Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

Dragon David

I'm not going to make judgment on contracts, laws and rights and wrongs and outcomes and so on but what I would like to say is that he we are again, going over all of these laws and rights and wrongs and presumptions etc.

Who will it be next year and the year after next? I am sick to death of how low this club has fallen not only with these incidents but how this damned club will be perceived by many people for a long time. Our history of our great premiership wins has now more or less been taken over by the poor image of the Board, the extension contracts of poor coaches, the signing of rejects and has beens, the behaviour of a certain number of the players etc.

Will we ever see our club be a united one, being in the top 8 regularly, having great coaching and player strength to be proud of?

Qdf

I'm not going to make judgment on contracts, laws and rights and wrongs and outcomes and so on but what I would like to say is that he we are again, going over all of these laws and rights and wrongs and presumptions etc.

Who will it be next year and the year after next? I am sick to death of how low this club has fallen not only with these incidents but how this damned club will be perceived by many people for a long time. Our history of our great premiership wins has now more or less been taken over by the poor image of the Board, the extension contracts of poor coaches, the signing of rejects and has beens, the behaviour of a certain number of the players etc.

Will we ever see our club be a united one, being in the top 8 regularly, having great coaching and player strength to be proud of?
No! Not until this Board has been replace. We will be doomed to a bottom 8 team while our imbercile management team continues to make bad decisions with no repercussions.

AyiosYiorgos

Anyway you look at it the kids career at the Dragons is over but as in Bronson Xerri case some club will likely pick him up in years to come…. so once again we do all the hard work through the juniors and someone else will reap the benefits down the track whenever that might be
Did you forget about Dugan and Packer we picked them both up after they were sacked from the previous clubs.

Maximus

What does this incident have to do with the club?

Do the Tigers get criticised for Lodge's New York trip?
Is the Panthers' reputation damaged by the May family grubs?
Does anyone think the Cowboys have fallen considering they've had domestic violence issues with Barba and Leilua in the last few years?

Qdf

Have to agree with DD.on this one.The one thing that is a constant in the Dragons history in the last 10-11years is the bad decisions by our Board.
Number one recruitment.
Of incompetent coaches.
Players also, that had bad
records for indiscretions for (behavioural issues or
matters to face the courts)
When a club have a record of
shonky back room deals (no integrity)and throwing players under bus, the players managers will advise them against coming to STGI . That's a couple of reasons we CAN'T hire a top coach and good players just won't have anything to do with STGI.
Stgeorge illawara are seen
as a club where the Board have no INTEGRITY.

Dragon David

What does this incident have to do with the club?

Do the Tigers get criticised for Lodge's New York trip?
Is the Panthers' reputation damaged by the May family grubs?
Does anyone think the Cowboys have fallen considering they've had domestic violence issues with Barba and Leilua in the last few years?
This incident involves a player from this club but I am not blaming the club for this alleged incident for which Junior Amone has been charged. Like all other off field "bad" stuff that has recently occurred including JDB, Norman, Burgess, Sailor, Vaughn, etc. it just makes me feel unhappy that they keep occurring. Yes many other clubs have had players create some sort of nuisance as you have pointed out and there will be many times for other stuff to happen in the future by players, but I'm just pissed off that it is happening again with one of our players that's all.

Here’s an article with more comprehensive description from colleagues on another site.

His dad allegedly tells the cops “nothing happened” and then the video is produced.

Nice try.

Junior lost his mind, seems to have been in a very dangerous mental state. Maybe tradie threatened his dad, maybe they had unkind words, but the vengeance was next level.

Young Amone probably shouldn’t be in the game if he has such a temper. It’s ticking away.

I doubt the club could have predicted such an event, all concerned would be probably surprised and pretty upset.

He can no longer factor in the clubs long term plans if he’s liable for a lagging at some indefinite time in the future.

The NRL should help the club as much as it can.

The court says he can continue to train and work, I wonder if the NRL and the club can override that? They can try I guess.

These kinds of claims about younger generations have been made for literally thousands of years, with some of our earliest recordings being from Ancient Greece.

The reality is that youth crime statistics have been steadily declining for decades. Fewer are smoking, fewer are drinking alcohol and using drugs, there are fewer teen pregnancies (there is a rise in vape usage if you want to point fingers).

