Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I am ashamed to support the sharks.soft pricks.

Hooper

The players put in for 70min tonight. Didn't I read somewhere earlier this year that the coaches expectation was that the team would perform / play / compete for 70min? Mission accomplished tonight. We lead 25-18 at the 70min mark. The Roosters scored 3 tries in the 10 min that we didn't perform / compete / play.

2 things stood out for me tonight that said something about where we are at as a footy side.

1) Taking a penalty kick for goal to make the score 24-18. Why didn't we continue to attack and go for the try? Are we that down on confidence? Do we really lack so much self belief?

2) The shot at field goal to take the score to 25-18. The Roosters were always going to lift after that, yet we could not respond and match them. Why? Why couldn't we lift our intensity to match the Roosters? Where was our spirit of competing?

Some on here are commenting as to when the Sharks were last at such a low point. I don't remember '83 so much because I was a little too young. '92 and '93 were bad seasons for the Sharks, but I don't recall them being as bad as the last 3 years.

spider

2 things stood out for me tonight that said something about where we are at as a footy side.

1) Taking a penalty kick for goal to make the score 24-18. Why didn't we continue to attack and go for the try? Are we that down on confidence? Do we really lack so much self belief?
i thought that was showing confidence in their desire to win and ability to defend that desire

2) The shot at field goal to take the score to 25-18. The Roosters were always going to lift after that, yet we could not respond and match them. Why? Why couldn't we lift our intensity to match the Roosters? Where was our spirit of competing?
that was well executed and pushed the desire to defend to outside a converted try, as for the esuing 8 minutes im lost for thought

Weaponhead

We showed zero smarts in defending a 7 point lead. Short kick off wad obvious to everyone except our team. No one in position to deal with it.

Gardners effort was inexplicable.

Yet again we find a way to lose from a winning position. Every week we show that are mentally fragile.

lockyrulz

Didn't hear any of you try hards complain when the 'incompetent buffoons' let that grub Gallen off when he blatantly stomped on a players head.

Suddenly you want everyone sent off...

I doubt Gals 2 brain cells felt anything anyway.

I enjoyed the game.
I am the underdog always. I was teh only one that went "oh f**k" when we kicked the field goal with 9 to go.

Nullajet

Didn't hear any of you try hards complain when the 'incompetent buffoons' let that grub Gallen off when he blatantly stomped on a players head.

Helps if you know what the f**k you are talking about!!! Obviously you didnt see the incident because he never made contact with the head. It was a penalty worthy incident and got it....

The blatant head highs of Pritchard and Hargreaves are completely different!!!!!

Youre another blinkered fool who still sees Gal as the player he was a couple of years ago. If Gal had done what Pritchard and Hargreaves had done...no question...he would be given time out of the game (maybe he should because god knows he deserves better than what is going on out there each week around him)

wattsy32

Who was at the game? I was just behind the CSSC and saw a full bottle of mount Franklin scon a sharkie supporter in the head right after the Mini try...absolute disgrace. Absolute scum!

I've got nothing to say about that game. Im gutted, as we all are. We scored some good tries but just clocked off after the field goal.

The mate and I were discussing being a shark supporter after the fulltime hooter sounded last night. As we both chuckled loudly we agreed that we had signed up for life and would stick like sh!t to a nappy for the black white and blue.

The voyage has been a long one and land is still not in sight. But we will keep raising the sails and hope for some friendly winds. Unfortunately as we look over the port and stern sides we are passed by trimarans and high powered speedboats.

I just get the impression that we don't have plans / train for such incidents as a short kickoff, a snap field goal, or something that requires quick thinking change of plan type of stuff.

I was watching our backs still trying to perfect Mr Bennetts sweeping backline attacks .... still trying .... still trying, just as the other top clubs have worked out how to counter such ploys.

I reckon our mob might have it worked out by September 2012.

Anyhow its the day after, same story, same sh!t, public ridicule as I wonder the Streets snarling at those in Donkey and Stain jerseys.

I love it.

bluey

f**k off back to your inbreds

I enjoyed the game.
I am the underdog always. I was teh only one that went "oh f**k" when we kicked the field goal with 9 to go.

Same. I thought it was 5 minutes too early to go for it. Left the Roosters with about 3 too many sets off which to score. Didn't think they'd score off all 3 though.

Vin Fizz

The mate and I were discussing being a shark supporter after the fulltime hooter sounded last night. As we both chuckled loudly we agreed that we had signed up for life and would stick like sh!t to a nappy for the black white and blue.

The voyage has been a long one and land is still not in sight. But we will keep raising the sails and hope for some friendly winds. Unfortunately as we look over the port and stern sides we are passed by trimarans and high powered speedboats.

I just get the impression that we don't have plans / train for such incidents as a short kickoff, a snap field goal, or something that requires quick thinking change of plan type of stuff.

I was watching our backs still trying to perfect Mr Bennetts sweeping backline attacks .... still trying .... still trying, just as the other top clubs have worked out how to counter such ploys.

I reckon our mob might have it worked out by September 2012.

Anyhow its the day after, same story, same sh!t, public ridicule as I wonder the Streets snarling at those in Donkey and Stain jerseys.

I love it.

Inspirational Quigs. Puts it all in perspective as usual. I had the efen dream last night. You know...not the one about us winning a premeirship. The other reoccuring one the night of yet another gut busting loss where I dream that we somehow won it regardless. It's great. Doubles the dissappointment. I get the real dissappointment, then the wake up to realise I was dreaming dissapointment. Its only been happening for 43 years. At least I know i'm still alive this fine morning :)

Weaponhead

On reflection, I think we made some progress last night.

We were dominated in every statisitc; possession, field position, line breaks, metres gained etc etc and yet had a winning lead. How many times can you say that Cronulla were more effective inside the opposition 20? Normally we need three times as many chances to score the same amount of tries as the opposition.

Smith is being used more as a ballplaying option and Gallen was used as a decoy. This is giving the attack a little more variety. Need Chad to demand the footy when we are on attack to move the defence around more and there will be more chances.

They weathered a strong opening and worked back into the game well. Soaked up defensive pressure and took scoring chances well.

Very disappointed in how we failed to control the game in the last 10. Easts needed everything to go for them and they got it. We only needed to make one big play and we would have held on and we couldn't (ie securing the short kickoff or Gards falling on the ball).

Losing sux but we found a different way to lose last night. Not trying to be fluffy just trying to look past the furstration, anger, disapointment to the reality

Frailty

On reflection, I think we made some progress last night.

We were dominated in every statisitc; possession, field position, line breaks, metres gained etc etc and yet had a winning lead. How many times can you say that Cronulla were more effective inside the opposition 20? Normally we need three times as many chances to score the same amount of tries as the opposition.

Smith is being used more as a ballplaying option and Gallen was used as a decoy. This is giving the attack a little more variety. Need Chad to demand the footy when we are on attack to move the defence around more and there will be more chances.

They weathered a strong opening and worked back into the game well. Soaked up defensive pressure and took scoring chances well.

Very disappointed in how we failed to control the game in the last 10. Easts needed everything to go for them and they got it. We only needed to make one big play and we would have held on and we couldn't (ie securing the short kickoff or Gards falling on the ball).

Losing sux but we found a different way to lose last night. Not trying to be fluffy just trying to look past the furstration, anger, disapointment to the reality

That's true... We progressed from 12th to 13th!