Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Im a little dissapointed.

parra pete

I have a Queensland SOO jumper signed by 56 Queensland FOGS that Mal arranged for me in 2004. I had it done for the local Junior Rugby League Club, but I have done nothing about disposing of it yet. It is still hanging up in a wardrobe here at home.
The problem is they signed in black textra - the signatures are clear, but do not stand out against the Maroon.
I am going to hang onto for a little longer...
I also have at home a St George jumper signed by John Raper, Reg Gasnier and Changa Langlands that Chook gave to my son Mick, when he (Mick) was the licensee of a City Hotel which was visited one afternoon by seven or eight members of the 59 Kangaroos tourists. Mick looked after them pretty well, so much so that Chook came back next day and gave him the jumper.
Different eras, different attitudes apparantly..Money rules the roost these days!!!!!!
But, I must say that Matt King did sign one of his Australian Training Shirts and sent it to me early 2007 when I was crook..which came out of the blue and was greatly appreciated.
I wouldn't know Matt King from Adam - it was arranged by a nephew who knows him very well. He said Matt didn't hesitate - as a matter of fact it was Matt who suggested it to him.
To do that for me, was something I won't forget. Matt King obviously is one of the good guys of the game.

wittyfan

I forked out $250 on eBay for a signed Witty jersey that he wore during the 1970's round in 2005. :lol:

Nikki

There are some players that are the exception to all the rules (in a good way) and I have heaps of signed stuff that I would never part with. Now that I have the house to myself and can do my own decorating it will probably turn into a football shrine. lol.

Nikki

wittyfan said:
I forked out $250 on eBay for a signed Witty jersey that he wore during the 1970's round in 2005. :lol:

Im slowly sellin alot of stuff around my house on ebay atm (books, nick nacks, clothes, etc) but im scared that with whatever $$$ I make im just gunna go straight to the Parra section and bid on lots of stuff!! :lol:

wittyfan

Witty wearing the jersey that I have. :lol:

seaeagles_wideweb__430x309.jpg

There are guys who are only too happy to oblige. Nathan Cayless is one of them - honest to God, he's one of the nicest, most decent men I've ever met - and he's a bloody good player to boot.

Parra Guru

parra pete said:
Different eras, different attitudes apparantly..Money rules the roost these days!!!!!!

Spot on pete. It wasn't that long ago that the Eels belonged to the Parramatta community. I miss those days.

eelz47

Nikki said:
There are some players that are the exception to all the rules (in a good way) and I have heaps of signed stuff that I would never part with. Now that I have the house to myself and can do my own decorating it will probably turn into a football shrine. lol.

not that their is anything wrong with that, we can have sistershrines

Hellsy

fish eel said:
so what if people put stuff on ebay?

not everyone can make it to games and hang around after, or can go to fan days.

If something is on ebay, and someone wants to pay for it, good luck to them and the seller.

If people (ie players, authorities) are worried about people making money off them on ebay, the easy way to stop that is to flood the market with signed jerseys and posters etc to devalue the signature.

you can still do special stuff in house for charities etc.

Exactly right.

And anyway, what the bloody hell does it matter to them.
AND if it was yourself that took the photo and got it signed you have every right to sell it

Hellsy

parra pete said:
But, I must say that Matt King did sign one of his Australian Training Shirts and sent it to me early 2007 when I was crook..which came out of the blue and was greatly appreciated.
I wouldn't know Matt King from Adam - it was arranged by a nephew who knows him very well. He said Matt didn't hesitate - as a matter of fact it was Matt who suggested it to him.
To do that for me, was something I won't forget. Matt King obviously is one of the good guys of the game.

And wasnt I jealous when you emailed me that day :( :( :LOL:

Altho Jess got me a nice picture of him signed for Xmas, she sent it down to the Storm and he signed it with no hesitation.
I'll try and scan it next week, its really great :D :D

The Engineers Room

Hellsy said:
How do they have the right to question you though?
Do they want a signed stat dec to say you wont put hem on eBay when we know for sure there are a few players that do it themselves :lol: :lol:

Yeah but at least it is their name on it or at least there friends. They would be worried that their name is being used to make money of without their knowledge.

Hellsy

But how do they have the right to question it?
Until eBay stop the sale of any signatured stock without permission from the signatour then how do they have the right to confront someone who has asked for their signature??

fish eel

Hellsy said:
But how do they have the right to question it?
Until eBay stop the sale of any signatured stock without permission from the signatour then how do they have the right to confront someone who has asked for their signature??

If they're worried then they just shouldnt sign.

Incidently, it's nothing new, there have always been player who go out of their way, and there have been those who never sign.

I dont think it's got much to do with eBay, but more to do with people and different personilities tbh. eBay or no eBay, a prick will still be a prick.

Hellsy

True.

I just think that if people refuse to sign things becoz they dont know how their signature will be used is a bit much!
In fact, you can ask anyone on here that I am friends with... I do not own 1 piece of fully sign Eels memorabilia. But yet when I went to a signing session one day with the gang Tyler had 2 jerseys he wanted signed but the rules stated 1 item per fan, so I took his other jersey along for him and I had 2 well-known players look up and say 'Don't you have enough of these already?' or 'This better not appear on eBay'

Pr*cks

The Engineers Room

So why is a player that doesn't sign your item a prick? You are asking them for something, it doesn't mean they have to do it. It isn't like they have promised to sign for someone else and just refuse you.

Hellsy

I never said that.
If you read my whole post I was referrring to a certain 2 playeres at a SIGNING session, and they didnt refuse they gave me 'words' which were unjustified based on the story I wrote, hence why I wrote it.

However in saying that..... how is it that you could support them refusing an autograph to a fan? Surely that is part of their job role.... in fact I have never seen a Parra player refuse an autograph anywhere except on a certain jersey last year, but that was 'apparently' under instruction fromt he club.

The Engineers Room

A football player's job is to play football and they do alot of work for charity as well.

I was not referring to your incident as they did not refuse to sign it did they. I think it may have been a joke what they said to you.

fish eel

The Engineers Room said:
A football player's job is to play football and they do alot of work for charity as well.

They are paid not just to play football, but to be ambassadors for their club. That has a number of responsibilities, one of which you mentioned is charity stuff. They don't have to sign autographs, but they do have a responsibility to the club that pays them to treat all fans with respect and be polite and courteous at official functions.

If they were only paid purely and simply to play football, nobody with give a brass razoo when one played up.

I find the defence of footballers not signing autographs to be quite ignorant to be honest. Particularly, in the case in point, when it was at a "signing session".