Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How well will the Bulldogs do in 2012 ?

Where will Canterbury finish in 2012 ?

• 1st-4th

Votes: 11 8.7%
  • 5th-8th

Votes: 44 34.9%
  • 9th-12th

Votes: 53 42.1%
  • 13th-16th

Votes: 18 14.3%

DoggiesBro

big pete to say barba is useless unless in broken field is a horrible comment, also his tackling has improved 10000x i remember him stoping david taylor one on one infront of the line stopping a try.

what a dud defender.:lol::lol::lol:

anjado

i do like your posts andjado but i think you need to add in the 'likely' starting side...

ive got no idea who is in their team to be honest...

for what its worth 10th

If you read my post i pretty much go through what i think will be the side. I go through pretty much all of the positions and who i think will play. I was actually going to do a likely line up for Canberra but realized i forgot David Shillington. I have based it all on likely line ups i have written down like for the dogs it was this

1. Ben Barba
2. Steve Turner
3. Jonathan Wright
4. Josh Morris
5. Bryson Goodwin
6. Kris Keating
7. Trent Hodgkinson
8. James Graham
9. Michael Ennis
10. Aiden Tolman
11. Frank Pritchard
12. Greg Eastwood
13. David Stagg

14. Jake Foster
15. Sam Kasiano
16. Corey Payne
17. Dene Halatau

But i left out Lefai who everyone seems to have chosen. I rather it be more about where think they will finish rather than bickering over likely line ups in case i am wrong which i probably would be with most teams.

Allstar Knights

I don't really see the bulldogs threatening many teams in 2012. Outside of Barba, they don't really have any game-breakers. Morris plays like a fringe first grader for most of the year, although can be a quality centre when he wants to be. Lafai looks like a good prospect from his few games in the top grade. But their wingers are woeful to make them much of a threat out wide. Their halves are solid, nothing more. They do have a good pack though.

They'll come 9th again, I reckon.

DoggiesBro

If you read my post i pretty much go through what i think will be the side. I go through pretty much all of the positions and who i think will play. I was actually going to do a likely line up for Canberra but realized i forgot David Shillington. I have based it all on likely line ups i have written down like for the dogs it was this

1. Ben Barba
2. Steve Turner
3. Jonathan Wright <Lafai>
4. Josh Morris
5. Bryson Goodwin <Lett/McDougall/Wright>
6. Kris Keating
7. Trent Hodgkinson
8. James Graham
9. Michael Ennis
10. Aiden Tolman
11. Frank Pritchard
12. Greg Eastwood
13. David Stagg

14. Jake Foster <Martin Taupau>
15. Sam Kasiano
16. Corey Payne/James Gavet/ Tim Browne/Dale Finucane/ Joel Romoleo/ Josh Reynolds
17. Dene Halatau

But i left out Lefai who everyone seems to have chosen. I rather it be more about where think they will finish rather than bickering over likely line ups in case i am wrong which i probably would be with most teams.

Eels won't be above the dogs they have a dud coach and have recruited a player who will win as many games as he loses in sandow, he will continue his shoulder chargers to be dropped and ran past. roberts was a bulldog reject, and you bag us... he couldn't get a go in our first grade squad.

raiders, rabbitohs and titans will improve but others like dragons i expect to slide. you list teams for improving based on recruitment noone can argue that the dogs and knights now have two of the top 3 coaches in the game. the dogs also recruited a gun prop. the eels signed a great player in tonga, and a hot and cold player who has shown nothing then half a year of promise in sandow who they paid massive overs for.

tony williams never looked like firing until des. pritchard is older, looked reasonable with the dogs although was used as a bloody prop by moore probz a reason he was let go and with des i don't think anyone will argue what he gets out of his forwards.

i'm sorry when did a rookie being a gun player become a bad thing. suppose you don't rate dce?

Yep you're right. A dud coach who had us competing with the best teams in the comp but because of how shit our players were couldn't get us over the line. If we scored a try more in each game last year we would have made the 8. Say what you like about Roberts but he has a running game which is one more weapon than what we had last year. Even if Sandow wins us two games on his own this year that'll be two more games than Robson won us last year. f**k, if it wasn't for Robson being a complete genius we would've beaten you guys last year.

