Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Importing Russian jerseys

ali

Hi guys,

i am just wondering how many of you would be interested in trying to organise a way to import Russian Rugby League jerseys to Australia. Its time we put our money where our mouths are, and do our bit to help a developing nation. For our part, we get a fantastic new jersey, that helps show that our fantastic game is played in Russia. Today i rang up Peter Wynn's score and tired to find out if it would be possible, but first I need some info. We need to find out who actaully makes the current Russian jersey.

Peter Wynn's score actually sounded keen to get involved. I reckon if we could get 20 of us commited to buying a Russian jersey, they would do all the organising and importing.

So firstly, who makes the jersey? And who would be keen to get involved?

roopy

I'd be keen to get a Russian one.

I wear my Tomahawks jersey to most games and it is a real conversation starter. Most people think it is from the 7s and are surprized to know that the Tomahawks play a lot of internationals.

knights 2004

did they sell russian jerseys and merchandies at the 2003 7's?
they should have.
did they sell any jerseys or merchandise for any of the countries playing at the world 7's at the event?
im gonna go to world 7's 2004, and id be interested in buying some merchandise of different countries

roopy

knights 2004 said:
did they sell russian jerseys and merchandies at the 2003 7's?
they should have.
did they sell any jerseys or merchandise for any of the countries playing at the world 7's at the event?
im gonna go to world 7's 2004, and id be interested in buying some merchandise of different countries

You can get the US Tomahawks jersey here

http://www.amnrl.com/shop/usa_jersey.html

The price is in US dollars, so it is roughly double plus postage.

JasonE

Although this is slightly off topic, a RL shop on the Princess Highway at St Peters sold Russian jerseys the last time I went there about a year ago, I think the shop was called Goodfellows, it was a small family owned business.

legend

If you can find out who makes them, we would gladly sell them. If it's Classic or ISC, we can get them no probs.

yakstorm

Depends which Russian jersey you are refering to, as they seem to change it every time they take the field.

The Observer

The Russian training tracksuits and training T-shirt are pretty cool too. Mostly blue with white and red stripes on the shoulders. The blue colur is different in the trackie vs the t shirt.

ali

yakstorm said:
Depends which Russian jersey you are refering to, as they seem to change it every time they take the field.

I'd be keen to buy whatever jersey they plan on wearing in the Euro nations cup.

Legend, I didn't know about the shop on here. That looks like a good option. I'm sure we can get decent numbers to make it worthwhile.

ali

So at the moment we have myself, Roopy and & Knights 2004.

I just got an email from Stefan Hopewell, who has been involved in selling Russian merchandise in the past, to help raise money for Russian Rugby League. He says he would have no problems getting the brand new jerseys to us. However he is still waiting to see the design.

All we need to do is tell him how many we are after. He also has 3 Strella Kazan jerseys left over from this years challenge cup. So Legend I will message you Stefan's details. I am really keen to raise as much money as possible for the Russians, so would it be possible to put a note about this on the front of the web page? The more people we get involved, the better.

mono_mal

Goodfellows still has a Russian jersey left though the design is quite old. It features a bear in the centre of the jersey with Russia written in English below in Red. The jersey is blue, red and white.
The jersey they have left though does not have badging as the one i bought recently for a mate did. Cost was only $44.
For some reason it also has PLAYMAKER across the back of the jersey.
How much would we be looking at for a Russian jersey? I'm interested though it depends on the cost.
Also in reply to an above question there was no international merchandise available at the World Sevens last year. I found this dissapointing as i was interested myself in supporting these countries and obtaining some unique products.
There has been merchandise available at previous competitions though so there is a possibility that some stuff will be available.
Only products available last year were World Sevens caps and t-shirts which do contribute to the international game at least as profits go directly to the RLIF.

Definitely interested, as long as they aren't a good deal more than usual footy jerseys.

I want one for next year's 7s!

legend

Ali, just send me a pm when you have all the details and we'll add it to the shop and i'll also do a writeup about it and post it as an article on the main page of the site.

Cheers.

legend

Ali, I have sent the e-mail to Stefan and I'm awaiting a response. Having thought about it a little more, i'd like ot get some numbers for pre-ordering the jersey in the hope of getting a wholesale discount for buying in bulk and we(the website) don't get left with stock we can't sell.

We also have to work out a selling price and i'd like to get some artwork or a banner done for the main page advertising the jersey to make it visually enticing.

Yak, can you put something together?

Would you guys be interested in buying jerseys from the Sevens teams not in the NRL (AMNRL, Tomahawks etc). If we know there is a market for the gear we will do our level best to sell it.

ali

legend said:
Ali, I have sent the e-mail to Stefan and I'm awaiting a response. Having thought about it a little more, i'd like ot get some numbers for pre-ordering the jersey in the hope of getting a wholesale discount for buying in bulk and we(the website) don't get left with stock we can't sell.

We also have to work out a selling price and i'd like to get some artwork or a banner done for the main page advertising the jersey to make it visually enticing.

Yak, can you put something together?

Would you guys be interested in buying jerseys from the Sevens teams not in the NRL (AMNRL, Tomahawks etc). If we know there is a market for the gear we will do our level best to sell it.

I'd be happy to buy a French jersey as well if you were to stock it, but my top priority is Russia. I'm also just about to buy a Dutch jersey for my brother for his birthday, as he's actually in Holand for a year.

I've got no problems paying up front if you want a guarentee before you import them.

ali

So is anything happening with League unlimited or should I go ahead and organise this myself?

I know Classic made the jerseys for the Moscow side when we went across in 2001. I know this because we had to take them over. If you contact Classic they would be able to tell you if they are still making at all.