Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

epDragon62

Guys, the education system may have its issues but this one cannot be assumed to be a problem any further away from the bonehead father.

Let's not lose sight of the obvious, the father is a repeat offender, he did not dissuade his son from risking everything and Junior can't possibly say he didn't think climbing on the roof swinging a hammer was anything less than trouble.

I feel sad for Junior who doesn't seem to be a trouble maker but he is undoubtedly a loose cannon who will do something stupid again while he is anywhere near his father.

From a club perspective, I feel that this incident has very few angles or redeeming possibilities that justify keeping Amone in the team until the legal system has run its course.

epDragon62

Dragonsupporter has written:
Seems to me the education system is spitting out entitled twats who think they can do anything and get away with it.
A bit tough on the education system. Surely it's the Rugby League pathways system that produces the "entitled twats" not the education system which has to try to cope with this sense of entitlement. As just one minor example I picked a boy in my school's 1st XI who was a footy star who went on to play for the Panthers and in the Super League for years. How did my selection go? The star didn't turn to play, didn't inform me or any of his mates so we played one short and lost.
Dragonsteve2, while it may be so that RL pathways produces entitled twats, this does not appear to be a RL issue, it really does appear to be a f**kwit father corrupting his son.

Junior would have been given extensive input into how to conduct himself and he must be incredibly stupid to have done any hammer swinging on the roof.

Guys, the education system may have its issues but this one cannot be assumed to be a problem any further away from the bonehead father.

Let's not lose sight of the obvious, the father is a repeat offender, he did not dissuade his son from risking everything and Junior can't possibly say he didn't think climbing on the roof swinging a hammer was anything less than trouble.

I feel sad for Junior who doesn't seem to be a trouble maker but he is undoubtedly a loose cannon who will do something stupid again while he is anywhere near his father.

From a club perspective, I feel that this incident has very few angles or redeeming possibilities that justify keeping Amone in the team until the legal system has run its course.
If he’s found guilty, a shrink might say he was susceptible to someone else’s influence.

Run a duress argument that he had to do what he did because he was threatened by someone.

It’s his first offence, he’s not known as a hothead, something or someone got into his head.

May not excuse what he did (which isn’t yet proven) but help explain it.

Even so, 14 year max on conviction, if the offence is proven, hes going to struggle to avoid a custodial.

Prosecution might argue he knew what he was doing. He took a series of steps in the commission of his offence which he could have pulled out of.

Still a lot of water to pass under the bridge.

All quite irrational and pretty awful.

redv13

If he’s found guilty, a shrink might say he was susceptible to someone else’s influence.

Run a duress argument that he had to do what he did because he was threatened by someone.

It’s his first offence, he’s not known as a hothead, something or someone got into his head.

May not excuse what he did (which isn’t yet proven) but help explain it.

Even so, 14 year max on conviction, if the offence is proven, hes going to struggle to avoid a custodial.

Prosecution might argue he knew what he was doing. He took a series of steps in the commission of his offence which he could have pulled out of.

Still a lot of water to pass under the bridge.

All quite irrational and pretty awful.
No one made this idiot jump onto the victims car and smash the shit out of it.

No one forced this idiot to arm himself with a hammer, climb onto the roof and threaten the victim, causing him to obviously fear for his life where the victim has jumped onto a neighbouring roof then fall two storeys to the ground and sustain serious injuries.

No one forced this idiot to then incite his father and the unknown 3rd male to chase after and “ get the merkin “ as per his words that the victim reported.

He’s a grown man who will now dearly pay for his actions and very likely end up in jail and his footy career screwed.

Play big boy games win big boy prizes.

No one made this idiot jump onto the victims car and smash the shit out of it.

No one forced this idiot to arm himself with a hammer, climb onto the roof and threaten the victim, causing him to obviously fear for his life where the victim has jumped onto a neighbouring roof then fall two storeys to the ground and sustain serious injuries.

No one forced this idiot to then incite his father and the unknown 3rd male to chase after and “ get the merkin “ as per his words that the victim reported.

He’s a grown man who will now dearly pay for his actions and very likely end up in jail and his footy career screwed.

