Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Johns Most Likely gone..... Move quickly on Orford NOW!!!!!

macavity

This whole episode is actually quite upsetting and infuriating.

IF he leaves we must plan a bonfire of Joey merchandise in Merewether.....

WHY would he do this to his club and fans? :cry:

eddo

macavity said:
This whole episode is actually quite upsetting and infuriating.

IF he leaves we must plan a bonfire of Joey merchandise in Merewether.....

WHY would he do this to his club and fans? :cry:

I've got a joey mask for the effigy.
Lets burn the bugger now!

Nuffy

Just as a afterthought, why do you think the NRL haven't arranged a little sweetheart deal through Ch9 or something to top up his salary, it would be worth it from a PR point of view.

I think the Knights are correct to stand their ground but I would have thought the NRL would have tried to sweeten the deal for life after footy.

Anyway, he's gone and we need to move on.

The bloke I feel sorriest for is Hages, he would be feeling pretty let down and embarassed by the actions of a friend.

miladi

I think it would be more effective to stage a silent protest. Burning memorabilia, effigies etc, just gives him more publicity. Turning your back, "shunning" is more effective and creates a feeling of isolation.

But as Nuffy said, we need to move on.................

axl rose

Andrew Johns' manager delivered a stunning message to the NRL club as speculation mounted the Knights captain was poised to switch codes - if you want to talk to Johns you go through me.

John Fordham, whose relationship with the Knights is becoming more strained by the day, rang the NRL club at the weekend and asked them to give Johns some peace.

"I rang the club and said get off his back," Fordham said.

"He was getting phone calls left, right and centre.

"I did ask (chief executive) Ken Conway to give him the courtesy of giving him the weekend by himself.

"If the club needs to further their discussions about Andrew Johns and the Newcastle Knights they call me.

"That's the message."

It's understood Johns spoke to NSW Waratahs coach Ewan McKenzie, heightening speculation a group of wealthy benefactors were ready to join forces to entice Johns to rugby union.

However, Fordham said he had yet to receive a formal offer from anyone attached to the Waratahs.
Advertisement

"If you're asking me whether the NSW Waratahs or any group purporting to be associated with or acting on behalf of (the Waratahs) made an offer to Andrew Johns to play rugby union, the answer is without question no," he said.

Fordham also denied suggestions Johns had reached an agreement in principle with Newcastle coach Michael Hagan and claimed he had yet to receive a complete offer from the Knights - something the club later rejected.

"There was a discussion between Michael Hagan and Joey (Johns) about a month ago about Joey staying in Newcastle," Fordham said.

"The only person an agreement can be with is me. I wasn't party to any agreement.

"I have told Michael Hagan that. Andrew Johns has a differing view (from Hagan's) as to an agreement in principle.

"The important thing is people keep referring to a Newcastle offer.

Ok from this i can gather that Fordham is a wanker on a powertrip & that Johns is gone for certain.

Yet to to receive an offer from the knights? oh sure what line will they use next? Johns couldnt find a pen to sign?

Oh gee how dare a club that is paying him $500,000!! to sit on the sideline try to contact him! they should know better then to disturb the precious princess.

mat_parsons

Let him go, bloody discrasful thing, he's been sitting on sidelines for 3 years enjoying free money and now he wanna leave when the club has its hardest time.

That much for loyalty.

Missa

i read that the storm want an answer from matty orford b4 they play this weekends match...get your act together knights and sign him...stuff waiting around for joey.....this is an utter joke

Ben

if joey goes to union do you reckon he will have the chance of being an immortal?

fosie

He will go down as one for sure. So much for the greatest player in league....walks off....and goes away from the sport he got crowned for. Very nice :x

the_knights_rule

from nrl.com

Orford signs with Melbourne

24 June 2004

Halfback Matt Orford has ended speculation he would link with Newcastle by agreeing to stay with the Melbourne Storm for another NRL season.

Newcastle had approached Orford but Knights coach Michael Hagan said the club's interest was dependent on a decision by star halfback Andrew Johns who is being courted by rugby union.

Orford was also believed to be in the sights of Parramatta which started a promised spending spree by snatching up Dragons hooker Mark Riddell yesterday.

The Knights will now be praying Johns - expected to make a decision as early as today - stays in the Hunter region after their back-up halfback plan fell through with Orford linking with Melbourne for another year.

Orford, the NSW City halfback, was expected to be tempted by the Newcastle offer considering he hailed from the neighbouring Central Coast.

But the Storm gave Orford an ultimatum to decide his future before their NRL clash against the New Zealand Warriors at Melbourne on Saturday night and duly stitched up a deal with manager George Mimis tonight.

"I was keen to stay here (in Melbourne) - it was always my first option," said Orford.

"But you always have to try and look after yourself and make sure you're doing the right thing for your football career in the long run and hopefully I've done that so I'm happy.

"It (negotiations) dragged on a little longer than we thought it would but it was always going to be an important decision and I wasn't going to rush it.

"I'm taking a bit of a gamble with a one-year deal and backing myself because I just feel like I want to challenge myself."

Orford linked with Melbourne in 2001 after a season with the now-defunct Northern Eagles and burst onto the scene with 2001 City Origin selection.

He made the rep side again this season and just missed out on NSW Origin II selection due to injury.

Orford has helped propel Melbourne into fifth spot on the 2004 NRL ladder.

"I think the club's doing well, we've got some really good young talent here and the coach has come in and turned the place around," he said.

"I'm happy to be a part of it and if it is going to go somewhere I'd like to be a part of that too.

"I think every year I'm going to get better and better and there's no harm in backing yourself for a good season and then putting yourself on the market."