Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jackson Topine sues Bulldogs

So you think the coach is supposed to know how you will feel 2 hours after training somehow? Seems the big difference here in your examples is your own internal mental ability to cope with the work load as opposed to any external actions from others.

Plenty of players would feel the same sense of accomplishment and satisfaction by surviving the shark bait drill in question
and plenty wouldnt, and thats the whole point.
And yes knowing if your punishment is pushing someone too far is exactly what a coach should be capable of doing, thats his job and his responsibility.
It would seem the basis for this claim is that other players taking part knew it had gone too far yet the coach persisted with it. That is negligence. If thats how it happened.

These things are all still happening today mate. Do you actually read the newspapers?

So, your Woke cultural marxism revolution has not solved any of it

Nor has any of those things got anything to do with being "Woke".

Maybe if Jackson turned up to training on time, like a professional, he would enjoy the luxury of not having to wrestle a couple of extra blokes at wrestling practice, when every other player is wrestling at the same time anyway.
Point being not that it still happens, rather its acceptability of it happening.
We should all strive to be woke. It sounds like a great place for society to be at:

'having or marked by an active awareness of systemic injustices and prejudices,'

Sounds like a state any decent human being would aim for.

Penrith fan

Point being not that it still happens, rather its acceptability of it happening.
We should all strive to be woke. It sounds like a great place for society to be at:

'having or marked by an active awareness of systemic injustices and prejudices,'

Sounds like a state any decent human being would aim for.
no it isn't; its a lie.

It's a lie that makes everyone a victim and means no one takes responsibility for anything.

This is a prime example.

Jackson turned up late for training. Some punishment should be installed.

Else, everyone turns up late for training.

Jackson was made to wrestle a couple more players than everyone else.

Jackson sooks.

Who is wrong or right?

There is no way of knowing.

Thats the problem with "Wokeism"

Everyone is a victim from their own perspective.

The coach is a victim of turning up to training and not having his players there and engaged which is the minimum that you should do as a professional!

Jackson is a victim of having the punishment put on him!

Everyone is a victim.

Rather than hardening up and solving your own problems.

Frailty

no it isn't its a lie.

It's a lie that makes everyone a victim and means no one takes responsibility for anything.

This is a prime example.

Jackson sooks.

Who is wrong or right?

The coach is a victim of turning up to training and not having his players there and engaged which is the minimum that you should do as a professional!

Everyone is a victim.

I know you're probably a troll but the issue isn't being punished for turning up late to training FFS.

The game has never been harder on the body, the training has never been supported by more knowledge about how to get peak performance, and yet we have hard-headed fools like you calling players soft.

Penrith fan

Reread what I wrote because what you have written is the exact opposite of what I wrote.

It's an ego thing with both Jackson and the coach.

It has nothing to do with physicality.

Jackson felt embarrassed by doing extra wrestling.

But that was not the message that the coach was trying to send.

The coach was trying to tell every other player not to be late to training and using Jackson as an example because he was late for training.

The next day Jackson was physically fine.

People need to haden up mentally rather than playing the victim all the time.

no it isn't its a lie.

This is a prime example.

Jackson sooks.

Who is wrong or right?

Everyone is a victim.

Again the claim is not that there was a consequence for mistakenly being 10mins late for work. Its is was that punishment reasonable and did the coach make the punishment damaging and continued it after the player clearly had had enough to the point it has caused significant harm? That's what a court will decide, if it ever gets there.

Penrith fan

sigh, if only people would toughen up we wouldnt need to spend money on mental health services.
The 70's called and would like you back.
This is hardly a mental health issue.

It's a misunderstanding between two people who have a different opinion.

Everything is a mental health issue with you "Wokes" and that diminishes the issues of people with REAL mental health issues.

Game_Breaker

I miss the days before woke, gender fluid, snowflakes took over. The days when choirboys could be sodimised, women date raped for wearing short skirts, bashing ya missus for lukewarm meat and three veg, bashing some queer fella down the park, king hitting some flog who didn’t buga up about my second hand smoke, taking kids off unwed mums, bastardising new recruits in any form of work or belittling and humiliating a team mate because they didn’t want to partake in any of these practices or wouldn’t sink a dozen schooners after training.
Yep rites of passage and the Aussie way of life here is being eroded by soft merkins like this Toowhiney bloke.

If you can’t argue your point just say so
No need for the false equivalencies

Danish

and plenty wouldnt, and thats the whole point.
And yes knowing if your punishment is pushing someone too far is exactly what a coach should be capable of doing, thats his job and his responsibility.
It would seem the basis for this claim is that other players taking part knew it had gone too far yet the coach persisted with it. That is negligence. If thats how it happened.

The punishment is SUPPOSED to push weak people too far. That is its entire purpose. Strong people will endure it, weak will not and quit.

the punishment did its job weeding out a weak individual who is no longer in their squad. Their squad is also looking much better this year too

Vlad59

The punishment is SUPPOSED to push weak people too far. That is its entire purpose. Strong people will endure it, weak will not and quit.

the punishment did its job weeding out a weak individual who is no longer in their squad. Their squad is also looking much better this year too
Topine played junior football in Perth. That’s why wanker brain is defending him.

Penrith fan

It used to be that two men would agree to disagree and have a bevy together.

Now, with everything on social media, and "Woke" ideology, there is very little tolerance at all.

Everyone is a Troll or has mental health issues.

We are all human.

With complex back stories.

err, yes, yes!!!

Unless both the punisher and the punishee agree to the punishment than there is a disagreement as to it's fairness.

Then isn't it very lucky that if it ever comes down to a formal dispute about it, the arbiters of fairness are neither of the parties involved....and congrats on discovering the idea of bias.

No it isnt, its to help them learn a lesson. If the punishment was unreasonable and beyond what should have happened a court will now decide, if it gets there.
Breaking them to the point they feel they can no longer play isnt helping anyone. This kid had talent, was an Australian schoolboy, Bulldogs reserve grade player of year and juts breaking into first grade. Doesnt sound 'weak' to me.

This is hardly a mental health issue.

It's a misunderstanding between two people who have a different opinion.

Everything is a mental health issue with you "Wokes" and that diminishes the issues of people with REAL mental health issues.

And I suppose people like you are the arbiter of what constitutes a real mental health issue.

If I put "School of Hard Knocks" against my FB profile, do I get to decide what real mental health issues look like?

Chins get the wins

No it isnt, its to help them learn a lesson. If the punishment was unreasonable and beyond what should have happened a court will now decide, if it gets there.
Breaking them to the point they feel they can no longer play isnt helping anyone. This kid had talent, was an Australian schoolboy, Bulldogs reserve grade player of year and juts breaking into first grade. Doesnt sound 'weak' to me.
You know f**k all about what it takes to be elite at something