Play big boy games win big boy prizes.
All compelling points and from what I understand of it, I wouldn’t even have given him bail.

But his defence has to get its house in order, especially when it seems the “ self defence” lark seems a bit of a stretch.

Just on the contract front, maybe it’s time the clubs wrote into player contracts that they be compensated for loss occasioned by wayward players. How to estimate it might be tough.

And perhaps the nrl can run a course for emerging players featuring an excursion to gaol. Forget all the lectures and Marys corporate rookies again bullshit, chuck them on a bus, tour parklea and Long Bay so they can see how actual inmates live.

After the day, the boys can talk about it over a few light ales and it can be a bonding thing. Make it cool to chill when confronted.

Probably make it something for high schools too , wouldn’t hurt and might help a lot of inmates too.

redv13

All compelling points and from what I understand of it, I wouldn’t even have given him bail.

But his defence has to get its house in order, especially when it seems the “ self defence” lark seems ia bit of a stretch.

Just on the contract front, maybe it’s time the clubs wrote into player contracts that they be compensated for loss occasioned by wayward players. How to estimate it might be tough.

And perhaps the nrl can run a course for emerging players featuring an excursion to gaol. Forget all the lectures, chuck them on a bus, tour parklea and Long Bay so they can see how actual inmates live.

After the day, the boys can talk about it over a few light ales and it can be a bonding thing.
You need to scrap this stupid idea of self defence. There is zero percent chance of that occurring. He put himself in this position several times over different time periods. Not even Lionel Hutz would use the self defence card.

I said the exact opposite.

But he will almost certainly be needing to try to explain himself somehow or other.

Im not how he will feel about blaming his family for his rough upbringing. That’s another defence favourite.

You’ve mentioned that maybe he was coerced by his father. Then you’ve thrown out self defence could be a stretch. Time to give it a rest. He’s an idiot and now our club ( not yours as you support the tigers ) will pay the price.
Self defence is different from co-ercion.

I think it’s ok to discuss these issues on any forum here.

You don’t have to read or engage with any of it, no one has to.

If I support the tigers, it doesn’t mean I hate on sgi etc.

On the contrary, I like sgi it’s a pretty interesting club, very passionate.

anyway…

Once again our club is dragged into another shitshow off the field
Yeah I don’t think anyone is pleased about that.

But on the field, it hurts too.

Like us, you probably need all hands on deck to be competitive with the big guns of this era.

He played 24 games last year, that’s a very valuable asset, when maybe 20% plus of NRL players are injured and cactus by the end of the year.

That’s before his stellar talents and so forth which you guys would know infinitely more about that than me.

I have always believed that the NRL should step up to the plate and take control of these stand-down situations:

1. Take the matter out of the Club's hands and take the responsibility for their actions.
2. Take out an insurance policy to cover legal action that may be taken against the NRL.

It's alleged that he fell on to an air conditioner unit on the ground, getting a few fractured bones, braking his fall, maybe saved his life, could have been worse if landed on the ground?
Yeah that’s a point for the prosecution.

Im not sure if they bring in an expert to argue that one as to seriousness.

x % of people who fall from this height without an air con cushion suffer y injuries or death.

Then the defence gets Professor Scrotezenburger from Harvard ( Nobel prize winner) to argue that given his weight, stance and trajectory, the air con caused more injuries than if he’d fallen straight down and landed on his bum. A study is conducted with crash test dummies etc etc and replayed for the jury.

You can die falling over from no height at all and I guess folk have fallen from much greater heights with no injuries.

You see those downhill skiers after a massive stack, simply get up and hobble off with one bent ski. They should have died 10 times over.

League players sustaining the equivalent of 40kph front on collisions multiple times a match. Unbelievable…madness!

