Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

interim coach - Carr?

SEAT 1A

It's a huge call for the players and can't unscramble the egg quickly so hopefully, focus with the players as a team first and they are inclusive to the club.

62baby

A bit of stuff off of Foxsports News -

"Carr told them everyone needed to get better as players, staff and as a team.
The players then had a scheduled training session at 10am on the field at Wollongong.
Many were still asking why some of Griffin’s other key staff were still remaining at the club.
It’s well-known Griffin and Carr did not always see eye-to-eye on team selections and tactics.
In terms of team selections at the Red V Carr’s first move has been to name captain Hunt at halfback, reinstate Zac Lomax in the centres and Jacob Liddle at hooker and name Jayden Sullivan at no.14 on the bench.
Moses Mbye and Matt Feagi – who replaced Lomax when he was axed a fortnight ago - have been listed in the extended reserves.
This will mean Hunt will start the match at halfback before shifting into dummy-half to get Sullivan into the game against the Roosters on Friday night.
Make no mistake, Dragons captain Hunt will be looking at alternative options after the decision to axe Griffin.
The champion no.7 still is still contracted until the end of 2025 with the Red V but there will be rival clubs eyeing Hunt as a halfback.
The Bulldogs are one club who perfectly fit the bill."
Hunt is a myth. Decent footy player but not gonna remind anyone of the real game managers like Thurston and Cronk.Occassionally he channels Hornby in attack but I doubt he will be missed for long. I hope he actually thrives under Carr but we still need a player with better situational awareness. He might be too old to learn that.

slippery5

Sloan is not our best option for fullback and who know who is. if Ramsey is not available we will need to recruit a marquee fullback.

1. New fullback
2. Matt Feagai
3. Suli - left wing
4. Lomax - right wing
5. Ravalawa
6. Sloan
7. Sullivan
8. Musgrove
9. Hunt
10. Lawrie
11. Bird
12. Su'A
13. De Belin

14. Liddle
15. Molo
16. Kerr
17. Couchman
Possm, Feagai (both of them) are also not winger material. In fact they both do not show enough speed or power require for centre/winger & are KO cup standard only.
So come up with another option????

bathtime

Will be interesting to see how Hunt responds now Hook has gone......I'm not expecting anything tbh untill a new coach is appointed and his ideas are put into place....I suspect that Griffin & Hunt called the shots when in particular it came to the roles and positioning of our spine.....hopefully Sully and Liddle will be given some fair and equal game time.. as for my opinion of Amone Im still undecided.....having said that the kid needs to pull his finger out and start producing the goods......once again imo Hunt dictates how much early ball he gets and how much latitude hes allowed on the paddock
I am not one of the Hunt haters. He has been our best for several years, arguably our best half back for ages. But if, as some feel, he is part of Griffin cabal. I view hunt Hunt a little like Widdop. both lacked quality support around them.

bathtime

The other Molo has barely played this year, couldn't be fit.
Carr has only been in the job a few hours and he's already made some significant changes over the Hook selections. Give it time.
Francis plays well at times, his off field stuff should have him turfed. About time it is written into contracts, proven or otherwise, when you are charged with beating up on someone not on the footy field you are gone.

Slippery Morris

Who is Ryan Carr? The former Rabbitoh who is now coach of the Dragons​

ByChristian Nicolussi

May 16, 2023 — 3.37pm

More than a decade ago, South Sydney needed to settle on a halfback to replace Chris Sandow.
One of those youngsters in the mix was local junior Adam Reynolds, who went on to win a premiership with Souths in 2014 and played State of Origin for NSW.
The other candidate was Ryan Carr.

Embattled Dragons coach Anthony Griffin was spotted leaving training in Wollongong this morning shortly before the club confirmed he had been sacked.

Carr, 34, has now become the caretaker coach at St George Illawarra the remainder of the year, and while he lost the halfback shootout to one of the best playmakers in the game all those years ago, showed signs then he had the makings of a coach.

“It was me or him who was going to get Chrissy’s spot, and I probably have him to thank for pushing me along the way [that summer],” Reynolds said.
“We tried to get the best out of one another, and I was the lucky one to get the call-up. He could have easily been in the position I’m in.

Ryan Carr will be the caretaker coach the remainder of the 2023 season at St George Illawarra.CREDIT:NRL
“Because he was a student of the game, and someone who had great ideas when he was coming through, it doesn’t surprise me he’s ended up coaching as early as he did.
“He’s worked extremely hard. He’s passionate about coaching. And he’s now got an opportunity to do something he’s dreamed about.”

Carr is set to lead the Dragons for the next 14 games now Anthony Griffin has left the building. Friday’s clash comes against the Sydney Roosters and coach Trent Robinson, whom Carr worked under with France at last year’s World Cup.
After never realising his NRL dream at Souths, Carr coached the club’s under-20s, including Jordan Mailata, the powerhouse prop who went on to play in this year’s Super Bowl with Philadelphia.
Carr spent time working in the lower grades at Canberra before he took up a head-coaching role in England with Featherstone.
Carr returned home to spend three years with Parramatta before taking up the Dragons post.
As a player Carr had captained North Queensland’s under-20s in 2008 and spent time at halfback for the Redcliffe Dolphins, before becoming the Rabbitohs’ NYC coach at age 27.

In a video with the Dragons before Christmas, he said: “I spoke with ‘Hook’ [Griffin] in depth before coming here how there’s a real big opportunity at this club, there’s untapped potential, a really young squad, and I can see a lot of improvement in them, and they can, too, which is good.”

Mojo

I am not one of the Hunt haters. He has been our best for several years, arguably our best half back for ages. But if, as some feel, he is part of Griffin cabal. I view hunt Hunt a little like Widdop. both lacked quality support around them.
IMO Sullivan 7 Hunt 6 Liddle 9 all on for 80 mins. Potentially a great spine.

Amone 14.

Unsure about Sloan - at this stage of his career I reckon he’d be best on a wing.

Leaves a question mark at fullback. Shame about Ramsey - he was going to be a gun.