Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is their a limit on the amount a player can be paid in Third Party Agreements

TheFrog

Nick and his wealthy golfing buddies keep losing their bets on the golf course to Roosters. The NRL has already said that these are not able to be policed and are not illegal under the present system.
That’s how you can get a squad like the Roosters under the cap, as they earn more playing golf than they do football!
This is why player values need to be assessed yearly. The assessed value is counted for the cap, rather than the contract value.

T-Boon

This is why player values need to be assessed yearly. The assessed value is counted for the cap, rather than the contract value.

Yep. Either do it that way or get rid of the salary cap altogether. The Roosters have been cheating the cap blatantly for 10 years. Their squads are nothing short of ridiculous.

Pissing the cap off will mean we won’t have to engineer contract fiascos to fool the NRL into thinking we’re compliant. Plus you merkins won’t work yourselves up with conspiracies. Where’s the fun in that?

The disparity in the NRL's third-party agreement figures doesn't add up and prevents a truly level playing field in the competition.

That's the opinion of Daily Telegraph journalist Dean Ritchie following the recent release of the third-party deal numbers at every club.

Last week, the NRL released the total amount each club's players earned from deals outside their playing contracts.

MORE: Souths awaiting Latrell Mitchell, Jai Arrow decisions after Walker re-signs

Fans were struck by the difference between some clubs, with Storm players earning nearly $810,000 from these 'arm's-length' deals, more than double their nearest rival.

At the other end of the spectrum, North Queensland players recieved a total of just $15,500 in third-party agreements.

Speaking on Big Sports Breakfast, Ritchie questioned the fairness of the current system as it stands.

"How is it a level playing field? I can't get my head around this," Ritchie said.

"I keep looking at these figures and I think, 'I'm missing something here,' but how can Melbourne Storm have TPAs (worth) $809,000 and the Cowboys are on $15,000? How is this fair?

"I can't believe the Warriors, who've got their own country, are on $27,000. North Queensland - $15,000 - they've got the entire region of north Queensland. It doesn't make sense.

"The Sharks, who are crammed in between Wollongong and Kogarah, are up around $210,000.

"The figures just don't seem to add up to me."

https://www.nospam47.com/au/league/...2019-numbers-totals/rbmecg6h82lq1oj2i7p3kgtss

NRL fans "They need to publish the figures!!"
also NRL fans "These figures are obviously fake REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE"

Most of you are on the same page is Dean Ritchie, let that sink in.

The figures are a sad reflection on how we don’t sell our stars very well and how they are not household names attractive to majors companies for promotion.

Exactly. The NRL playing up lower TPAs as some kind of victory to appeal to tall poppy bogans is a total fail.

Congrats on achieving less sponsorship money and public interest for our players.
Blokes like Sonny Bill Williams are plastered on sports stores and billboards all through Europe and the NRL is proud of being an average fish in a small pond.

I would expect the Roosters low figure is explained by legitimate businesses wanting less involvement with the NRL thanks to the alleged actions of players like De Belin, and most of Penrith.

Meanwhile the dodgy operators (mostly fake companies set up by a mate of a mate of a board member) out west and south are happy to keep throwing their money at the equally dodgy characters that fill the westie rosters.

Does paying off someone to get an abortion count under the cup or as a TPA?

siv

I would expect the Roosters low figure is explained by legitimate businesses wanting less involvement with the NRL thanks to the alleged actions of players like De Belin, and most of Penrith.

Meanwhile the dodgy operators (mostly fake companies set up by a mate of a mate of a board member) out west and south are happy to keep throwing their money at the equally dodgy characters that fill the westie rosters.

Does paying off someone to get an abortion count under the cup or as a TPA?
You should know

Easts are the experts on having a TPA but not actually having to declare it through loopholes they invent both within the NRL and NSWRL admin and outside

I reckon if they investigated how many TPA’s are linked to companies supplying LC’s there could be some interesting findings.