Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jamie Soward: Don't call me 'coward'

BRILLIANT, emotional, controversial. You either love or loathe Jamie Soward.

Today, Soward gives a rare insight into his private life during this exclusive interview.

He discusses being called a "coward" by fans, saying: "When I get called names like 'coward' it doesn't sit well. I have to tackles guys like Sonny Bill Williams and Sam Burgess. These guys are 115kg, 120kg. I am 90kg. I am giving away 30kg every week.

"It is easy for those that haven't played the game to sit there and say, 'Jamie Soward didn't have a go.' Well, Jamie Soward has a go by putting on the jumper and walking out there. In my books, he has already had a go."

Bulldog: Jamie, some people don't like your on-field emotions.

Soward: I'll let it all hang out. I am an emotional person. I know I can't play 10-out-of-10 every week. Not many players do, but I will be there trying my guts out and come off the field with nothing in the tank. I know then I respected those people that have paid money to come out and watch me play.

Bulldog: Despite the criticism, Jamie, no one could ever accuse you of not wearing your heart on your sleeve.

Soward: Basically, I don't care what those people think. I seem to get hammered every now and then in the press. Every week I go out there and try and tackle these guys who are getting bigger and bigger for me, who is a little fellow. I have to do stuff other people wouldn't do. I don't say that to sound like I am having a go at people. It takes a lot of courage just to play the game. When I get called names like 'coward' and stuff like that, it doesn't sit well. I have to tackle guys like Sonny Bill Williams and Sam Burgess. These guys are 115kg, 120kg. I am 90kg. I am giving away 30kg every week.

Bulldog: I guess there is nothing cowardly about taking on a bloke 30kg heavier than you?

Soward: That's right.

Bulldog: Does the criticism hurt you?

Soward: It does when not many people hear my side of the story. I am an emotional person, I think we understand that. Sometimes in life we have to learn from what we do. I'm not perfect. I have said and done things I'm not proud of but I have learnt from that. I have always made sure I have apologised if I was to say something wrong in the media. I was open to having a chat with you because people don't get my side of the story.

Bulldog: Do people know the real Jamie Soward?

Soward: No, and I don't really care if they don't. My family, friends and teammates know the real Jamie Soward. That is why you will never hear them come out (and be critical) because they know what I am like behind the scenes. It doesn't worry me.

Bulldog: Jamie, do you think people focus more on your emotions than your football ability?

Soward: You're right. If you listen to everything that has gone on you'd think I have never played a game in my life. Premierships, Origins, 150-odd games, big games, semi-finals. I must be doing something right to keep getting picked and playing those games. I have been coached by the greatest coach in history (Wayne Bennett). He saw something in me and is a pretty good judge.

Bulldog: You have a love-hate relationship with the media.

Soward: I am interested in getting into the media when I finish. I love all sports and have an opinion on most things that come up. In saying that, when I get criticised I don't get a chance to reply. You guys (media) probably find me a bit prickly and hard to deal with. I probably have my defences up because I was targeted early in my career. If you poke it long enough it's going to bite back. The couple of times I have bitten back and not handled it the best way, I have been hammered.

Bulldog: The NRL is so sanitised these days, I actually find it refreshing for a player to show his character and personality.

Soward: It's a tough one. We have this massive TV deal and everyone is crying out for players to do more media. But when you speak your mind, you get hammered for it. That turns me off the media. It is easy for those that haven't played the game to sit there and say, "Jamie Soward didn't have a go." Well, Jamie Soward has a go by putting on the jumper and walking out there. In my books, he has already had a go. He might have played the worst but he has already had a go.

Bulldog: You have a game this Monday night against Manly, on and off the field.

Soward: We also have an off-field promotion we are trying to bring in like baseball. If I or another player kicks a ball into the crowd from a penalty, then they get to keep the ball. It's something out of the box. We need to try to grow into a world game, not just NSW and Queensland.

JAMIE Soward has spoken of his disappointment at being left out of speculation surrounding the NSW five-eighth position. He also reveals why he quit Saints for a four-year stint at Penrith.

Bulldog: Are you disappointed your name hasn't come up in regards to Origin, given you were the NSW five-eighth just two years ago.

Soward: Yes, I'm not going to lie to you. But I'm not going to lose sleep over it. That's footy, mate. It can turn around real quick. Sometimes it's easy when you are the flavour of the month and your team is playing well. It is easy to push your selection claims when you are in the paper after a couple of good wins. If I play well enough they will pick me. If they don't pick me, I won't lose any sleep over it.

Bulldog: No matter what happens, they can't take away your NSW jumpers.

