Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Josh Kerr departs

OneEyedDragon

OK, Josh is gone. What do the Dragons get out of it? Should they buy a new player (who?) or use the money to upgrade an existing player to fill the vacant spot(s) in the roster?

Maddragon99

Perhaps Musgrove will see some game time now, I’d like to see what he can offer, if he’s worth keeping.

Victoire

You looked like Tarzan but played like Jane
Sidebar here... but I find this cliche extremely irritating and reckon it needs to be retired. Aside from being trite and boring, it's also no different to saying someone "throws like a girl" in its casual misogyny. In any case, there are probably girls named Jane playing footy right now who are tougher than Josh Kerr or Tarzan will ever be.

Victoire

I ask again, what is the benefit to the Dragons?
* he was contracted elsewhere for next year so no longer in our plans
* as a bench middle player he's not exactly an "essential worker" so to speak. Replaceable
* gives opportunity to a player in our 2024 plans to take his bench spot
* frees up cap space and a spot in the top 30 for the remainder of 2023

That's all I've got. I actually liked Kerr for his ability to offload and would've preferred to have kept him next year. But it is what it is... we can promote and develop someone else into that role

RedVee_8

I hope one of the Reggie forwards gets a run now. Fifita from Manly, or the other guy with the double barrel name? He seems to go hard

OneEyedDragon

I had great expectations for Josh but unfortunately he didnt deliver much Im afraid....that aside I wish him well
Yes, as a lot of people have said - Josh seems like he is a great bloke with a heap of potential, but sadly he hasn't reached his potential. Lacks aggression. Maybe Uncle Wayne will get the best out of him. Good luck Josh - just not against the Dragons.

Jim Dragons

Yes, as a lot of people have said - Josh seems like he is a great bloke with a heap of potential, but sadly he hasn't reached his potential. Lacks aggression. Maybe Uncle Wayne will get the best out of him. Good luck Josh - just not against the Dragons.
Like most I liked Josh... to a point.. that point usually came after his first hit up. For a guy that big he NEVER bent a line and played like a slow centre (where he started in the game). Sure he had an off load... but that usually placed the receiver under pressure. Didn't see him on the other side of a defensive line OR putting a team mate in the clear often enough. And he was slow in defence. But as most have said... seemed a nice guy.

Jim Dragons

* he was contracted elsewhere for next year so no longer in our plans
* as a bench middle player he's not exactly an "essential worker" so to speak. Replaceable
* gives opportunity to a player in our 2024 plans to take his bench spot
* frees up cap space and a spot in the top 30 for the remainder of 2023

That's all I've got. I actually liked Kerr for his ability to offload and would've preferred to have kept him next year. But it is what it is... we can promote and develop someone else into that role
Yep... unless a talented Backrower/Leader Type player comes along we should front end someone like Jayden Hunt and park the Salary Cap space for next year... lets be honest if we did happen to make the semis unless there was a massive turn around we aren't troubling the trophy engravers this season.
Seems like we will end up looking for a new captain. Any thoughts?