Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I love the mud

midas,
I just love Billy boy.By far and away the best ref on show over the weekend.
Has only cost Brown $15,000-00 to get a 50/50.
I predicted it would cost him 35 grand.
The 2 comp points do not make up for the 4 that have been ripped off,but another couple of games with Billy and that should be rectified.
Billy also showed that he understands basic stuff.I mean Souths winning at the cricket ground,not a going concern.

imported_midas

I have no axe to grind with Saints only with people who are adamant that Billy was right and then BB comes out and admits he was wrong.
"I,m no big fan of Billy as you know but this time he was right"
Well now ,Billy says he was wrong.
"What if he had awarded the try?at best it was dusty" you could argue that under the rules he could have given the benefit of the doubt to the attacking side-had he not penalised for an double movement ,of course.
Lord Ted-another 2 games like that with Billy would put you 2 points in front.You,ll have to settle for one.
As for the axe-grinding crap,Parra have suffered as much under Billy as anyone but if he ever gets around to awarding us a shonky decision ,I,ll accept it gratefully as one he owed us,but I sure as hell won,t be saying he was right if he,s wrong.

imported_midas

Under the rules,section 11,para 6 says
"If any doubt arises as to a tackle,the referee should give a verbal to resolve doubt.
Instruction to "play on" or shout "Held" as the case may be".
If there wasn,t doubt in this case then there,s never been doubt anywhere.
The curious thing is ,with the benefit of hindsight,what the hell did BB go upstairs for?
If he was going to award a double movement penalty then the grounding or otherwise is irrelevant.
Could this just be another case of BB losing the plot?Retirement beckons Billy.

You'll get no argument from about Billy. I wanted him to retire years ago.

"If any doubt arises as to a tackle,the referee should give a verbal to resolve doubt.
Instruction to "play on" or shout "Held" as the case may be".

Thats right. And thats what I was trying to explain to Moffo. The referee doesnt have to call 'held' everytime. On reflection. harrigan has now said that he should have called held but he didnt. So he made a blue and the science of hindsight comes into play. He did however explain to Fletcher the reason for the no-try. I say he was right because it didnt look like a try to me. I have to agree that he made a meal of the process. If he awarded it as a try, I would have copped it sweet. But even thoughBilly bumbled through, I still reckon the outcome was correct.

MFC - you go look at it again

Sure it was stripped one on one- but slow the tape down, first it was stripped backwards off saints - correct

Then Craige got a touch on it before the ball went to ground = knock on vs Craige

Everyone knows as a kid Harrigan was a huge Souths fan!

Harrigan let it out when he was signed by Super League. While being interviewed on 2BL, he said his favourite team was Souths and 'it was probably allright to let everyone know that now'. That being because he never expected to referee them again.

imported_midas

You blokes are really reaching now.
I reckon if you got Brian Fletcher on the Al Capone ,he might question where Billy,s loyalties lie these days.

I'm just stating a fact midas. Harrigan said he was a Souths supporter on radio about 6 years ago. Its not far fetched.

How's that grinding wheel going mate? Might be needing a replacement soon. ;)

Beast. I'm watching the game as we speak and all jokes aside, harrigan made a few blues. But they seemed to go both ways. Its a good game actually... despite the handling errors.

Hiya Willow I went to the game – the Members’ ladies Lounge Bar is the place to be: almost on the halfway and up just high enough. beeyootiful :D It was a tough match, South’s defence was pretty good round the ruck, a number of times our boys got hammered, particularly in the second half. After the first five minutes, and Ryle’s second run (at last he’s taking a run-up…) I thought we were set for a 40 pointer, which we need badly for points 4/gainst ! Timmins played pretty good and the kicking was good in the first half, certainly early on anyway. It was noticeable the difference made when both Ryles and Bailey came back on about the 50 (?) minute mark. Young played Ok but again Riddell was a handful when he went for a run. Hornby seems to lack a little pace, Cooper started well but seemed to be left out a bit during the game. Missed catching up with Tony and looks like I won’t get to the Cowboys game – catch you when you’re down for the finals :) Goz

Ladies lounge? Is this the same goz who hangs out in the back terraces at newtown oval? Bah! Get out with the real fans next time mate lol

Souths fans hate Harrigan. And the hate was felt long before the game on Sunday.

Benny, i watched the game this afternoon and honestly, i did not see him touch it. I'll look again though, just to confirm

Cheers,
Moffo

I see that Souths have lodged an official complaint against harrigan.
Thats fair enough... it seems to be the modern way.
IMO any pressure on harrigan is good pressure. There was a time when clubs were scared of him.

And g'day back Goz.
Moffo, I seem to recall that Ladies Lougebar was one the more comfy and classy places to hang around at the SCG. Goz definitely is a man of good taste.
emcocktl.gif

btw, getting back to the subject matter... I thought it good to show a few captures from SOTV

2003_11_14tackle.jpg

2003_11_15tackle.jpg

2003_11_17riddell.jpg

2003_11_23brown.jpg

2003_11_24membersstand.jpg

2003_11_25goodwin.jpg

Our very own Lord Ted got along to the game :)

2003_11_33puletua.jpg

2003_11_32ryles.jpg

2003_11_31roberts.jpg

TheSaint

The SCG is not a suitable rugby league venue. They wouldn't have built the SFS next door if it was. Cricket pitches are a blight on the earth. The sooner turf pitches are manufactured any where but the middle of a football field, the better. I'm talking about suburban grounds as well.

Quite ironic that during the game Souths fans were singing, "Who loves you Harrigan, we do".

I supose Willow can love the mud as he is in the position where he has only to walk to his lounge room in sunny Queensland to watch the game. Those of us exposed to the conditions may have an oppinion thjat differs

imported_midas

Saint
the SCG is the only ground used by the NRL with a cricket pitch in the middle which I suppose is why it,s called the Cricket Ground.
Spectator comfort is better than the SFS in wet weather as the roof design at the SFS ensures that everyone gets wet.
Since the ground was completely re-surfaced there are no real drainage problems and there was no real mud around on Sunday compared to yesteryear.
The tight shorts brigade have no complaints about the playing surface.

Saint: "I supose Willow can love the mud as he is in the position where he has only to walk to his lounge room in sunny Queensland to watch the game. Those of us exposed to the conditions may have an oppinion thjat differs "

Mate, you have me all worked out.
I've never been to a game in the rain, I've never been muddy, I've never walked through shitholes and I've never been cold. You read me like a book.

Question: Were you there at Kogarah on May 4th and will you be there again on June 1st? If so, how far do you travel?

zzzzz...
emmoon.gif
don't expect a swift response folks.

Willow our own Lord Ted - i love it

Ted Goodwin was actually the assistant coach of the St.George Jersey Flegg side this year and have wonderful reports from all associated with the club and the team

Hopefully with a full competition of Flegg next year, maybe Ted can be one of those to nuture the talent in the St.George District :)

Real nice bloke too - i thought it was a little funny that his sonwas in the Sharks Flegg side while he coached with Saints!