Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jason Smith to the Roosters

Why would Jason Smith give up England where the play is slower and softer and the pay is higher to come and have a run around with the Roosters?

They don't need him... unless they are scared that their main reliable experienced playmaker won't make it through the season. Could this rumour have started as a result of concerns over Fittler's health?

Paranoid

Misty Bee said:
Paranoid said:
The roosters have turned to the dark side .

I'm not sure that that is true. Canterbury, yes. Manly, despite being piss poor, they live there. No sympathy should EVER be had for Manly. The Chooks? Dunno. They havent resorted to blatant cheating to beat us in a big game yet.

This isn't a post about the roosters, but without really thinking about it:

- Using the "flop" as a tactic to win the premiership and afterwards it being decided to be policed more stringently Ref's boss Finch (who's son plays for ?) after other clubs declared they would start doing it.
- Stealing Walker from Souths (at least he cost em a grand final) :lol:
- Stealing Mal Kaufusi from Manly after they went to all the trouble of getting him back in the country, even though they we pushing the salary cap.
- Wing being over the salary cap, even though it was reported 4 weeks prior to the 02 finals by Roy Masters but was hushed, and then getting lousy fine 2 months after the GF. BTW, which club did the current NRL salary cap auditor Ian Schubert play for ?
- Ricky Stuart crying about everything and everyone not rooster related.
- Representative positions earned cause of Phil Gould rooster influence, while more deserving players miss out.
- That stupid hair care commercial; like we didn't know how much pretty boys they were before.
- Chris Walker, Justin Hodges, Shannon Hegerty, Michael Crocker; 4 of the dirtiest player in the game, yet seem to get away with blue murder.

Are these not signs of a club turning to the darkside, like manly once did ?

I don't care if they don't rort Parra directly, not sure how any of the above is good for the game.

(Sh!t, didn't realise I wrote so much, imagine I thought about it).

Hair Care commercials are one way to boost the income, that could be construed not to come out of the salary cap.

This is what can happen when you hang around with cross dressers.

I could just see Killer and Hindy doing commercials, not sure if it would be for women's products though.

Any way..................I'm off to the chooks site to give it to 'em.

Yet another piece of evidence that Misty is living in the past with no idea about how things work in the modern world, and another cross that adds weight to the correct presumption that anything she says should be outright ignored due to blatant igorance of the reality and not the one that existed 2 decades ago.

Wake up and smell the roses, Misty. It's 2003, soon to be 2004. We do not live in the 80s anymore. Do yourself a favour and go buy a whole stack of tapes and watch them over and over as you suck down some valium and whisk yourself back to the good ol days...........

Colonel Eel said:
Actually there is a good thread in the Rorters Forum at the moment headed "The Wall has a go at its own......"

The best they could come up with was pretty poor actually.

If you want to give it to them the moderators are about all thats having a go.

Colonel, that was a pretty good call regarding Steve Crouch.

I feel it was a tad harsh however..... Crouchie is a good bloke and we have had a few good conversations. It seems they have no comeback for it though.

Misty Bee

Paranoid said:
Misty Bee said:
Paranoid said:
The roosters have turned to the dark side .

I'm not sure that that is true. Canterbury, yes. Manly, despite being piss poor, they live there. No sympathy should EVER be had for Manly. The Chooks? Dunno. They havent resorted to blatant cheating to beat us in a big game yet.

This isn't a post about the roosters, but without really thinking about it:

- Using the "flop" as a tactic to win the premiership and afterwards it being decided to be policed more stringently Ref's boss Finch (who's son plays for ?) after other clubs declared they would start doing it.

The flop didn't win 'em the premiership. And Finches son played for Canberra when it was an issue.

Walker left before he signed with the Chooks.

- Stealing Mal Kaufusi from Manly after they went to all the trouble of getting him back in the country, even though they we pushing the salary cap.

After Manly released him. Besides, Manly should NEVER cmplain about that. Hmmm, Ken Irvine, Goldie Walker, Les Boyd, Steve Knight, Joe Cool Dorahy, ray Brown, Don McKinon so on so forth.....

- Wing being over the salary cap, even though it was reported 4 weeks prior to the 02 finals by Roy Masters but was hushed, and then getting lousy fine 2 months after the GF. BTW, which club did the current NRL salary cap auditor Ian Schubert play for ?

Shoey played most of his career with Wests

Like Wayne Bennett

- Representative positions earned cause of Phil Gould rooster influence, while more deserving players miss out.

Liek Wayne Bennet, chris Anderson, Bob Fulton.....

- That stupid hair care commercial; like we didn't know how much pretty boys they were before.