If he pleads not guilty, he should be entitled to a jury shouldn’t he? Has a choice I think.

twinkletoes

Anyway you look at it the kids career at the Dragons is over but as in Bronson Xerri case some club will likely pick him up in years to come…. so once again we do all the hard work through the juniors and someone else will reap the benefits down the track whenever that might be

Dragonsupporter has written:
Seems to me the education system is spitting out entitled twats who think they can do anything and get away with it.
A bit tough on the education system. Surely it's the Rugby League pathways system that produces the "entitled twats" not the education system which has to try to cope with this sense of entitlement. As just one minor example I picked a boy in my school's 1st XI who was a footy star who went on to play for the Panthers and in the Super League for years. How did my selection go? The star didn't turn to play, didn't inform me or any of his mates so we played one short and lost.
I understand what you're saying, but what i meant was more a general attitude to everything.I've worked with 18-20 yr old guys who'll quite happily tell me "im not doing that, its not part of my job", whereas when I was their age I wouldnt have dared say such a thing to my boss. Nowdays it appears what matters to them is what they think, and no one has any right to question it. Theyre entitled to be heard apparently. But more to the point they seem to have no brake on their mouth or actions. Whatever they think, comes out of their mouth, and quite often action happens the same way. I suspect Junior did what he's accused of and then thought about the consequences afterwards, whereas we were taught hopefully to think first before we did anything. Thats what i call entitled-thinking thats its ok to do whatever you like before you actually think about it. My daughter teaches in a preschool-the word "No" is off the agenda, and never to be used and its been this way for quite a while. I suspect most people around Juniors age have rarely heard the word used before.So the "brake " we used to have has been replaced by "personal freedom with zero consequences". Except the real world has consequences

SBD82

I understand what you're saying, but what i meant was more a general attitude to everything.I've worked with 18-20 yr old guys who'll quite happily tell me "im not doing that, its not part of my job", whereas when I was their age I wouldnt have dared say such a thing to my boss. Nowdays it appears what matters to them is what they think, and no one has any right to question it. Theyre entitled to be heard apparently. But more to the point they seem to have no brake on their mouth or actions. Whatever they think, comes out of their mouth, and quite often action happens the same way. I suspect Junior did what he's accused of and then thought about the consequences afterwards, whereas we were taught hopefully to think first before we did anything. Thats what i call entitled-thinking thats its ok to do whatever you like before you actually think about it. My daughter teaches in a preschool-the word "No" is off the agenda, and never to be used and its been this way for quite a while. I suspect most people around Juniors age have rarely heard the word used before.So the "brake " we used to have has been replaced by "personal freedom with zero consequences". Except the real world has consequences
These kinds of claims about younger generations have been made for literally thousands of years, with some of our earliest recordings being from Ancient Greece.

The reality is that youth crime statistics have been steadily declining for decades. Fewer are smoking, fewer are drinking alcohol and using drugs, there are fewer teen pregnancies (there is a rise in vape usage if you want to point fingers).

And you may be looking back at your youth with rose coloured glasses. The prefrontal cortex doesn’t fully develop until our twenties, with estimates for men’s brains ranging from the mid to late twenties. Consequential thinking isn’t great in teenagers, but it never has been.

Basically your perception of the younger generation isn’t backed up by statistics, so you may be seeing a cross section of young people who are not representative of young people generally, or you may be misinterpreting your interactions.

but did not the police arrive and saw him on the roof with a hammer. Sounds like ID at the time to me. He is a pretty well known character in the Wollongong area by now.
The tradie that ended up falling off the roof might not of known him. Might also of been a reluctance from the victim to provide statement or a version.

Maximus

Nowdays it appears what matters to them is what they think, and no one has any right to question it.

You seem so have the same opinion about yourself. Why is it ok to question what a young person thinks, but not a boomer?

Theyre entitled to be heard apparently.

Ah yeah they are. Why do you have a problem with young people speaking up?

You sound like a boomer who wants everything to be the same as the 60s and 70s. Sorry, it's not those days anymore

Maximus

Yes but when there is an ongoing court matter they will almost always wait for a guilty verdict before doing so. The reason being, if a not guilty verdict is handed down and they have already torn up the contract, they are then liable for the contract without having the player. Big hole in salary cap.

Rubbish. Conduct detrimental to the game has been a standard breach in contracts for ages, and a bunch of players have been sacked after being charged. Being charged with a serious crime brings the game and club into disrepute, so it is within the contract terms to sack them and not pay out