Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jason Taylor Sacked!!

Hanscholo

Pretty clearly a sign that they wanted rid of him anyway. They took the opportunity to do so. The incident and the previous one are nothing compared to what some of the great coaches in the past have been up to. Phill Gould had a fist fight with mark Geyer at half time ffs.

Bluebags1908

There's probably more to it that what we know about, but from what I've read in the papers this is a joke.

It's all well and good for Shane Richardson to say that they need to uphold the reputation of the club and the image of the club for sponsors
- and I 100% agree with that - but, at the same time there needs to be natural justice for anyone who is allegedly got into any trouble. You can't just sack innocent people just to make the club look good and appear to take the moral high ground just because it creates a bad few newspaper headlines.

And Russell Crowe has had a colourful history with incidents in the past. A classic case of 'do as I say, not as I do'.

I'm surprised George "rent a quote" Piggins hasn't been quoted in the papers yet. Whenever there is any trouble at Souths the media usually stick a microphone under his nose as he is usually not short of a word.

Apparently Taylor was already warned previously of playing up on a trip to New Zealand. Not sure what happened there, but if he is innocent in this latest incident then the first warning is irrelevant because he hasn't done anything wrong at Forrester's last week.

I reckon they wanted to get rid of him anyway but didn't want to pay him out, so this was their convenient excuse.

PS - John Lang is a pretty good choice to step in as coach. Very experienced and has a good record at Penrith and Cronulla.

Ike E Bear

It seems to me that the crux of Taylor's defence is that he wasn't intoxicated and that the statement of bar staff proves it. Of course, if they admitted that he was intoxicated and that they served him anyway then they are basically incriminating themselves, right?

The point is that his job became untenable. Could Taylor really expect to effectively coach that team after being smacked by a player? This wasn't Nathan Brown slapping Trent Barrett, this is akin to Barrett punching Brown in the melon.

The only evidence JT would need would be for Fa'alogo to clear him of any wrong doing. If Frog came out and said, "JT didn't really do anything wrong, I just overreacted." then that'd put a fork in it.

Instead we have reports that he gave Taylor a warning to "not do that again" as the coach was assisted out, and a statement from David saying that he takes personal responsibility for his own mistakes ... which is very different to taking responsibility for the whole incident.

Footy Show interviews are about as tough as tissue paper. I would have much rathered heard from Fa'alogo than Taylor in such an interview.

I hope Taylor ends up doing well somewhere else. Someone mentioned his comments to Hagan earlier in the thread, but I don't think he has anything to be ashamed of based on those ... as an Eels fan, I think he was spot on.

jasontaylor_narrowweb__300x400,0.jpg

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/lhqnews/i-could-be-dead-taylor/2009/09/19/1253209040088.html?page=2

Looks like Souths and Fa'alongo have a hell of a battle ahead.

And if that is how they treat a contracted employee - even one they want to get rid of - it absolutely stinks. This club is rotten.

Ridders

That looks aweful. What still irks me is that Taylor essentially gets sacked for getting knocked out. If Fa'alogo doesn't act in a thug-like manner, Souths have no reason for sacking him.

Now obviously Souths always planned to can him from the moment they brought Lang in, but jeez at least be fair dinkum about it.

ironhorse

That looks aweful. What still irks me is that Taylor essentially gets sacked for getting knocked out. If Fa'alogo doesn't act in a thug-like manner, Souths have no reason for sacking him.

Now obviously Souths always planned to can him from the moment they brought Lang in, but jeez at least be fair dinkum about it.

yea well said that's exactly what i think .

voltron

anyone been listening to the interviews on 2sm and on triple M
the triple M one is available for download i believe
not sure about the 2sm (doubt it they arent that technologically advanced)

i feel sorry for the bloke, i can understand that the board thought he had been lying to them
but u cant help but feel that he's been pretty hard done by
it looks like there were looking for a reason to get rid of him and found one
especially how by the book they tried to do it from the outset.
as soon as it went that way, you knew he was going to get sacked.

When I saw that photo of Taylor this morning I thought it is an image that will be used time and time again by people who want to rubbish the NRL. I can just see it all over the Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth and Tassie papers to demonstrate that thugby is indeed a game for thugs.

It is a very powerful image, and not a good one for the game. As damaging as any of the stories this year.