the last couple of weeks and his constant giving away of penalties is killing us.

We also need a creative halfback, if Anasta throws in a bad one, pearce isnt good enough to get us home.

Leave pearce at hooker he is wasted at halfback all he wants to do is tackle anyway.

Jake Friend should never have been dropped, Freddy is really starting to be found out.

Having blabbered on though i like the looks of our side on paper when myles,sa,fitzy come back in.

I also dont know why Maubs hasnt been considered as hooker, he is a boring as batsh*t player but he can tackle, has a bit of speed and anyone can pass a ball.

maubs is awesome, but i think he is a lock. he is not "boring as batsh*t" he has a freakish fend and some great footwork.

PFFFTTTT

apart from the tigers game he has failed to use either, he can tackle, but shouldnt be playing centre with Sa back and no room at lock with fitzy back.

Hooker or the jets for Maubs

STSAE

I agree with Pillow and Dancing Dallas, LOL.

Mackster left SKD out too, methinks hes pissed or something, not his usual standard.:crazy:

Wasnt Friend injured????

Pearce at hooker, you almost got me to bite, then it clicked who im talking to, maaaaaaaaate.

Who do we stick in the centres mate, without Maubs???? FFS we cant rely on Soli anymore, see hes in the top 10 missed tackles this year, and that is supposed to be his assett.

Id stick with Leroy Brown. Straight up and down but will not go backwards, very determined player in my opinion. Jaubs/Friend bench to cover hooker and 1/2s.

OR we just get Jaaaaaaamie back???:p

Ben Jones looked like he has a future in 1sts. Would have like to see him at dummy 1/2, WTF was Freddy doing????

:lol::lol:

Geohood

SKD will be out for at least 3 more weeks, by the way his nickname is Skid not SKD

Strange, on the Sunday Footy Show they said 'Skid' should be back this week.

Besides he was meant to be out for 4 weeks last time and missed 1 match (or none? can't remember)..