Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ill Retire for my mate Clint: Crocker

Bicey_18

I'll retire for my mate Clint

By Josh Massoud
September 26, 2007 MELBOURNE star Michael Crocker has performed the ultimate act of grand final mateship - offering to retire a season early to ensure off-contract back-row partner Clint Newton remains in the NRL.
Crocker fronted Storm coach Craig Bellamy earlier this month and demanded Newton be kept at all costs.
Then, in an incredible gesture of selflessness, Crocker said he would personally pay the price by forgoing the final season of his current deal.
In order to prevent the salary cap from forcing Newton to England after Sunday's grand final, the 27-year-old firebrand is prepared to quit the game after 2008.
"Just thinking about it is very humbling - I get a bit emotional," Newton said. "It's a massive thing for Michael to do. I would never expect anyone to do something like that, and he did it off his own bat - the club didn't put any pressure on him.
"I didn't even know until after the game against Parramatta on Sunday night. I was blown away."
Newton, 26, is poised to cap a remarkable season with a grand final appearance on Sunday - just four months after being unwanted at Newcastle. Until the Crocker offer, Newton looked to have little hope of remaining at Melbourne because the club can only afford to offer him around $70,000 next season.
But by standing aside the following year, Crocker would free up almost $200,000 - thereby enabling the Storm to compensate Newton with a far higher salary in 2009.
After transferring from the Knights in acrimonious circumstances, Newton has thrived in the Victorian capital and is immensely popular among his new teammates.
The son of Aussie golfing great Jack Newton last night compared Crocker's gesture to something you see in the movies.
Storm insiders say serious knee and shoulder injuries over the past two seasons have convinced Crocker his battered frame is now a "year-to-year proposition".
Crocker already requires a shoulder reconstruction after Sunday night's decider that will leave him sidelined until midway through next year.
He privately believes retaining Newton is crucial to the club's forward strength, given props Ben Cross (signed with Newcastle) and Garrett Crossman (negotiating with Hull KR) are both likely to be playing elsewhere in 2008.
Only loose acquaintances before Newton joined Storm, the pair have developed into close mates over the past four months.
Not only do they partner each other in weight training, but Crocker and his girlfriend Sally have played a vital role in Newton's swift adjustment to Bleak City by cooking for him on an almost weekly basis.
They first spoke about Crocker's offer over one such dinner on Monday night.
"Something like this is a perfect example of why I'm so happy in Melbourne," Newton said. "It's the type of mateship that has brought the club a long way, and will hopefully serve us well in the grand final on Sunday."
Newton is considering a formal offer from one UK Super League club - understood to be Hull KR - that would see him earn $150,000-a-season more than if he were to remain in Melbourne.
Storm coach Bellamy last night said the club desperately wanted to keep the former Knight. He confirmed that he had spoken with Crocker, but declined to reveal details of a private conversation.

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news/ill-walk-to-keep-newton--crocker/2007/09/25/1190486312061.html

The ultimate act of selflessness for a bloke who walked out on his team mates. Newton could learn a lot from Crocker. Mick - don't do it.

smeghead

Maybe Crocker has just come to the realisation that he is nowhere near the player he used to be and he wants to cash in on a SuperLeague pay day

philstorm

f**k, don't do it Crocker.

Even with a busted shoulder, you're better than most second rowers in the competition.

And no, Smeghead, Crocks has indicated that he'd still stay at the club and would just retire if he relinquished the last year of his contract.

B-Tron 3000

And Newton is exactly the type of f**kwit that would let his mate do it too.

Where is the response from Newton saying "I said no way. You've been here, you deserve to stay. I'll come back if your body doesn't hold up"?

Nowhere.

If they spoke about it over dinner one night then how come Newton is saying he "didn't know"? He should have nipped it in the bud at the dinner, before Crocker went to Bellamy. Selfish prick he is.

macavity

this bloke will retire for him

yet most of newcastle wouldn't piss on him if he was on fire

me thinks crocker is stupid.

philstorm

B-Tron 3000 said:
And Newton is exactly the type of f**kwit that would let his mate do it too.

Where is the response from Newton saying "I said no way. You've been here, you deserve to stay. I'll come back if you're body doesn't hold up"?

Nowhere.

If they spoke about it over dinner one night then how come Newton is saying he "didn't know"? He should have nipped it in the bud at the dinner, before Crocker went to Bellamy. Selfish prick he is.

Bloody good point.

Azkatro

Mick Crocker is a smart man. Maybe he is keen to get into something else outside of footy and was planning on retiring anyway. Maybe this kind of publicity will aid him in whatever venture he's looking at ...

Best mates hey, how long have they been playing together? Does everyone really think crocker is thinking of Newton ?

Kingytek

Just out of curiosity, why don't people like Newton?
I don't know anything personal about the guy but he seems like a decent footballer and from memory he got shafted from Newcastle and landed on his feet at a Club that has just walked into an NRL Grand Final.
I say good on ya!

Pierced Soul

could just be crocker knows his body isnt up to scratch anymore and he gets on well with newton. thing about melb is players down there have always spoken about how close knit they become.

i reckon crocker will probably pull the pin anywaya due to injury (unfortunately) but the fact he's willing to do this for a team mate says a lot about the bloke. It would be easy for him to go around next year, play a few games, retire and get a lot of his contract money but he's offering it to someeone else

gaterooze

Why the frig do they blame the salary cap? This is a guy *they bought mid-season*. It was their choice to grab a short-term bargain, don't try making the salary cap into the "bad guy". Just watch, Gould will whinge about the salary cap "forcing" Crocker to retire...

macavity

Kingytek said:
Just out of curiosity, why don't people like Newton?
I don't know anything personal about the guy but he seems like a decent footballer and from memory he got shafted from Newcastle and landed on his feet at a Club that has just walked into an NRL Grand Final.
I say good on ya!

"from memory"

were you on LSD from about February 07 till now?

Kingytek

Seriously, didn't he get shafted?
Well if thats the case, im sorry.

I thought Newcastle offloaded him like they did everyone else.

philstorm

Kingytek said:
Seriously, didn't he get shafted?
Well if thats the case, im sorry.

I thought Newcastle offloaded him like they did everyone else.

Ssshhh! Let Newcastle fans keep thinking they were the ones who got shafted.

philstorm said:
Ssshhh! Let Newcastle fans keep thinking they were the ones who got shafted.

Phil

Look what you have done, the secret is out now.:sarcasm: I think if you type Ssshhhh, they might just hear you. ;-)

macavity

no he didnt get shafted at all.

he didn't get offered another 230k contract when he demanded it, and so leveredged his famous father (and known meddler in knights affairs) to demand (and get) an immediate release.

unlike the rest of the Knights players moving on at the end of the year.... and instead of staying to play out the year with his mates and for the club that had supported him (with fat, over the odds contracts) through various suspensions and injuries, he left for a shot at immediate glory - but only after reaching his own personal milestone of 100 games.

he shafted the Knights - in the most petulant act ever seen by a footballer - and that is saying something.