Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How crap are MMM??

SpaceMonkey

Russle crowes band said:
although I hate about 90% of what JJJ plays.
same. i only listen to breakfast, and then full metal racket and short fast loud. the rest is that dance, trance rap sh*t
The problem JJJ has is that they actually try to play something to appeal to a wide range of fans, which means that everyone complains about the bits they don't like; you complain they play too muich dance and hip-hop, where others will complain that they don't play enough. I'd sayu their playlist is still more rock than anything else.

Trollhammaren

SpaceMonkey said:
Russle crowes band said:
same. i only listen to breakfast, and then full metal racket and short fast loud. the rest is that dance, trance rap sh*t
The problem JJJ has is that they actually try to play something to appeal to a wide range of fans, which means that everyone complains about the bits they don't like; you complain they play too muich dance and hip-hop, where others will complain that they don't play enough. I'd sayu their playlist is still more rock than anything else.
yeah, that is true. I had Adam Spencer give my class a lecture a couple of years ago about JJJ and they really try and appeal to every audience, and play stuff that commercial stations don't, and promote Australian bands that don't get much airplay. So they do serve a great purpose. However, I just really don't like indie rock or dance or Australian hip-hop (or any hip-hop really) so it's not for me. Probably the best station though in what it does. No commercials also.

And, The Violent Femmes? WTF!? :shock:

MNM is not my cup of team, but he is a verty talented wordsmith

best rhymer I've ever heard

SpaceMonkey

tiger pride said:
SpaceMonkey said:
Russle crowes band said:
yeah, that is true. I had Adam Spencer give my class a lecture a couple of years ago about JJJ and they really try and appeal to every audience, and play stuff that commercial stations don't, and promote Australian bands that don't get much airplay. So they do serve a great purpose. However, I just really don't like indie rock or dance or Australian hip-hop (or any hip-hop really) so it's not for me. Probably the best station though in what it does. No commercials also.

And, The Violent Femmes? WTF!? :shock:
Yeah fair call on your part, it just annoys me when people say "all they play is that hip-hop crap" when it's not true- as you say they really do try to cater to a wide range of genres (minus commercial pop-shite thankfully)

ucantseeme

i couldn't believe Blister in the Sun was #1, it's okay but not that good.

What I hate most about MMM is that they always have the same bogans from boganville doing voice grabs on how "great" the music is, you know what I mean..."sharon from Engadine reckons"..."Mick from Greystanes reckons"...

choc_soldier

ucantseeme said:
What I hate most about MMM is that they always have the same bogans from boganville doing voice grabs on how "great" the music is, you know what I mean..."sharon from Engadine reckons"..."Mick from Greystanes reckons"...

:lol: :clap:

That is sooo true!

Hoooiii....Fitzeee!! its Sheryl from Rootee Hill and I just called to ssaae! I lost my Brain cell and if anee one!! fiinds it to ring me sheryl@Rootybogen.com.au!!

cheeeerrs!!!!

oh!!! and can you play Khaizan?????...haven't heard of for 15 minutes and then play any thing from Creed after that!!

thanx!!

daslacker

I don't really like any radio station.Even though i listen too both
mmm and jjj at work.

Listening to the cage and mick molloy is like smashing my head
against a brick wall.Esp that bridgett de colne with the red card,
also that sheryl.MMM are just so fake,If they shut up and just played
music they would be great,but they don't and won't.

I was listening to MMM on day and heard my mate on the radio to
request a song.He requested Boom crash opera,I was thinking WTF?
Ran into my mate the next day and said,Man WTf were u requesting
that,He said they told what i had to request,I wanted ac/dc.

The shebang is okay,the best MMM had was on fridays "the chaser",
they stopped that about a year ago,fecken idiots.

JJJ i prefer but the people i work with don't.Love that segment they
do on thursday's with the doc,doctor karl i think his name is.

ucantseeme

I hate when MMM say "stick around during the ads because in a few minutes will play some big guitar music with metallica" then after 20 minutes of ads, 5 minutes of traffic and radar updates, they play the acoustic version of Nothing Else Matters. BASTARDS! :evil:

SpaceMonkey

parra_panther said:
We'll play a non stop block of ads, right after this great song by Nickelback.
It's funny how Nova think that "no more than 2 ads in a row!" is a selling point.

Paullyboy

hahahahahahah. I just looked at the list, lets just have a laugh at the following that are in the TOP 20 OF ALL TIME, according to MMM.

19 - Foo Fighters - Times like these (hahaha its not even in the Fooeys top 5 songs, let alone 19th best song ever)

16 - Train - Drops of Jupiter (Oh dear me, I could understand if this made it in at about 1500, because its a recent song and all, but 16!?!?!?!?!?)

