Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Josh lewis - Free agent

transporter

just heard on Footy show & Big League Josh Lewis is a free agent from Roosters, Has Newcastle COMPETENT management shown any interest?? Hes a tough solid player, Hes not perfect because of his lack of experience but he has heaps of potential, isnt he a better option than what we;ve got?

Your opinion...........

Transporter

Jobdog

I think we could do worse than him. The few games I saw of him in FG last year for the Chooks I was quite impressed with him tbh. He's a natural five-eight/halfback, which is more than what we've got at the moment. Wouldn't be a bad "cheap" buy IMO.

RABK

Baron Vo Mandor said:
No thanks.

Were hopefully getting rid of average-fringe first graders not recruit them.

Agreed. Walsh and Dureau leave him for dead.

Any word on if Dureau's likely to be in firsts this week or is the fact Mullen is playing eliminated that possibility?

Jobdog

Apparently Dureau has been "dropped" but I think he's just being given the week off tbh

macavity

Reminds me alot of Firman for some reason

and we know how that has panned out...

still, we could do worse.

reginald.p

Wait so he can join us this season? I would sign him up in a heartbeat, he is worth it for his kicking game alone.

Its too much of a knee jerk reaction IMO. Lets face it this year is going to be a rebuilding year and we arent going to compete for the premiership anyway so the club which it seems to be doing is blooding as many players to see which ones we wont to keep and which ones we dont.

That way we can offload the junk and then get on the market to replace them quality players.

Going after a very average player like Josh Lewis would be just appalling when we have two quality halves(according to common oppinion) who are on the verge of being ready for firsts.

Misanthrope

I don't have any problems with us recruiting him short term. We need somebody decent to take pressure off Mullen (and Abraham/Brown/Gidley are not 'decent' in the halves) and Lewis' kicking game would definitely be a boost to our side. Would stop Buderus and Kurt trying to do so much playmaking.

This is true CWBush.

I am hoping with same game time Brown can become a "decent" pairing with Mullen for this year atleast.

But to be honest I've always struggled to find something to be excited about with Brown's game to me he is a allrounder, a sh*t allrounder!

Misanthrope

I think only women are capable of finding anything exciting about Riley Brown's 'game', and it seldom wins us matches :p

Jono078

RABK said in the other thread that we wouldnt need him since Dureau and Walsh are better playmakers.

If that's the case, then sure I wouldnt sign him.

But from what i've seen of Lewis I reckon we'd have the second best young halves combo (behind Carney and Dobson) if he signed.

He has a nice kicking, running and passing game imo. Would compliment Mullen well.

macavity

Jono078 said:
But from what i've seen of Lewis I reckon we'd have the second best young halves combo (behind Carney and Dobson) if he signed.

as I said in another thread, Dobson was dropped this week.

its time to get in his ear.

Jono078

macavity said:
as I said in another thread, Dobson was dropped this week.

its time to get in his ear.

I'd be happy if we got either.

But Raiders have money to keep Dobson and probably want him, would also be more expencive.

Lewis is a lot more likely, wouldnt dissapoint me at all if we got him.

EDIT: Just noticed, Lewis is also an 80% goal kicker, we could do with that,.

Bicey_18

I dunno if this is just a coincidence or is something going we dont know about. Lewis is said to be leaving the club in days.. I wonder if Smith has been in his ear saying we have vacancy in the number 7 jersey.. you keen? Perhaps im reading too much into it, but when i heard the news last night I instantly thought of Newcastle...

Kicking 40/20s doesn't make you a good footballer. Lewis has a very solid kicking game but his defence is woeful and his running game is ordinary at best. Kneejerk reaction signings is a sign of a desperate club and we are far from that. And can someone please tell me why we are looking for a new halfback? Mullo may wear the number 7 for the Blues! Young Wlash is avery adequate backup I reckon. Give me a hard nosed Front rower and a world class centre anyday.