Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jim Beam Cup to expand

SalfordRedsWA said:
Thats pathetic. Let union over take again.

Care to expand?? You must be havin' a laugh if you think that because the JBC will be nine team that all of a sudden the people of NSW will suddenly think that *nion is a far better game and will all of a sudden start popping down to TG Milnor (spelling?) to see the Woodies play the Beastie of Woolarah????
They may think like that in Salford, but here in Sydney we know what good footy is, be it one team or ten teams in the comp.
Anyway, it's a pointless exercise as there are about a dozen people who really care about the JBC.

2 True Blues

He's in Western Australia mate. That should sum it up. They only found out there was another game apart from AFL last week anyway....LOL........

girvie

Rugby League Review – Peter Roberts

Woy Woy pull out of the Jim Beam Cup

The Woy Woy Roosters have pulled out of the 2006 Jim Beam Cup after they won just one game this season.

The Roosters were hoping to promote many of the Under 19s players to the Jim Beam Cup but no less than eight of them have been snapped up by NRL clubs. Woy Woy will continue to field a side in the Central Coast competition.

That leaves just nine teams for season 2006 with Jim Beam Cup Chairman Bob Millward optimistic that another club will be joining the competition.

“We still have a few options and we are talking to some clubs at the moment. We can’t reveal who they are but we might have a surprise in the near future,” said Millward.

The Jim Beam Cup clubs will meet on December 14 to discuss a number of issues including the proposed Jim Beam Shield competition which would act as a reserve grade competition. While a number of Jim Beam Cup sides will field sides in the Shield, the competition will be used to entice new clubs with a view of being promoted into the Jim Beam Cup.

“We need at least six, preferably eight clubs to start a Jim Beam Shield competition. We will see what response we get from the clubs when we have a meeting,” he said.

While Woy Woy have indicated they will not be fielding a side in the Jim Beam Cup in 2006, the Belrose Eagles have not committed to the season.

The Eagles joined the Jim Beam Cup in 2005 in which they had a good season but ended up spending above their budget. There have been concerns from the new Belrose board about the cost involved and they will make a decision shortly on whether Belrose will continue to play in the Jim Beam Cup.

“It is not up to me but if I was a betting man I would say that we will be playing in the Jim Beam Cup in 2006,” said Belrose Secretary Craig Badger.

Green Machine

mono_mal said:
It'd be interesting if Collegians entered the comp.

They definately have the money and are willing to outlay it on big name players though the points system restricts dominance by big spending clubs and encourages junior development.
To my knowledge Collegians dominance does not carry over from senior to junior league though being the only Illawarra team i'm sure they could poach their rivals best juniors, or better still spend more cash on development.
Western Suburbs Red Devils and Dapto have heaps of cash as well,

girvie

This was in Rugby League Review's Mail Bag:
I read in the Summer Special of Rugby League Review that the Woy Woy Roosters have pulled out of the Jim Beam Cup and that Belrose were looking at doing the same.

We need to promote the Jim Beam Cup and we need the likes of St Mary’s, Guilford and Ryde-Eastwood back in the competition. They are powerful clubs that should be playing in the strongest competition they can instead of park football.

Ryde-Eastwood have linked up with Balmain but they have lost their identity. They need to revert back to the club colours and be known as the Hawks.

Souths Juniors and Mt Pritchard are strong and wealthy enough to field a side as are Collegians from down Wollongong way. The Collegians are just too powerful in the Illawarra competition and would be better off playing in the Jim Beam Cup.

I believe that a side from the St George or Sutherland area should enter the competition. They would need to be competitive and have a Leagues/Sports Club behind them such as Arncliffe Scots.

What I would like to eventually see is two divisions with promotion and relegation. I would have 12 teams in the top division featuring St Mary’s, Souths Juniors, Newcastle Wests, Newtown, Wentworthville, Windsor, Sydney Bulls, Asquith, The Entrance, Erina, Collegians and Cabramatta.

The Second Division would have Belrose, Woy Woy, Arncliffe Scots, Mt Pritchard, Blacktown City, Narellan, Ourimbah, Guilford, Ryde-Eastwood and Kellyville.

I believe a competition like this would create even more interest. The winners of the Second Division would be promoted to the top division if they met the criteria. They would replace the team that finished last in the First Division.

The Second Division would have a smaller salary cap and would help attract new clubs instead of being rushed into the top divisions.

We have never had any promotion and relegation in Australian Rugby League and I think that it is time we gave it a go. I’m sure that it will be a winner.
I think having promotion and relegation would be a pretty good idea.

Philby

A couple of the Canberra sides would do really well in the JBC.
I know West Belcoonen tried to get a side in it a few years ago but were stopped by the NSWRL. Money is not a problem for them or the Quenbeyan Blues and both teams have extremely strong juniors.