Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to develop nines internationally

roughyedspud

im just saying....the same rules apply for just the commonwealths.....we won't get in just off the back of a single event (auckland9s) we need to display both domestic & international exposure

byrner

just read the auckland 9s generated $10m in revenue....imagine if the RLIF had that amount to play with every year!!

10 million in revenue, I wonder what the net profit was. NP is what you have to focus on if you want to look at funds for future development.

Also, wasnt this run by a private consortium? If it was left up to the NRL/ESL to run, I dont think it would have ever got off the ground.

9s are a great concept, but lets not put the cart before the horse.
Open the NRL 9s up to international teams (ESL/USARL/PNG etc) on an invitational basis would be my only addition.

Also I like the idea of the all stares being run in GF week. It can be part of a carnival of footbal type event, and not ruin the pre-season.

roughyedspud

yeah it was run by a private company...but now the NRL & ESL have seen the potential they'll run with it..

you think the NRL is gonna like sharing half the profit with this private company? lol no chance

also 16 teams is the right amount of teams....if more teams want to play 9's we need more events.

CC_Roosters

Maybe a world cup every 2 years. But I would still like to see hemisphere based and other carnivals happening for international teams annually.

With a bit of thought rugby league could own the traditional off season in Oceania and I feel it has dominated this year due to the additional content in the world cup running to November then the nines and wcc to come.

The islanders are primed so well to take part I'm international nines its scary so get them involved

I don't see the point in running a WC ever year or two.

We've got a cycle that includes a 13s WC every 4 years, if we chuck a 9s WC in the middle of that then we've already got a WC every two years.

Plus, I think every year or two would take away from the specialness of a WC.

I'll stick with my original Club 9s for 3 years then WC.

However, as I said before, if we can get SOO on stand alone weekends we could put a Pacific 9s in there to add depth to those weekends and increase the calendar for non-Big 3 nations.

Sparky 74

World 9's

Australia
New Zealand
South Africa
PNG
Fiji
Samoa
Tonga
Japan
Cook Island
USA
Canada
Argentina
Uruguay
West Indies
Russia
Lebanon
Italia
Malta
Greece
Spain
England
France
Ireland
Scotland
Wales
Croatia
Serbia
Germany

1 Eyed TEZZA

World 9's

Australia
New Zealand
South Africa
PNG
Fiji
Samoa
Tonga
Japan
Cook Island
USA
Canada
Argentina
Uruguay
West Indies
Russia
Lebanon
Italia
Malta
Greece
Spain
England
France
Ireland
Scotland
Wales
Croatia
Serbia
Germany

All these countries can field sides?

RedVee

If there was a WC every 4 years halfway through the 13s RLWC cycle it may assist with having players nominating with the smaller nations.

pHyR3

personally i think we all need to seriously chillllll out.

it's a great concept and it needs TIME to establish itself. Keep it just as it is (except consider ESL teams for 2015, top 4 from ESL making it 4 pools of 5 teams) and wait it out till the end of this Auckland contract. If ratings and crowds are still great then, we can look at further expansion. Im very against international inclusion in this event though. what, PNG vs Parramatta Eels??? that's spastic. It's either club or rep.

Wouldn't mind a World 9's to start up in 4-5 years though, but im not sure what to do with NZ and Oz considering player exhaustion is a serious issue. I guess we could make it 'custom' to put in people who will not make the aussie side at the end of the year. Have it full of people in the tier below/up and comers. Would love to see Nofoaluma, Jennings, Tedesco, Cornish and Trobjevic (the manly prop) all in the same side playing 9s.

International 9s need a serious think through though. It could work under the proposed reworking of the season i mentioned in another post. Expand to 18 teams (then 20 teams in around 10 years) with 19 rounds with no byes, 5 week break in the middle for rep stuff. You can have the World 9s there, NZ vs UK, PNG vs Samoa, Tonga vs Fiji, SOO, U20s SOO etc. etc.

deal.with.it

The only way we will see expanded international calendar, wcc, 9s etc. is if the NRL and SL reduce their seasons. 20 rounds + play offs is still heaps of footy.
For the nrl, teams dont even play each other twice at the moment.
For SL, well... You guys just made big plans until 2021, so cant see any changes for a while.