Soward: Yeah, that's right. A lot of people out there aren't Jamie Soward fans but I have played for NSW, won a premiership and World Club Challenge. I would have settled for that a long time ago. I have done some things in the game that I am very proud of and I think I have represented myself pretty well.

Bulldog: Was it tough to leave the Dragons?

Soward: Yes and no. At the end of the day, everyone realises you don't get a long time in rugby league to make the most of every opportunity you get so, for me, it was tough to leave my mates and the fans but to get four years with a young, up-and-coming roster out at Penrith is exciting.

Bulldog: How did Ivan Cleary and Phil Gould lure you out west?

Soward: I have known Gus for a long time now, we worked together at the Roosters and there has always been a mutual respect there. I have also worked with Ivan, they are two great people. Once this year is settled, and hopefully we get into the top eight and finish the year on the right note, then I will look forward to getting out there and working with those two.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...t-call-me-coward/story-e6frexpr-1226631822462

stg666

good luck in the future jamie . i for one , have enjoyed watching you play while at the greatest club in the world .

TheRev

- Yep I love all the emotion... fires up the team/fans
- Hes not the same player of 2009/2010 when he broke the line repeatedly, and I also think he has suffered with ageing halfbacks, imagine him next to JT/Reynolds or some other genuine halfback?
- Definitely has not answered the real reasons he has left the club, but it has to be that way, I 1000% agree with what he says that the media is a lie, slightest reveal of anything and its some hack frontline story.

Elias1983

Soward says he wasn't wanted by Dragons

By Steve Jancetic
AAP
Tue 30th April, 2:03pm

32882_20_1.jpg

Jamie Soward says he wasn't wanted by the Dragons.

Departing St George Illawarra five-eighth Jamie Soward has opened up about his move to Penrith, claiming he was so unwanted by the Dragons that he had little option but to take the Panthers' offer.

Excited about the prospect of joining the Panthers on a four-year deal starting in 2014, it was obvious the premiership-winning pivot was still hurting from being snubbed by the Dragons.

"That will probably all come out at the end of the year how it all went down," Soward said ahead of Monday night's clash against Manly.

"I'll get four years at Penrith. I get to work with Gus Gould and Ivan Cleary and their youngsters out there.

"That's security for me and I wasn't going to get that here.

"At the end of the day you've got to go where you're wanted. You've got to go where you can contribute something."

Attempts by Soward's management to negotiate a new deal with the Dragons earlier this year failed to even get off the ground.

His manager Sam Ayoub was told by Dragons officials on a number of occasions they were interested in Soward, but when he got wind that the club was chasing rival five-eighths, Ayoub had to act in his client's best interests.

He canvassed rival NRL clubs to see if any were keen on the former NSW Origin playmaker.
When he told the club of the Panthers offer, the Dragons said they could not move on contract negotiations until the coaching situation has been resolved.

Yet just days after Soward announced his departure, the Dragons revealed the signing of Melbourne five-eighth Gareth Widdop.

While the bitterness is evident, Soward said he is determined to move on from the saga and end his time at the Dragons on a bright note.

"Last week was pretty draining. (To) tell a lot of people that I care about that I was moving on," Soward said.

"That wasn't easy and it proved pretty tiring.
"I'm happy I got that out of the way now and I can have a good long rest this week. Make sure I train well and get everything ready for Monday night."

http://www.nrl.com/soward-says-he-wasnt-wanted-by-dragons/tabid/10874/newsid/71987/default.aspx

Blood Shot Eyes

good luck in the future jamie . i for one , have enjoyed watching you play while at the greatest club in the world .

Me to....still would like see him take the line on a bit more...will be interesting to see if he does under Cleary and Gould (although probably not as Gus loves his kicking game)......then again he didn't take the line on much under Bennett either, just not his style I guess.

dragonv

I don't understand the hate for Jamie and people saying he is not going to try anymore. While I am happy to see Soward and Fien move on I can't believe how critical and nasty Dragons fans can be no matter how awful they may be playing, especially given that they helped win us a premiership.

TheRev

"That will probably all come out at the end of the year how it all went down," Soward said

Thats the big I find most interesting, the word on forums all year has been that Soward was not necessarily told he wasnt wanted, but they werent renewing his contract either (virtually the same thing), which seems logical looking at how many halves and 5/8's they courted.

Soward was stood down last year for disciplinary reasons, I dont know whether they have continued to be a problem, but I get the feeling Sowie needed a fresh start at a new club, its not a criticism of him, it happens sometimes for any of us at a job for too long, new boss comes in, butting heads on strategy... get a bit complacent.

This could be exactly what he needs, maybe even a fresh think on his running game that has gone missing for the last 2-3 seasons.

jenninga

Thats the big I find most interesting, the word on forums all year has been that Soward was not necessarily told he wasnt wanted, but they werent renewing his contract either (virtually the same thing), which seems logical looking at how many halves and 5/8's they courted.

