Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

IceHouse, why aren't they respected?

2 True Blues

IceHouse were a pretty good band.;-) But both Chisel and ACDC are a class above for OVERALL group talent. I have ALL of the bands albums though. All three bands. Not a word of a lie.

Ron Jeremy

2 True Blues said:
IceHouse were a pretty good band.;-) But both Chisel and ACDC are a class above for OVERALL group talent. I have ALL of the bands albums though. All three bands. Not a word of a lie.

If Chiesel were that good how come they couldn't make it overseas? IceHouse toured with Bowie in Europe and had multiple hits worldwide. Talent wise Iva owns all of them, his music credentials speak for its self.

Ron Jeremy

carcharias said:
You are so so wrong ronny.

ACDC with Bon singing made here long before they went to the UK and USA.
Have you ever heard the double J recording of them at Haymarket in about 76?

They get just as much airplay as Chisel .
At work we have 2ws on all day long and I can tell you a day doesn't go by without fuggen khe sahn and jailbreak or the equivelant getting a spin.
Barnse gets attention because he actually lives in Australia and still does local tours and puts out records.

the Australian ACDC tribute album came out almost a decade before the Chisel one.

You have hit the nail on the head, however Kylie was living in London for her last few very succesful albums? yet her publicity was absolutely mammoth over here. I dont think i've seen a decent interview of ACDC in 10 years, many people wouldn't know they're still together, are they? i dont f**king know? are they still alive? yet we all know Sophie Monk & Jason Donovon are. This is what i mean, it seems they want to play their music, but the media and radio dont give a damn about them for anyother matters.

2 True Blues

Ron Jeremy said:
If Chiesel were that good how come they couldn't make it overseas? IceHouse toured with Bowie in Europe and had multiple hits worldwide. Talent wise Iva owns all of them, his music credentials speak for its self.

I can factually answer that question. The song ' you have nothing I want ' ( you have nothing I need ) was written by the band as they CHOSE themselves to f**k America off, as they didnt like the shonky industry over there, when they were trying to arse f**k em over.

I think it was a BAD and young decision by the band to make THIS CHOICE which THEY made. As they would have conquered the world if they chose to.

But then we would not have the songs/legend of Barnes, Moss that stemmed from this. Don WALKER was Chisel though. He wrote ninety percent of their songs. Barnes and Moss delivered the goods up front, ( though are legend song writers as proven by record sales ) in their own rights.

Ron Jeremy

2 True Blues said:
I can factually answer that question. The song ' you have nothing I want ' ( you have nothing I need ) was written by the band as they CHOSE themselves to f**k America off, as they didnt like the shonky industry over there, when they were trying to arse f**k em over.

I think it was a BAD and young decision by the band to make THIS CHOICE which THEY made. As they would have conquered the world if they chose to.

But then we would not have the songs/legend of Barnes, Moss that stemmed from this. Don WALKER was Chisel though. He wrote ninety percent of their songs. Barnes and Moss delivered the goods up front, ( though are legend song writers as proven by record sales ) in their own rights.

Writing a song to piss off someone is hardly a skill though, i could write a song about Kim Beazleys arse if i want too. Songwriting isn't the beand end all in music. Some of the best pieces of music have had garbage lyrics.

IceHouse musically were by far and away the most talented group in Australia at the time. The way they incorperated many instruments to make a song, not to mention their distinctive sound and brillant vocals made them the best in my bool.

Iva is well respected internationally, you cannot ignore his talents when people like Bowie asks him to tour with him, that is a huge wrap, much the same as when Sabbath asked VH to our with them in 77.

TBH i reckon apart from the vocals Oils were one of our most talented best also. I have a huge wrap on Rob Hirst and the guitarists were solid without being brillant and the whole sound of their songs were pretty distintictive.

Funny, i dont rate Ian Moss as a guitarist, i've seen him live and wasn't that impressed at all. Barnes has got a voice and range on him, and have always thought when Branes auditioned for VH he may have suited what Eddie and co were looking for, except they chos someone even uglier.

Ron Jeremy

Forgot to mention the Church, Steve Kilbey is another of Australias better vocialist, but they never capitalized on there huge potential. I reckon they had it too make it overseas.

OVP

Ron Jeremy said:
Forgot to mention the Church, Steve Kilbey is another of Australias better vocialist, but they never capitalized on there huge potential. I reckon they had it too make it overseas.

We should make another post about the Church as well, Ron :)

I just love em ... but they definitely deserve their own thread.

Ron Jeremy

They are a great band, remember Kilbeys 12 string electric? a mate of mine has the exact replica of his. I saw them at The Metro about 10 years ago and they sounded great, Kilby had a real disticnt voice

Ron Jeremy said:
Under the Milky way was an international hit single for them .
top 40 in the US.
The album ''Starfish'' was huge .
It went gold.

They are a great band, remember Kilbeys 12 string electric? a mate of mine has the exact replica of his. I saw them at The Metro about 10 years ago and they sounded great, Kilby had a real disticnt voice
Steve Kilbey played Bass in the church.
Marty Wilson-Piper and Peter Koppes played guitar.

Ron Jeremy

carcharias said:
Under the Milky way was an international hit single for them .
top 40 in the US.
The album ''Starfish'' was huge .
It went gold.

Steve Kilbey played Bass in the church.
Marty Wilson-Piper and Peter Koppes played guitar.

Yes you're right, however i'm led to believe that the 12 string on the cover of their album was Kilbeys, that was coming from a guy i know who knows pretty much everything about them, hell he still has a mars bar in his fridge because Kilbey touched it 15 years ago lol

sydraider

Ron Jeremy said:

I thought the Church had a big following in the UK.

Ron Jeremy

sydraider said:
I thought the Church had a big following in the UK.

I was refering to America when i said overseas. Many Australian bands have little problem breaking into the English market, their are so many examples, the real test is breaking into the US and scoring a top 20 hit, that's huge!

OVP

Ron Jeremy said:

This explains why, in my opinion, that besides the fact they were mostly an 80's band, they wouldnt have looked out of place in the 90's or 00's either. They did some great sh*t :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNhR-PrTAFE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nx36ZzSHHs8

There's many more examples of their work ... but you need to research it if you dont know them.

Even Tumbleweed reminded me of them ... remember them ? A South Coast band from Wollongong.

2 True Blues

Ungaurded moment. Top song. Saw the Church live back in eighties.

INXS were bigger than both Church and Icehouse combimed though, and should warrant a mention if these others have been.

Even Tumbleweed reminded me of them ... remember them ? A South Coast band from Wollongong

You must be on drugs.
Tumbleweed and the church were nothing alike at all.
Tumbleweed were heavy and loud and good.
The church were not.

I like the church and have a few cd's ...but Tumbleweed they aint.