Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this for real...fairdinkum!

chunk

Magpies propose Raiders link

By James Phelps
July 20, 2007 12:00am

THE WESTS Magpies are considering a surprise partnership with the Raiders next year, in a move potentially threatening to the future of the Wests Tigers joint venture.
Magpies chief executive Kevin Hammond last night confirmed Western Suburbs were talking to Canberra about fielding Raiders players in the Magpies Premier League team next year.
Hammond, who is also chairman of the West Tigers, denied linking with the Raiders would place the future of the joint venture in doubt.
"Some clubs won't be entering the Premier League next year so there has been some general discussion among the clubs to see what is going to happen.
"Canberra aren't entering a side in Premier league and they are looking for an alternative. They have identified Western Suburbs as an alternative."
Hammond said Wests would still "feed" players to the Wests Tigers.
"Our relationship with the Wests Tigers won't change," Hammond said.
"Our priority is still with them because we are joint partners and the situation with our juniors doesn't alter either."
Hammond agreed the Magpies were unhappy with an arrangement that sees players contracted to the Wests Tigers playing solely for Balmain Ryde in the Premier League instead of Wests.
A Magpies player elevated to the NRL joint venture can be lost to the club by being told to play for Balmain-Ryde if he is dropped.
"If you ask me if we are still disappointed about that, I have to answer yes," Hammond said. "But we are past that now. We have gotten on with life. We have had to get on with it in the interest of the club."
Hammond said no deal had yet been done with the Raiders and refuted claims the move would be destabilising.

I can't believe this...so Wests would rather team up withe Canberra than Balmain.

Are they kidding?

What is going on, please explain?

Tiger Hawk

If they want to do this, fine, let them have a Wests PL team so they can retain their identity. Balmain can take on the NRL licence.

Vicious

Tiger Hawk said:
Actually no. The BRET PL team can remain, I was talking about the NRL licence.

Wakey Wakey.............Balmain couldn`t afford to pay the players and Balmain would be producing as few local juniors as the Roosters.......Be fair dinkum, for farks sake!!!

Tiger Hawk

Vicious said:
Wakey Wakey.............Balmain couldn`t afford to pay the players and Balmain would be producing as few local juniors as the Roosters.......Be fair dinkum, for farks sake!!!
Rightyo.

Not to mention those Balmain people are the reason for sh*t crowds at Campbelltown.

In much the same way the Anglicans are at fault for 737s hitting the World Trade Centre

chunk

Vicious said:

Your right Vicious.

I enjoy the fact that Balmain teamed up with Wests, we have a good jv.

I think its fair to say we need each other.

I also enjoy the fact that wo struggling teams teamed up to take on the the NRL and win.

But I don't like the carry on that still goes on between the two sides and this Canberra thing is a very good example of it.

Vicious said:
Exactly mate,Balmain need us more than we need them,although you wouldn't know it.
But we are the Wests Tigers now we should be strong for years if managed right.

chunk

851 said:
Exactly mate,Balmain need us more than we need them,although you wouldn't know it.
But we are the Wests Tigers now we should be strong for years if managed right.

Petty...

One thing for sure is our supporter base is 65% Balmain compared to 35 %Wests.

But we do need Wests to survive, no doubt about it.

I think the 'although you wouldn't know it' comment is probably the crusk of Wests paranoia, which leads to issues like the above...get over it.

Estoboy

Vicious said:

just from this week's lineup alone:

1. Gallant
3. Collis
5. Lawrence
12. Fulton
16. Flanno???

lots of good Wests guys that could all make it to SOO

at the same time though:

7. Farah
9. Halatau
15. Harrison

The Balmain players that have all already played at REP level

JRL in the BRLD is booming at the moment. The potential isn't there to match what ever Cambo has but thats no reason to split them.

A conservative look (not including such areas as Glebe, south of Leichhardt and west of Strathfield and Ryde) at the population pyramids from the latest ABS stats shows that the Balmain district has a pop of 333,046 with 52,434 people between 0-14 (15.7%).

The Outer Western Sydney area (which is bloody huge and goes way south) has a pop of 240,493 but has 58,680 people between 0-14 (24.4%).

These figures support the claim that the cambo area will pump out more RL stars even WITHOUT demographics included - which has to include the fact that more kids in the Balmain area would play Union compared to Cambo's kids. ALTHOUGH what about AFL's rise in the west?

overall, why would you dump such a valuable connection for a hole like canberra?

and on a final note

The ACT has a pop of 324,119 with 19.5% of people being 0-14. that doesn't take into account surrounding areas.

Dump that connection with Balmain for an extra 9,000 kids under the age of 14?

joejoe

I would like to introduce you to WSBRECMTR

The Western Subrubs Balmain Ryde Eastwood Canberra Magpie Tiger Raiders :oops:

Vicious

Estoboy said:
just from this week's lineup alone:

1. Gallant
3. Collis
5. Lawrence
12. Fulton
16. Flanno???

lots of good Wests guys that could all make it to SOO

at the same time though:

7. Farah
9. Halatau
15. Harrison

The Balmain players that have all already played at REP level

JRL in the BRLD is booming at the moment. The potential isn't there to match what ever Cambo has but thats no reason to split them.

A conservative look (not including such areas as Glebe, south of Leichhardt and west of Strathfield and Ryde) at the population pyramids from the latest ABS stats shows that the Balmain district has a pop of 333,046 with 52,434 people between 0-14 (15.7%).

The Outer Western Sydney area (which is bloody huge and goes way south) has a pop of 240,493 but has 58,680 people between 0-14 (24.4%).

These figures support the claim that the cambo area will pump out more RL stars even WITHOUT demographics included - which has to include the fact that more kids in the Balmain area would play Union compared to Cambo's kids. ALTHOUGH what about AFL's rise in the west?

overall, why would you dump such a valuable connection for a hole like canberra?

and on a final note

The ACT has a pop of 324,119 with 19.5% of people being 0-14. that doesn't take into account surrounding areas.

Dump that connection with Balmain for an extra 9,000 kids under the age of 14?

Vicious

Those are fair comments Kul and to be honest i reckon the Wests Magpies are just using scare tactics to make the Wests Tigers do the fair and rightfull thing by making the Wests Magpies the ONLY feeder club to the Wests Tigers!!!
Balmain also produced the talented Josh Lewis, pity the great coaching structure sacked him before he got to grade!!!

Wow...real mature there vicious.

Why would making the Maggies the only feed be fair?
Or is that just a sad dig?

just merge the 2 PL teams its the only way everyone is happy, you either got

situation a) they stay split up and one having the talent so the 'Pies are pissed off
situation b) you make them uneven and a mixture of players in the fg squad, then Sheens is pissed off, he is trying to work something with the club, and they wouldn't be co-operating
situation c) you merge them, under the name Wests Tigers like in first grade, made up of our 2nd best side, everything is equal.