Tony Williams never looked like firing until Des? He only spent 6 months of first grade without Des you muppet. He spent 2 and a half years with them, was as inconsistent as any player in the NRL and when his contract was up and teams were looking at him he turned it on.

I'm not saying having a mean rookie is a bad thing. I'm saying when he's your best player you've got problems. DCE wouldn't even be in the top 5 players at the Eagles.

Big Pete

big pete to say barba is useless unless in broken field is a horrible comment, also his tackling has improved 10000x i remember him stoping david taylor one on one infront of the line stopping a try.

When did that ever happen? The only time Ben Barba came close to stopping Dave Taylor was when he had 5 team mates helping him out in Round 2.

He's extremely good in broken play but he isn't the type of player who's going to help the team out when things get tough and the defence muscles up.

DoggiesBro

When did that ever happen? The only time Ben Barba came close to stopping Dave Taylor was when he had 5 team mates helping him out in Round 2.

He's extremely good in broken play but he isn't the type of player who's going to help the team out when things get tough and the defence muscles up.

He did it last year if memory serves correctly it was the all star game. all alone and did a huge job. Guess you don't know what your talking about because not only were you wrong there Barba was also extremely dangerous against set lines.

DoggiesBro

Yep you're right. A dud coach who had us competing with the best teams in the comp but because of how shit our players were couldn't get us over the line. If we scored a try more in each game last year we would have made the 8. Say what you like about Roberts but he has a running game which is one more weapon than what we had last year. Even if Sandow wins us two games on his own this year that'll be two more games than Robson won us last year. f**k, if it wasn't for Robson being a complete genius we would've beaten you guys last year.

Tony Williams never looked like firing until Des? He only spent 6 months of first grade without Des you muppet. He spent 2 and a half years with them, was as inconsistent as any player in the NRL and when his contract was up and teams were looking at him he turned it on.

I'm not saying having a mean rookie is a bad thing. I'm saying when he's your best player you've got problems. DCE wouldn't even be in the top 5 players at the Eagles.

:lol::lol::lol:

Yet he makes it for Australia and people are calling for him in the QLD sqaud?

That statement alones shows your really not to onto it when it comes to footy. Roberts wasn't a weapon for NSW cup, he was consistently one of the worst. Wake up.

DoggiesBro

Where do you think you will end up btw?

I already said 5th-8th.

I expect the Cowboys to be right up there, Knights too. Also expect some of the following Warriors, Tigers, Bunnies, Manly or Storm to be right up there. However in saying that one or two of them will no doubt be down the other end and someone from the half you expect to miss the 8 will be fighting for top 4.

In saying that the only teams i'd right off this year are the Panthers and Roosters. Neither have added anything on the field. Panthers will improve under Gus in the future but in my opinion there line up requires alot of work. Roosters lost Myles who is the forward leader, Ryles who while old was one of there best last year, and Carney the only time they ever looked like a threat was with him. The will fight for the spoon i think. Don't see Dragons making the 8 and don't know what to expect for Broncos, solid team but the 6,9 are shit and the 7 is average. Can't see them winning it but with a healthy pack and a healthy Hodges they could be top 8. Eels will be round 8-12th. Sharks all depends on Carney. Raiders all depends on Dugan and Campese.

The thing with teams like Warriors and Raiders though is when you expect a big year they produce piss, when they are written off they fire. Who know's what to expect from them.

If JT stays healthy i see a huge year for the Cowboys. Lost Tonga sure, but basically get a new player in Tate and Tonga is pretty injury proned anyhow.

Big Pete

He did it last year if memory serves correctly it was the all star game. all alone and did a huge job. Guess you don't know what your talking about because not only were you wrong there Barba was also extremely dangerous against set lines.

So you're using an exhibition game for just one instance that may or may not have happen to say Barba isn't a bad defender?

images

2012....Sharks Year

Theres no doubting that Barba is a freakish attacker but he's the sort of guy that will score a couple of tries and let a couple in through dropping high balls or a poor read. Imo the key to the Bulldogs is Pritchard. If his minds on the job and he stays injury free he can be lethal. Having said that i feel the dogs are very vulnerable for depth and still a bit skinny in the halves.

:lol::lol::lol:

Yet he makes it for Australia and people are calling for him in the QLD sqaud?

That statement alones shows your really not to onto it when it comes to footy. Roberts wasn't a weapon for NSW cup, he was consistently one of the worst. Wake up.

