Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Illawarra Steelers

and there was that great match in 1994 when they pumped the broncos...

it was so good, they made it into a football card...

1994%20masters%20specials0028.jpg

Iafeta

Darren Fritz? Was that the blokes name... I seem to recall Auckland going to Wollongong in '95 or '96 and getting pumped, Fritz was unstoppable.

H.H

I used to tape old games back in the early 90's. I have one Illawarra game with a very young Ryan Girdler playing for them.

My mate who was born in the 'gong was a fanatic steelers fan, has a few of their jerseys, which looks all bloody similar but the logo is different in some of the newer ones. He used to go to games wearing an NFL helmet painted red with a steelers logo on it, maybe some on here people remember it?

I remember that game vs Norths at NSO where they scored on the buzzer and had a kick from right in front to win the game and somehow Timmins or maybe it was Wishart? Missed it, went under the posts for a draw.

Yeah it was Timmins.

All 3 grades ended up 14 all that day...they mentioned that when Timmins was lining up that kick and I just knew he would miss.

jonno_knights

Creagh? Strewth he is only 28 - would he have even known the Steelers? :?

Dean Young is probably the same age (ish)

Shows how ignorant you are... you do realise the steelers junior system still exists today? pretty sure if they steelers had been able to stay afloat the likes of Creagh, Young, Sims, Cooper, Bailey, Ryles, Hornby etc. would have all debuted for them, rather than the JV St George Illawarra...

kdalymc

Did they ever have any cool/ alternates/ 7's jerseys?
All I know is the home boring as f, and the white one ( for games against Bears I assume)

Prometheus

it was essentially St George swallowing up the Steelers who are relegated to history.

The Steelers still exist as a stand-alone team in some of the lower grades. To be "relegated to history" they would have to be extinct.

Sure, with a few token nods to that club by the new entity every now and then

You mean token nods like a guaranteed half of the board members, guaranteed half of the home games in Wollongong, the Illawarra uniform as our alternate strip. Oh wait, those are neither "now and then", nor "token nods".

Even the NSW Cup team aren't the Steelers anymore.

That is because the NSW Cup team belongs to neither the Dragons, nor the Steelers. It is a combined effort of the Illawarra Rugby League, the Illawarra Steelers and the St George Illawarra Dragons.

Did they ever have any cool/ alternates/ 7's jerseys?
All I know is the home boring as f, and the white one ( for games against Bears I assume)

It was basically a red one and white one with the same designs in both ARL and World 7s.

However, a slightly different design was used when they played the touring Lions in 1992. Someone might have it posted somewhere.

Joshuatheeel

Shows how ignorant you are... you do realise the steelers junior system still exists today? pretty sure if they steelers had been able to stay afloat the likes of Creagh, Young, Sims, Cooper, Bailey, Ryles, Hornby etc. would have all debuted for them, rather than the JV St George Illawarra...

Yep the Illawarra region produces some brillant talent - one of the best league regions in the world .

If steelers were able to put a side in 2013 with local talent they could field a side something like this:

1. Brett Stewart
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt cooper
4. Josh Morris
5. Beau Ryan
6. Glen Stewart
7. Beau Henry
13. Trent Merin
12. Taqi Sims
11. Ben cregh
10. Luke bailey
9. Mitch Rein
8. Justin poore

Dan hunt
Ashton sims
Korbin Sims
Kane linett
Dylan Farrell
Jason ryles
Matt prior

Heisenburg

Yep the Illawarra region produces some brillant talent - one of the best league regions in the world .

If steelers were able to put a side in 2013 with local talent they could field a side something like this:

1. Brett Stewart
2. Brett Morris
3. Matt cooper
4. Kane linett
5. Dylan Farrell
6. Glen Stewart
7. Beau Henry
13. Trent Merin
12. Taqi Sims
11. Ben cregh
10. Luke bailey
9. Mitch Rein
8. Justin poore

Cameron king
Dan hunt
Ashton sims
Korbin Sims

King isn't a junior. Halves are weak. But besides that its a strong side. I would also have Ryles over Poore. Beau Ryan on the wing and Farrel to five eighth

Joshuatheeel

Always had a soft spot for the steelers, shoujd never have merged with the dragons (yes I know they were broke) but the league should have done more to keep them afloat. Amazing that one of leagues top player producing regions does not have a stand alone side.

There was some stubbornness on the steelers part as well they could have merged/ got some help from the two big leagues clubs in the area. They also knocked back early in there existance the opportunity to take over the old cleos ( I think that was the name of the place) I believe.

Watched a lot of the steelers in the late 80's early 90's. They had a pretty good side , wishart was one of the first wingers to really take on the role as an extra forward. Ian Russell could have been anything. Brett Rodwell was unlucky with injuries later in his career. Amazing Mary mcgregor was targeted by the steelers for several years but just wanted to play with his mates at the canaries and drink beer - he finally agreed to join the steelers then 12 months later was a rep player.

Here is a name from the pass for die hard steelers fans - Chris mackin-shaw , got to have a few beers with him at a wedding recently .

Joshuatheeel

King isn't a junior. Halves are weak. But besides that its a strong side. I would also have Ryles over Poore. Beau Ryan on the wing and Farrel to five eighth

Yeah only put it together quickly just to show what talent the area produces - yeah some weakness in the halves but no side is ever filled 100% with juniors.

Yeah forgot about beau , he would definitely be in the side along with ryles . I also forgot about josh Morris

jonno_knights

Did Houston come through the steelers junior system, or the Dragons?

Narooma product, so thats more the Raiders catchment area (Far South Coast).

Other lesser known Illawarra/South Coast products are Adam Docker, Keith Lulia, Josh Starling, Joe Vickery and then theres the one Ive never been to sure of, Luke O'Donnell, always listed as a Milton Ulladulla Bulldog, but played his rep footy for City.

Brett Rodwell runs the 'mudcat' cafe at the novotel in Wollongong...

Great experience to be served breakfast by one of your childhood heroes..