Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

John Sutton

Sood

Sutton would have been an origin player already if he played for melbourne.

Playing for souths though you wont get much recognition. He will have to be the in form backrower in the comp to even get a look in.

African Monkey

Playing for souths though you wont get much recognition. He will have to be the in form backrower in the comp to even get a look in.
You can say that again.

Dave Q

But he played for city didnt he?

I think his talents have not gone wholly unnoticed.

Just needs a push over the line.

Butters

I'd love Sutton to play for NSW, preferably at lock. He'd definitely have more of an impact on the game than Gallen.

Bunnies 08

Personally keep him out of origin....Deserves to be there but for Souths at the moment i do not want to see it happen...Had some bad luck in injuries and that's the last thing we need...Whilst we won't be making the finals, i feel as if there will atleast be some proud moments this year with some good footy from out full strength team....

Hopefully Sutto has a kick arse game against the Titans next Monday nite and makes the selectors consider him for a bench spot.

NGR

Creagh: 2 Line Breaks, 1 Line Break Assist, 0 Try Assists)
SBW: 6 Line Breaks, 7 Line Break Assists, 2 Try Assists)
G Stewart: 1 Line Breaks, 5 Line Break Assists, 2 Try Assists)
Watmough: 3 Line Breaks, 0 Line Break Assists, 0 Try Assists)
Minichiello: 6 Line Breaks, 2 Line Break Assists, 1 Try Assist)
Laffranchi: 4 Line Breaks, 2 Line Break Assists, 1 Try Assist)
Crocker: 2 Line Breaks, 2 Line Break Assists, 2 Try Assists)
Johnson: 2 Line Breaks, 1 Line Break Assists, 0 Try Assists)
Hoffman: 3 Line Breaks, 1 Line Break Assists, 0 Try Assists)
Mateo: 7 Line Breaks, 9 Line Break Assists, 10 Try Assists)
Hindmarsh: 2 Line Breaks, 0 Line Break Assits, 2 Try Assists)
Thaiday: 1 Line Break, 3 Line Break Assists, 2 Try Assists)
Luck: 0 Line Breaks, 0 Line Break Assists, 0 Try Assists)
Heighington: 3 Line Breaks, 0 Line Break Assists, 0 Try Assists)
Gallen: 3 Line Breaks, 1 Line Break Assists, 0 Try Assists)
Bird: 5 Line Breaks, 3 Line Break Assists, 6 Try Assists)
Mason: 5 Line Breaks, 2 Line Break Assists 1 Try Assist)
Sa: 2 Line Breaks, 1 Line Break Assists, 1 Try Assists)

Sutton: 7 line Breaks, 9 Line Break Assists, 7 Try Assists)

www.nrlstats.com

only one player has better stats than Sutton, and deserves to be, only two other players are within Kooee of Sutton and Mateo.

Whats the next excuse for anyone against Sutton playing origin ?
well according to your stats, someone else is ahead of him....

then theres the other stats, theres even more ahead of him...

then theres the selectors who will pick a player based on reputation ahead of him...

the list goes on... he wont be picked...

rabs

not only did he play City Origin this year but he was picked in the Aussie Presidents 13 at end of season 2005

well according to your stats, someone else is ahead of him....

then theres the other stats, theres even more ahead of him...

then theres the selectors who will pick a player based on reputation ahead of him...

the list goes on... he wont be picked...

what other stats are more important then those ones ?, His defensive is more than good enough for Origin, has much better defence than half that were picked in the NSW pack.

Sood

Personally keep him out of origin....Deserves to be there but for Souths at the moment i do not want to see it happen...Had some bad luck in injuries and that's the last thing we need...Whilst we won't be making the finals, i feel as if there will atleast be some proud moments this year with some good footy from out full strength team....

Totally disagree.
This season would have been perfect for sutton to play origin.
The worst thing is to loose players for origin when your pushing for a top 4/8.

Wait till you guys are going good and u loose 4 or 5 players to origin, then you will understand.

Ike E Bear

I think Gallen is a stronger player than some people give him credit for, but people opinions are clouded by the fact he's a bit of a turd. Bird is a tough hombre too. I have no problems with them being selected for Origin.

I think Laffranchi is worthy too.

That said, I'd replace Hoffman with Sutton in a heartbeat. I think Hoffman is well over-rated. He's only a representative player because he plays for the Storm IMO.

Fitzgibbon is past it (even if he is enjoying impressive form at club level) and was being played out of position in Origin II to boot ... apparently just because he kicks goals. Dumb.

