Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Indigenous All Stars reach out to bullied nine-year-old

Sounds like a great opportunity for the nrl to get some govt funding to run a schools anti bullying program with an into to RL for areas where RL might not be popular.

King hit

Just watched the video absolutely heartbreaking to hear how his mother has to watch him constantly due to suicide. A 9 year old wishing to die is truly disturbing. Schools should f**king do more but most of the time they don’t f**king care. Respect the High School I went to even more. They were very protective of bullied kids, anybody caught bullying were expelled.

Have a great time tommorow night Quaden. The guys will give you a night you will never forget. I’ll raise my next beer to you mate.

Xcalibre

This should be in my ‘positivity’ thread.

It’s a heart-breaking but uplifting story. Brought me to tears did Latrell’s lovely message to the kid. What a legend. It’s unbelievably sad that such a young kid can have those thoughts. Hopefully now his story is public, him and kids like him can be treated better.

Maybe bring in some of the bullies too? Kids around that age are probably unaware of the sort of effect their bullying can have. Get some professional sportsmen to talk to them about it and maybe they’ll understand.

Be kind people.

Xcalibre

It's getting bigger apparently, reports of a go fund me page to send him to Disneyworld, contact from Hugh Jackman. Hope this kid has the time of his life, and only greater things to come thereafter.

EDITED FOR SOURCE

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/r...d/news-story/04b85f16bb43c458623e1723d54dc013

This is one of the few times I applaud social media. Just saw the story on the news and it’s become a huge, global story. They raised over $150k in a day but only asked for $10k.

Xcalibre

Someone needs to get Peter Dinklage connected with him. Let him see that being short doesn't stop you having a brilliant future.

A little person that’s a popular U.S comic was the one that started the gofundme page that was mentioned. Wouldn’t be surprised if Dinklage got in contact with the family with the story going viral.

Xcalibre

Hopefully the school, parents and in particular the kids bullying also make changes. If it isn’t this kid they’re bullying it will be someone else unless the school and parents get on top of it.

So lovely to see people, rallying around Quaden, well done to his mum for being brave enough to post what must be horrendous for her to see so others can learn the impacts this has.

hated bullies at school and often got stuck in if I saw it happening, took a few beatings but handed a few out myself as well. often found if I could get the lead bully away from his mates he was weak as pss.

Ditto. Don’t let it be just about Quaden. All bullying needs to stop.

nöyd

This is one of the few times I applaud social media. Just saw the story on the news and it’s become a huge, global story. They raised over $150k in a day but only asked for $10k.
Agreed.

I could be wrong but i think i read that money raised will send the little tiger to Disneyland, and the remainder will be used for anti-bullying campaigning and education. Hopefully that's true.

nöyd

It is also very easy for a child to follow the pack, without even knowing why.
Thats the real shitty thing about bullying, other than the obvious of course.

Kids that are on the edge of potential popularity see a group of bullies having a great time, all of a sudden they're in amongst it cracking jokes and high fiving, following the pack leader.

Honestly can't recall if I was a bully at school, no doubt we all took the piss out of each other, but not to the degree that kids do these days.

And so-called "social" media keeps on keeping on.

unforgiven

Thats the real shitty thing about bullying, other than the obvious of course.

Kids that are on the edge of potential popularity see a group of bullies having a great time, all of a sudden they're in amongst it cracking jokes and high fiving, following the pack leader.

Honestly can't recall if I was a bully at school, no doubt we all took the piss out of each other, but not to the degree that kids do these days.

And so-called "social" media keeps on keeping on.

The big difference I believe now is social media, when most of us were younger you would have to put up with your bullies from 9-3, now with social media that bully goes home with you into you lounge room into your bedroom. There is no respite which I believe would be a major contributor to teen suicide in todays teens!

Headless Chook

You’d hope whoever was giving this young fella a brutal time have a lightbulb moment and now realise the enormity of what they have done. Be nice if it’s the last time in their lives they think it’s funny to put someone through a living hell.

Shame is a powerful emotion.

AnonymousLurker

When I saw the video yesterday I was brought to tears , and I’m not someone that does that lightly . I hope this support around the world makes a difference to him and others bullied.

I also have to say I’m proud of the way the the rugby league players responded and those in the states to the go fund me page .

Gardenia

It bought me to tears watching his video and then the video from the All Stars. Never been so proud to follow Rugby League.

Rhino_NQ

That was hard to watch. Hope the kid lives it up for awhile, deserves it.

Was going to make a joke about nate myles getting in contact with him but nah

T-Boon

Dinklage played arguably the most memorable fiction character of the last decade in Tyrion Lannister (at least the first 3 seasons, when he straightened out not so much). Love that character and performance.

Rhino_NQ

Was their a link for the gofundme page in there somewhere?

Working a function tomorrow night for a few thousand rich tosspots so i may as well do some spruiking for the little champ

Mick Benson

Good on Latrell. The media has caught up to it now but he was way out in front of it. Looking forward to seeing Quaden run out before the game