14 - Maroon 5 - Harder to Breathe (hahahahahhahahahahaha, im not sure whats funnier, this or the Train song)

8 - Pete Murray - So Beautiful (the 8th best song of all time? So according to this method, whatever has been popular in the last few weeks will be in the top 10 songs of all time as well? Is Zebra by the JBT the best song of all time? I heard that on the radio twice the other day, it must be the best ever!)

Im really getting sicked by this list, let me add though that there is also:

JET AND GREEN DAY in the top 5 songs of all time. hahahahahhahaha :clap: :clap: :clap:

I really havent laughed that hard in a loooooooooong time

i love their new 'random selection' idea: we've given up trying to guess what music people like so we'll just close our eyes, grab some cd's and hope for the best! :lol:

Rexxy

The EELiminator said:
i love their new 'random selection' idea: we've given up trying to guess what music people like so we'll just close our eyes, grab some cd's and hope for the best! :lol:

Every song, every decision, is well researched first. And heavily programmed reflecting the time of day, and where the break is within the hour.

There's nothing random about it

ali

Yeah there is. Tripple M change their direction about twice a year. They have been clutching at straws for years now. Their ratings are not what they used to be.

With their latest style i seriously reckon they've lost the plot. It's a shame because there is so much good rock music that has been made in the last 20 years. But they can't work out if their listeners have defected to Nova or 2WS. I think they are currently trying to win listeners back from 2WS. They have been getting softer for years, but currently they seem to be mixing loads of crap 80's pop songs with absolute soft rock / pop rubbish like Ashlee Simpson and Gwen Sfeffani. And they are playing old songs that they supposedly through out!

The best solution for Tripple M, would be to split the station in half. Let the oldies get their 70's and 80's stuff, and give us youngsters a genuine 90's and new stuff rock station, that isn't afraid to offend. My music tastes were shaped by growing up listening to John Kennedy in the Rubber Room in the mid 90's. It was brilliant radio, where he could play virtually any style of rock music, and the countdowns weren't rorted.

That top 2005 was absolute bullshit. Supposedly anything could be played, but I have no doubt tripple M excluded hundreds of genuine rock songs that didn't suit their style. Not that i wanted him there, but where was Eminem? You can't go from 2nd most popular, to not in the top 2005.

The station is a joke, commercial radio in Sydney is crap. I can sort of stand Nova. I prefer the music that is played on Channel V, MTV and even Music Max is not too bad.

choc_soldier

If anyone listens to "Today Today" in the afternoons on Triple J, they do the best parodies of these commercial stations - Coma FM. They're quite funny - "we give you cash, you give us ratings". :lol:

Which is an irony in itself, because these two people once worked for Triple M, doing the Friday Chaser.

Iafeta

Does anyone know if the Vegies got a gig anywhere?

MMM was great around 2001, when it played loads of Cold Chisel, Queen, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, Nirvana - TRUE rock. Nowadays instead of the greats being the norm, its poncy half pipe Drops of Jupiter or Drive by Incubus pussy soft c0ck pop/rock instead of the legit stuff. Very annoying.

As far as the countdown goes, #1 was an absolute travesty. But thats what you get when you change a good thing. You start playing pussy s0ft c0ck music, and all of a sudden the majority of the voters become drooling puppy dogs for it. And the real rock gets shoved aside.

If this vote came in in 2001, there's no way 33 by Smashing Pumpkins would feature as low as 1879, Imitation of Life would not be as low as 1881 or whatever it was, 69=you shook me all night long by AC/DC? WTF! That's a rock classic. If this is a rock station, then the half pipe sh!t like "My cousins Maroon 5" has got to go. November Rain as low as 78? F*ck me up the A-hole, thats bollocks yet She's So High from Tal Bachman is 45 (isn't that the damn Dawsons Creek song?)

Bring back the Vegies and bring back FAIR DINKUM rock. Not this half pipe sh!t. And for those who don't think there's nothing modern rock wise worth listening to, Green Day, Blink 182, Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam (they're still going), Chilli Peppers, Offspring, Good Charlotte, Nickelback aren't too bad, Live are f**king awesome (Lightning Crashes at 140 odd - go blow your mother), Matchbox 20 aren't too far gone, and then you mix it in with Dire Straits, Guns N Roses, Metallica, Smashing Pumpkins, Led Zeppelin, Queen, Pink Floyd, Cold Chisel, Midnight Oil, Bon Jovi, Jimi Hendrix, the Eagles, Foreignor, Robert Palmer, INXS, Nirvana, Doors, Dragon, John Lennon, ZZ Top, Aerosmith etc. and get back to what Triple M once was. Then the votes will tell a true story, not half pipe pussy rock wannabes like the Violent Femmes.