Yep, hair care commercials are a sure signof a club rorting the code.

- Chris Walker, Justin Hodges, Shannon Hegerty, Michael Crocker; 4 of the dirtiest player in the game, yet seem to get away with blue murder.
Tallis?Gee? Anyone?

Are these not signs of a club turning to the darkside, like manly once did ?

I don't care if they don't rort Parra directly, not sure how any of the above is good for the game.

Neither am I, but they still fall far short of the evils of Manly and Canterbury.

As for Hollywood, queen of the desert, if he's anti chooks then they must be champions!

Redback71

i hope its not true how could he play for anyone but us
but knowing our management they probably want even make him an offer

Paranoid

The flop didn't win 'em the premiership. And Finches son played for Canberra when it was an issue.
Of course it didn't. All the other coaches were complaining about nothing I suppose and its now heavily penalised cause it gives no advanatage at all.

Walker left before he signed with the Chooks.
Let me guess, when he left he had no idea where he was going and was considering retiring from football. Poor bloke. :-({|=

After Manly released him. Besides, Manly should NEVER cmplain about that. Hmmm, Ken Irvine, Goldie Walker, Les Boyd, Steve Knight, Joe Cool Dorahy, ray Brown, Don McKinon so on so forth.....

He wasn't released ! Let me guess Manly went through all the red tape of getting him back in the country just to release him. :?:
Kaufusi himself stated he was approached by a rooster's representative at the airport when he arrived ! There were also some rather strong statements coming from the Manly club that day for a "released" player.

Shoey played most of his career with Wests

He also played for Easts. I must say I don't think he has done anything wrong in his role. The cheats pulled the wool over his eyes and who is to say one of the clubs he has been invovled in the past hasn't done the same. Roy Masters (hushed) statements don't make him look good though.

Like Wayne Bennett

Wayne Bennett is certainly a sook, but Stuart leaves him for dead. He even cries when they win by a big margin.

Liek Wayne Bennet, chris Anderson, Bob Fulton.....

Yes, exactly the same. But at least they were club coaches, as well as State/National coaches.

Yep, hair care commercials are a sure signof a club rorting the code.

At least we agree on that one.

Tallis?Gee? Anyone?

4 of the dirtiest, I didn't say thay were the only ones. To me its always more noticable when its a dirty three-quater instead of a forward and they got 3 of them.

Misty Bee, You must really have a soft spot for the roosters - you defend them better even than their own fans and you don't seem to have a problem with anything they have done in the Stuart years. Or maybe you are just stuck in past. Probably a combination of both.

Get Well Soon.

If you visit their site you will read about how many players that they are going to loose at the end of 2004, due to contracts that will expire, and the fact that many of them can now justify big bucks.

They are saying that the salary cap should be increased, because they are being penalised for being so good.

The NRL have deceided to review the salary cap situation at the end of the 2004 season.

It still will not be big enough for them to keep their players.

But then again, they will probably do some more commercials for some other company that Packer owns and find some way around it.

Misty Bee

Bloody oath Manly released Kafusi. As soon as they found out was an illegal immigrant, the contract was ripped up. Then ,when overseas, the battle started to get him back in.Easts beat them to the punch.

If Parra had signed Kafusi, we wouldn't be sitting here saying "geez, we did the wrong thing by Manly, didn't we!"

Re Walker, he did a Tallis,except that Souths were glad to get rid of him. Saints wanted to keep Tallis, but he sat out his contract like a petulent child. But Brisbane are OK?

Paranoid

Misty Bee said:
If Parra had signed Kafusi, we wouldn't be sitting here saying "geez, we did the wrong thing by Manly, didn't we!"

No, I wouldn't say we did the wrong thing, but then again I'm a Parra supporter and will generally defend my club way before the others.

Don't know why you've focused on this point from all those above ! So you are telling me the reason Kafusi returned to Australia was the all the Roosters doing ?

Actually I take the question back, you obviously have no problem with the roosters (cause they are all top blokes and haven't done anything dodgy :roll: ) and as a fellow Parra supporter I'll accept that even though I don't agree with it. There's no point getting into this cause neither of us are gonna change the others minds, so we are just wasting time.

Cheers :)

Misty Bee said:
Bloody oath Manly released Kafusi. As soon as they found out was an illegal immigrant, the contract was ripped up. Then ,when overseas, the battle started to get him back in.Easts beat them to the punch.

Actually Misty, you will find that he was released only because he had overstayed the visa he had entered the country on. He was not an illegal immigrant at all. His wife and child are both Australian citizens and Manly sponsored him to return to Australia. He had not signed a new contract with Manly when surprise surprise the Roosters slipped in with a contract to have him play with them.