Tupou was on fire in the opening rounds, but I think he's gone back into his shell now that he scored the Sharks contract. I wouldn't take Tupou over Sutton in any team I supported, although I think they are at a similar level.

Mason is Mason. He'll keep getting picked for spectacle if nothing else. He is talented, even if he is a boofhead.

So, I think Sutton, Tupou and Mateo all exist in a very similar space as players. I think you could have any one of them on the bench in an Origin team and it would be justifiable ... I just don't think you should have more than one of them. Assuming Bird is selected as the NSW lock more often than not in the future, I think those are the two guys Sutton will have to beat for a position in the future.

If he got selected for Origin III, I'd be very surprised ... but very pleased.

Dave Q

I think Gallen is a stronger player than some people give him credit for, but people opinions are clouded by the fact he's a bit of a turd. Bird is a tough hombre too. I have no problems with them being selected for Origin.

I think Laffranchi is worthy too.

That said, I'd replace Hoffman with Sutton in a heartbeat. I think Hoffman is well over-rated. He's only a representative player because he plays for the Storm IMO.

Fitzgibbon is past it (even if he is enjoying impressive form at club level) and was being played out of position in Origin II to boot ... apparently just because he kicks goals. Dumb.

Tupou was on fire in the opening rounds, but I think he's gone back into his shell now that he scored the Sharks contract. I wouldn't take Tupou over Sutton in any team I supported, although I think they are at a similar level.

Mason is Mason. He'll keep getting picked for spectacle if nothing else. He is talented, even if he is a boofhead.

So, I think Sutton, Tupou and Mateo all exist in a very similar space as players. I think you could have any one of them on the bench in an Origin team and it would be justifiable ... I just don't think you should have more than one of them. Assuming Bird is selected as the NSW lock more often than not in the future, I think those are the two guys Sutton will have to beat for a position in the future.

If he got selected for Origin III, I'd be very surprised ... but very pleased.

RPI scores:

Gallen +10
Hoffman +18
Mason +12
Tupou +10

Hoffman is an elite player Ikey, one of the very very best in the game. Look at his stats.

I was surprised too but credit when its due.

He may not excite, but he's a leading tradesman, no, foreman material.

Sutto may replace someone, but he wont be replacing the hoff.

RPI scores:

Gallen +10
Hoffman +18
Mason +12
Tupou +10

Hoffman is an elite player Ikey, one of the very very best in the game. Look at his stats.

I was surprised too but credit when its due.

He may not excite, but he's a leading tradesman, no, foreman material.

Sutto may replace someone, but he wont be replacing the hoff.

Rubbish, Hoffman has been ordinary this year mate, as someone said if he didnt play for melbourne he wouldnt of got a start in origin let along australia.

Sutton Owns him this year mate, Let alone every other backrower in the comp bar one.

Sutton: (8 games at Lock)
Line Breaks 4
Line Break Assists: 4
Try Assists 3
Ave Tackles a game: 27
Ave Missed Tackles: 1.9

Hoffman: (10 games)
Line Breaks: 3
Line Break Assists: 1
Try Assists: 0
Ave Tackles a game: 25.1
Ave Missed Tackles 1.1

Thats not even taking his stats at five-eighth into consideration.

and if Suttons stats as five-eighth were taken into account, It would be a one-sided affair to say the least

Sutton
Line Breaks 7
Line Break Assists 9
Try Assists 7

Compared To

Hoffman
Line Breaks 3
Line Break Assists 1
Try Assists 0

Dave Q

Sutto v the Hoff -a statistical examination.

Sutto RPI calculation

Games 10 NRL av 8 = RPI +2

Per match average:

Tries .33, NRL av .21 = RPI +2
All runs 10.75, NRL av 9.29 = RPI 0
All runs meters 91.67, NRL av 76.61 = RPI +2
Line Breaks .58, NRL av 0.25 = RPI +2
Hit Ups 2.7, NRL av 3.18 = RPI -2
Off Loads 2.33, NRL av 0.62 = RPI +2
Tackles 23.5, NRL av 17.44 = RPI +2
Missed Tackles 2, NRL av 1.93 = RPI 0
Errors .83, NRL av .72 = RPI 0

Sutton Total RPI = +10 or 30/40.

versus

Hoffman RPI calculation

Games: 10, NRL av 8 =RPI +2

Per match average:

Tries: 0.20, NRL av .21 = RPI 0
All runs: 14.2, NRL av 9.29 = RPI +2
All runs metres: 115.2, NRL av 76.61 = RPI +2
Line breaks: .30, NRL av .25 = RPI +2
Hit ups: 9.1, NRL av 3.77= RPI +2
Off loads: 1, NRL av .63 = RPI+2
Tackles: 25.1, NRL av 17.44 = RPI +2
Missed Tackles: 1.1, NRL av 1.95= RPI +2
Errors: 0.4, NRL av .72= RPI +2

Hoffman Total RPI = +18 or 38/40

Source: NRL.com June 16 2008.