Soward was stood down last year for disciplinary reasons, I dont know whether they have continued to be a problem, but I get the feeling Sowie needed a fresh start at a new club, its not a criticism of him, it happens sometimes for any of us at a job for too long, new boss comes in, butting heads on strategy... get a bit complacent.

This could be exactly what he needs, maybe even a fresh think on his running game that has gone missing for the last 2-3 seasons.
Agree,it's a good decision all round.We need a different direction and so does Soward.
His whinge that the Dragons didn't want him is a bit strange this time of the year,it p*ssed me off a bit as we did pick him off the Roosters scapheap and he became a premiership and Origin player in doing so,so in reality he should show gratitude to the club and not be selfish.

Mr Red

I guess the Feud between him and Price might get some mention after the season ends...

http://www.nrl.com/soward-says-he-wasnt-wanted-by-dragons/tabid/10874/newsid/71987/default.aspx

Departing St George Illawarra five-eighth Jamie Soward has opened up about his move to Penrith, claiming he was so unwanted by the Dragons that he had little option but to take the Panthers' offer.
Excited about the prospect of joining the Panthers on a four-year deal starting in 2014, it was obvious the premiership-winning pivot was still hurting from being snubbed by the Dragons.
"That will probably all come out at the end of the year how it all went down," Soward said ahead of Monday night's clash against Manly.
"I'll get four years at Penrith. I get to work with Gus Gould and Ivan Cleary and their youngsters out there.
"That's security for me and I wasn't going to get that here.
"At the end of the day you've got to go where you're wanted. You've got to go where you can contribute something."
Attempts by Soward's management to negotiate a new deal with the Dragons earlier this year failed to even get off the ground.
His manager Sam Ayoub was told by Dragons officials on a number of occasions they were interested in Soward, but when he got wind that the club was chasing rival five-eighths, Ayoub had to act in his client's best interests.
He canvassed rival NRL clubs to see if any were keen on the former NSW Origin playmaker.
When he told the club of the Panthers offer, the Dragons said they could not move on contract negotiations until the coaching situation has been resolved.
Yet just days after Soward announced his departure, the Dragons revealed the signing of Melbourne five-eighth Gareth Widdop.
While the bitterness is evident, Soward said he is determined to move on from the saga and end his time at the Dragons on a bright note.
"Last week was pretty draining. (To) tell a lot of people that I care about that I was moving on," Soward said.
"That wasn't easy and it proved pretty tiring.
"I'm happy I got that out of the way now and I can have a good long rest this week. Make sure I train well and get everything ready for Monday night."

Mr Red

there was simply no room for both Price and Soward at the one club, the relationship has broken down and has been bad since way back when Price was still running the water bottle.
The board made the decision to keep Price and remove Soward, time will tell if its the right move.

Slippery Morris

there was simply no room for both Price and Soward at the one club, the relationship has broken down and has been bad since way back when Price was still running the water bottle.
The board made the decision to keep Price and remove Soward, time will tell if its the right move.

Then Price should not pick Soward going forward and move on with a new half if he hates him that much. If it was Bennett he would drop him like he did to Hodges. It's not as if he is in top form at the moment. Maybe when Rangi joins he may. Time will tell.

I hear that Soward is going to open up at the end of the season about what has happened at Saints and why he had to go. He is going to have a huge dig at the club. If so then again why pick the guy. Obviously he is dirty about the club so why would he go out and perform to his best for the club?

LOYAL DRAGON

Soward at times looked like he didn't even want to be at the place, just look at how he warmed up at games by himself at times and the way he spits the dummy and blaming everyone else for things going wrong etc, not wanting to shakes with opposition at times etc, time to move on.
I reckon to a degree was probably told off by his own playing group.

jenninga

Then Price should not pick Soward going forward and move on with a new half if he hates him that much. If it was Bennett he would drop him like he did to Hodges. It's not as if he is in top form at the moment. Maybe when Rangi joins he may. Time will tell.

I hear that Soward is going to open up at the end of the season about what has happened at Saints and why he had to go. He is going to have a huge dig at the club. If so then again why pick the guy. Obviously he is dirty about the club so why would he go out and perform to his best for the club?
If he does spill beans about the club then he is a selfish pr*ck.As i said previously we signed him at a time where he was in limbo at the Rooters and gave him an oportunity to have the profile he has today.
The Panthers are the real losers here as they have signed a spoiled brat.A professional sportsman should perform the best they can whether they are happy or not. That is what they are paid to do,good riddance Jamie if you take that attitude.