They did a similar thing with Willie Bishop - they whisked him away before the Warriors played one of the pool matches or the semi finals at the Seven's and signed him behind closed doors at the SFS.

ozzie

Colonel Eel said:
Actually there is a good thread in the Rorters Forum at the moment headed "The Wall has a go at its own......"

seems funny because your jokes in their were ordinary and you didn't like us telling you about solamano and widders, russo , green

now who's the joke??

Thanks for Cayless and Robinson - they play the ears of the guys you bought of us...

ozzie

Colonel Eel said:
Misty Bee said:

Actually Misty, you will find that he was released only because he had overstayed the visa he had entered the country on. He was not an illegal immigrant at all. His wife and child are both Australian citizens and Manly sponsored him to return to Australia. He had not signed a new contract with Manly when surprise surprise the Roosters slipped in with a contract to have him play with them.

They did a similar thing with Willie Bishop - they whisked him away before the Warriors played one of the pool matches or the semi finals at the Seven's and signed him behind closed doors at the SFS.

the truth on this one is Manly couldn't afford to buy him ony for a pitttance....the manager went looking for another club - but don't let the truth get in the way of a good story

ozzie said:
Colonel Eel said:

seems funny because your jokes in their were ordinary and you didn't like us telling you about solamano and widders, russo , green

now who's the joke??

Thanks for Cayless and Robinson - they play the ears of the guys you bought of us...

Cayless maybe...... Robinson's still a nuffie like he was when he left.

BTW, we took Solomona off your hands because the managemnt were to busy with Freddie to notice. As for Green and Russo - never thought we did a good deal on them anyway so the whole point of them as a joke was a loss - we got rid of them. Your never mentioned Widders originally - if I remember rightly there was a huge stink he had left - part of the reason Graham Murray was flicked for Stuart wasn't it?

ozzie

no - again you got it wrong - there wasn't stink when he left - the stink was the way Murray coached - I might have left out Widders but he has turned into a superstar - not...

Oh I should also add - you guys have to realise there are two salary caps - one for the premiers side and one for the top 20 odd players...I can't remember what the salary cap for premier league is - i believe it is $250,000 maybe more. When some players like Bishop signed and Kafosi they would have come under that salary cap and not the NRL salary cap..

Where is Russo - where is green....where is Solomano - quiet frankly they were all bench players and went backwards with your great eels side that made the semi finals last year...oh thats right you missed!!

ozzie said:
Oh I should also add - you guys have to realise there are two salary caps - one for the premiers side and one for the top 20 odd players...I can't remember what the salary cap for premier league is - i believe it is $250,000 maybe more. When some players like Bishop signed and Kafosi they would have come under that salary cap and not the NRL salary cap..

Never mentioned anything about your salary cap ...... I know how thin skinned you and the rest of the Rooster supporters are about that. Never said that Bishop and Kaufusi came in under the NRL cap anyways - just the way you got them. Kaufusi was shopped around however Bishop wasn't ...... Warriors were none to pleased.

BTW, I never disagreed with the fact that Russo, Widders and Green were fanatstic buys by our club - mind you wouldn't say that Crouch adds much to yours either. Quite the opposite actually. Widders is a fair player but the other two well..... As for Solomona, don't disagree that the club wasted his talents however the changes in the play the ball have seen him get passed by. Same probably would have happened if he stayed with your club.

ozzie

Colonel Eel said:
ozzie said:

Never mentioned anything about your salary cap ...... I know how thin skinned you and the rest of the Rooster supporters are about that. Never said that Bishop and Kaufusi came in under the NRL cap anyways - just the way you got them. Kaufusi was shopped around however Bishop wasn't ...... Warriors were none to pleased.

BTW, I never disagreed with the fact that Russo, Widders and Green were fanatstic buys by our club - mind you wouldn't say that Crouch adds much to yours either. Quite the opposite actually. Widders is a fair player but the other two well..... As for Solomona, don't disagree that the club wasted his talents however the changes in the play the ball have seen him get passed by. Same probably would have happened if he stayed with your club.

guys is plural - have a look at the start of the thread - salarycap accountancy etc...some of you in here as thin skinned as an eel can get...

Also check with the Warriors - he wasn't even graded..so another arguement shot... Solomana was only a bench player with us couldn't run for more than 10 minutes - hopelssly out of fitness. never improved with you guys either - just a bench player

Well Colonel........looks like you've ruffled this chooks feathers.

Well done.