Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jacin Sinclair

nqboy

Mr Saab said:
You wont know them if you are a teenager or dont follow your league that intensely
I know them, I just never rated them. To compare their's with Sinclair's talent is ridiculous.

Engine

Jacin Sinclair was extremely talented. He had his best days as a centre, however I reckon he could have been an awesome 5/8th judging by his Souths days.
He seemed to be a troubled man though. I was hoping he'd get it together, but he never did.
In the 90's, Souths had heaps of players with potential. Sadly, the longer a player stayed there, the worse they got.

* Craig Field (I know he turned out sh*t, but was great at Souths)
* Darrell Trindall (What a f**king waste...moving him to fullback, 5/8th totally stuffed him. Never knew where he was when he should have stayed at halfback).
* Tyran Smith (He was awesome in 1994, but never kicked on due to sh*t coaching).
* Dave Penna (He truly kicked on once he left Souths).

Ron Jeremy

Willie Peters, Garen Casey wouldn't even register a pimple on the arse compared to Jacin.

Jacin had great potential, i remember one game inparticular in 1992 he and Brian Smith ( former Union halfback) put on some of the best individual plays i'd seen in ages to setup a few tries.

He had a wonderful flick & able to draw two or three players then offload, he never had the pace of Gasnier, but Gasnier never had the ball skills of Jacin.

How his career f**ked up i'll never know.

Ron Jeremy

Somebody remind me what Willie Peters actually did? Jacin i'm pretty sure was 1992 rookie of the year, and his skill was for all to see. Willie Peters skill was never seen, just alledged.

Engine

How his career f**ked up i'll never know.[/quote]

His head mate.

Paul Mellor is another guy who never fulfilled his potential.

Ron Jeremy said:
Somebody remind me what Willie Peters actually did? Jacin i'm pretty sure was 1992 rookie of the year, and his skill was for all to see. Willie Peters skill was never seen, just alledged.

He didnt do much, but, thats not what this is about...it is about players that had "potential" but never lived up their "potential".

The Duneman brothers for example were very very fine schoolboy players, but in 1st grade they didnt do anything....potential, but not realised.

Luke Goodwin...he was talked up no end, but mentally he was not all there...as evidenced by blowing up deluxe at officials in a 7s tournament in 1992 or 93.

Muffdaddy

A player that has always annoyed me by not fulfilling his potential is Adam Dykes. I know he is a much maligned player, and not loved by many Sharks supporters, and hated by Parra supporters, but he was an absolute gun in his junior years.
My little bro played with him so I watched him play from u/6 right through to the 16's. He was easily the best player for his age, but when he reached grade at Cronulla he couldn't keep it up.

super_coach

Back to Sinclair,take it from me he had as much natrual talent as Benny Ellias and any other tiger ledgen olf the time.
great vision,great hands and brillant chip and chase,for a pretty big guy.On his day a match winner.
He did have a problem,the grey matter--no displine at all,would give a ref a gob full with a minute to go defending his line with a lead of one point.Would throw the big coat hanger and get marched at crucial times in big games.
So history will judge him as just another average player,but I saw him do things that Hanely,Marshall,Schofield,Ellias could do that other players couldnt.

Cockadoodledoo

Muffdaddy said:
A player that has always annoyed me by not fulfilling his potential is Adam Dykes. I know he is a much maligned player, and not loved by many Sharks supporters, and hated by Parra supporters, but he was an absolute gun in his junior years.
My little bro played with him so I watched him play from u/6 right through to the 16's. He was easily the best player for his age, but when he reached grade at Cronulla he couldn't keep it up.

The Sharks fans love Dykes..

Cockadoodledoo

Mr Saab said:
He didnt do much, but, thats not what this is about...it is about players that had "potential" but never lived up their "potential".

The Duneman brothers for example were very very fine schoolboy players, but in 1st grade they didnt do anything....potential, but not realised.

Luke Goodwin...he was talked up no end, but mentally he was not all there...as evidenced by blowing up deluxe at officials in a 7s tournament in 1992 or 93.

I think it's hard to say a player has heaps of potential based on what they do in Schoolboy footy.. Could of been performing against rubbish schoolboys.. The point people are making is that Sinclair when on song starred in First Grade and for a short while was doing it consistently. That is the sign of a player with talent..

Personally I never rated the Duneman brothers.. They looked mediocre in Grade football..

duneman... i keep forgotten we signed that dude... its a reoccuring pain i dont think will ever pass

borat

butchmcdick said:
I got the alan jones biography Jonestown for christmas and in it they talk of jones's high praise for jacin sinclair the former balmain and nsw centre.

I am not touching this one:lol:

Notell

Alan Jones has quite a history of getting involved with troubled sportsmen.
NEVER, however, has he actually "turned them around" to be a success.
So he has either a 100% failure in helping troubled sportsmen OR he is successful, but his motives / definition of success are not what everyone would think....

As for Sinclair, he did not live up to what his potential supposed he should, but even if he had, it is not as if he would have been a great player. Let us not forget too that being a great player does indeed encompass the qualities that Sinclair lacked (specifically, in between the ears and in the ticker department.) He was as deficient in the areas needed for success as a cripple in the more obvious departments.

Sinclair had the two of most magic pair of hands you would ever hope to see. Believe me you planks who think RL started in 2002. I watched Sinclair come up through the grades at Balmain. I have mates who went to school with him who watched himm at Balmain who also know that he could have been anything. They also hated him because he was a big time charlie at school and a bit of a dickhead.

He got a girl pregnant very young and I also have heard a story that he missed a kick in a GF for (i think) BAlmain Police Boys when 10 or 11 and his old man gave him an almighty gobful for missing the kick and costign his side. Old man was a hard taskmaster by the sounds

John Elias and Craig Carauna are 2 others that the parrot tried to help.

I sat down with a friend who knew and mixed with some of the boys he tried to help and let me just say that I don't need to read Jones town, I know more than enough about the bloke.