I didn't say he wasn't good i said he wasn't in their top 5 players...

Lyon, Glenn Stewart, Brett Stewart and Foran were all better for Manly than he was last year. Guess i was wrong. He was their 5th best player.

I never said Roberts was a weapon I said he has a weapon. Name one thing MacGuire has over Roberts, apart from 5-6 years.

DoggiesBro

So you're using an exhibition game for just one instance that may or may not have happen to say Barba isn't a bad defender?

images

LOL, so because it was an all star match Dave Taylor droped size? Barba grew size? Give up mate your sounding like a bitter loser. No matter if its all star, origin, country, city vs country, nrl dave taylor within the 10 running hard at ben barba in which he stops him from scoring and wraps both taylor and the ball up is a huge accomplishment hell its massive for any bloke not to mention a guy giving up 30+kg. Especially according to you he is horrible in tackling. Guess you only watchd him in 2010 not 2011.:lol::lol:

You don't know it happened means it didn't? I'm sure someone else can recall the match here.

DoggiesBro

I didn't say he wasn't good i said he wasn't in their top 5 players...

Lyon, Glenn Stewart, Brett Stewart and Foran were all better for Manly than he was last year. Guess i was wrong. He was their 5th best player.

I never said Roberts was a weapon I said he has a weapon. Name one thing MacGuire has over Roberts, apart from 5-6 years.

I would say that DCE was more vital to there succesful year and better then ALL of them except maybe Glenn Stewart. Certainly more so then Brett Stewart and Jamie Lyon at least. Any manly fan care to comment on DCE being behind Foran, Stewart brothers and Lyon as there best player last year?

What does MacGuire have over Roberts besides age? A football brain? That ability to read the game and realise what he should do instead of putting a grubber on the 2nd dead? OVER AND OVER... Roberts had one good year mate, with Kimmorley inside him. Other then that he has been TRASH.

Big Pete

You weren't even sure when it happened a second ago.

Even if it did happen, it was one instance in a exhibition game where the players really don't give a s**t. Using that example to say Ben Barba is suddenly a good defender is laughable, even for a pissent like you.

DoggiesBro

You weren't even sure when it happened a second ago.

Even if it did happen, it was one instance in a exhibition game where the players really don't give a s**t. Using that example to say Ben Barba is suddenly a good defender is laughable, even for a pissent like you.

LOL, i am trying to remember. Bit different then having no clue like yourself. Your an idiot, anyone who watched that game CLEARLY YOU DIDN'T wouldn't be sayin they dont give a shit about it, half the players are coming out saying how much it means to them hell the other day someone admittied to crying with pride when they were selected. For someone to dismiss it because it doesn't suit there comments and proves that they are nothing but full of bullshit with no fact is pretty pathetic, even for someone as low as you.

Big Pete

Yes because anybody who doesn't rate the Dogs is 'low'.

The Indigenous players care, the All-Stars just enjoy the experience. This isn't the NRL, Origin or even an International to them, it's just a mock trial played for s**ts and giggles and you'd have to be blind not to see that.

And I don't blame you, it must be difficult thinking of one decent defensive play from Barba. :lol:

DoggiesBro

Yes because anybody who doesn't rate the Dogs is 'low'.

The Indigenous players care, the All-Stars just enjoy the experience. This isn't the NRL, Origin or even an International to them, it's just a mock trial played for s**ts and giggles and you'd have to be blind not to see that.

And I don't blame you, it must be difficult thinking of one decent defensive play from Barba. :lol:

LOL, so now its the Indigenous players care, the rest don't? :lol::lol: Give it up you muppet. Anyone with a brain would of just bit the bullet and accepted they were caught talking out their ass, but instead you just keep going on with new excuses and dribble. For the record, it wasn't hard at all. I not only called bullshit i proved it with a tackle in the hardest situation against one of the biggest men in the game on one of the smallest. It then becomes if it happened, a game noone cares about, the indigenous people only care. Amazing. Keep up the top work.:lol::lol:

Big Pete

You've been trying to play that angle because you realise how stupid it was to use one instance in a mock trial that you clearly can't remember as proof that Ben Barba isn't a bad defender.

Give it a rest, even the rest of your supporter base would be able to accept it's a weak area in his game right now.