I'd love to see Sutto play, but the hoff would be one of the last players I'd drop. As I said, IMO somebody else can make the ultimate sacrifice.

Note: the RPI takes into account a 'basket of skills' and compares them to the NRL average. The higher the score, the the better the player is as an all rounder. Goals and Field goals are not taken into account as they are specialised.

Statistics are useful tools as a guide only, they do not predict the future with any accuracy.

Aaron_sfas

the guy deserves it. give him a shot.

we have to see turner gone for the third game for sure... just thought i'd add that dovetail. too bad max has lost form this year. if he was playing how he was for the last couple of years, he would be right in the thick of calculations right about now

Dave Q

the guy deserves it. give him a shot.

we have to see turner gone for the third game for sure... just thought i'd add that dovetail. too bad max has lost form this year. if he was playing how he was for the last couple of years, he would be right in the thick of calculations right about now

lol.

You got that across perfectly.

Sutto v the Hoff -a statistical examination.

Sutto RPI calculation

Games 10 NRL av 8 = RPI +2

Per match average:

Tries .33, NRL av .21 = RPI +2
All runs 10.75, NRL av 9.29 = RPI 0
All runs meters 91.67, NRL av 76.61 = RPI +2
Line Breaks .58, NRL av 0.25 = RPI +2
Hit Ups 2.7, NRL av 3.18 = RPI -2
Off Loads 2.33, NRL av 0.62 = RPI +2
Tackles 23.5, NRL av 17.44 = RPI +2
Missed Tackles 2, NRL av 1.93 = RPI 0
Errors .83, NRL av .72 = RPI 0

Sutton Total RPI = +10 or 30/40.

versus

Hoffman RPI calculation

Games: 10, NRL av 8 =RPI +2

Per match average:

Tries: 0.20, NRL av .21 = RPI 0
All runs: 14.2, NRL av 9.29 = RPI +2
All runs metres: 115.2, NRL av 76.61 = RPI +2
Line breaks: .30, NRL av .25 = RPI +2
Hit ups: 9.1, NRL av 3.77= RPI +2
Off loads: 1, NRL av .63 = RPI+2
Tackles: 25.1, NRL av 17.44 = RPI +2
Missed Tackles: 1.1, NRL av 1.95= RPI +2
Errors: 0.4, NRL av .72= RPI +2

Hoffman Total RPI = +18 or 38/40

Source: NRL.com June 16 2008.

I'd love to see Sutto play, but the hoff would be one of the last players I'd drop. As I said, IMO somebody else can make the ultimate sacrifice.

Note: the RPI takes into account a 'basket of skills' and compares them to the NRL average. The higher the score, the the better the player is as an all rounder. Goals and Field goals are not taken into account as they are specialised.

Statistics are useful tools as a guide only, they do not predict the future with any accuracy.

Hoffman should be dropped immediately, offers nothing in attack.

Your stats has left out Line Break Assists and Try Assists which Sutton is well above average, with Hoffman well below average.

You also didnt credit Sutton with being above average in the amount of runs he makes.

Hoffman is a safe footballer with good defence, but offers nothing in attack.

Sutton is a creative versatile player, who is just as damaging in three positions.

Sutton offers more to a team than Hoffman ever will, I dont care what stats you throw at me.

Dave Q

Hoffman should be dropped immediately, offers nothing in attack.

Your stats has left out Line Break Assists and Try Assists which Sutton is well above average, with Hoffman well below average.

You also didnt credit Sutton with being above average in the amount of runs he makes.

Hoffman is a safe footballer with good defence, but offers nothing in attack.

Sutton is a creative versatile player, who is just as damaging in three positions.

Sutton offers more to a team than Hoffman ever will, I dont care what stats you throw at me.

I'm not 'throwing' any stats at you.

We were looking at different stats and came to different views. Both of us have disclosed our figures and BTW I didnt leave out line-breaks either.

In comparison with Sutto:

Hoff makes more runs, he makes more metres when he runs, he makes heaps more hit ups, he out-tackles Sutto, he misses less tackles and he makes less errors. He might be as dull as manonthehill, but pound for pound he's a bloody good player and IMO he derserves his spot.

Sutto can displace another player, fine, but the hoff has claims on his jersey. Claims that the KPI stats seem to support.

Now that might not sit comfortably with you, thats fine, we can agree to disagree.