And you may be looking back at your youth with rose coloured glasses. The prefrontal cortex doesn’t fully develop until our twenties, with estimates for men’s brains ranging from the mid to late twenties. Consequential thinking isn’t great in teenagers, but it never has been.

Basically your perception of the younger generation isn’t backed up by statistics, so you may be seeing a cross section of young people who are not representative of young people generally, or you may be misinterpreting your interactions.
If i was just talking about crime only,then you would be correct. As far as fewer using alcohol and drugs-i strongly disagree and im sure the figures back that up. However i think i probably am looking through rose coloured glasses, but ive never met anyone who eventually doesnt. My perception may be wrong, but its a forum so i guess you either agree or disagree with me-thats fine.But i do come from a period when respect did mean something, and i certainly dont see that anymore at all-all i see is young people demanding respect without having earned it. I also respect your opinion

You seem so have the same opinion about yourself. Why is it ok to question what a young person thinks, but not a boomer?

Ah yeah they are. Why do you have a problem with young people speaking up?

You sound like a boomer who wants everything to be the same as the 60s and 70s. Sorry, it's not those days anymore
Here we go- lets get a few things straight to start with. Whenever someone answers using the boomer bit my eyes roll straight away.Yey another entitled tosser who thinks the experience of an 18 yr old somehow matches the experience of a 66 yr old, so therefore their views as just as relevant. If you believe that then good luck to you. I dont want everything to be the same as the 60s and 70s and i didnt suggest it-just your appalling ability to read put that there. However in the 50s and 60s we won 11 in a row and had a team of winners-maybe you werent around for that but i was. Its not those days anymore and now we rarely win. If you don't like what i say then that's fine, but don't make things up like i said them. This is a forum and everyone is allowed to say what they like. But i dont expect to be attacked about my views from you and selectively whinging but leaving the main point about Amone out of it. Thats what I said is all about. Try reading the whole thing

SBD82

As far as fewer using alcohol and drugs-i strongly disagree and im sure the figures back that up.

Self reporting isn’t the most reliable of tools, but it’s really the only tool we have. And AOD use is trending down.

However i think i probably am looking through rose coloured glasses, but ive never met anyone who eventually doesnt.

Absolutely we do. Although many fail to recognise it about themselves. Kudos for not being one of those poor folk.

My perception may be wrong, but its a forum so i guess you either agree or disagree with me-thats fine.

For sure. And I hope I haven’t seemed disrespectful.

But i do come from a period when respect did mean something, and i certainly dont see that anymore at all-all i see is young people demanding respect without having earned it. I also respect your opinion

Thanks mate. I respect yours too.

I think respect means something to young people now too, although I suspect that the meaning has changed over time.

My experience working with young people is that respect isn’t bestowed due to age or hierarchical structure, it’s earned through actions. I actually quite enjoy this idea, although I can see why it would be challenging for generations who held more reverence for age and experience.

I also think that our social institutions eg employment aren’t working the same way for young people. Job security and conditions aren’t what they once were so employers aren’t treated with the same respect. But I’ve found young people incredibly respectful towards me whenever I’ve approached them in an authentic and honest way.

Maximus

Here we go- lets get a few things straight to start with. Whenever someone answers using the boomer bit my eyes roll straight away.Yey another entitled tosser who thinks the experience of an 18 yr old somehow matches the experience of a 66 yr old, so therefore their views as just as relevant. If you believe that then good luck to you. I dont want everything to be the same as the 60s and 70s and i didnt suggest it-just your appalling ability to read put that there. However in the 50s and 60s we won 11 in a row and had a team of winners-maybe you werent around for that but i was. Its not those days anymore and now we rarely win. If you don't like what i say then that's fine, but don't make things up like i said them. This is a forum and everyone is allowed to say what they like. But i dont expect to be attacked about my views from you and selectively whinging but leaving the main point about Amone out of it. Thats what I said is all about. Try reading the whole thing

I read the whole thing, and you are a whiny entitled boomer.

You literally stated that young people have no right to speak about their employment conditions. I'm in my 30's, but if I was working with someone with your attitude, I'd probably tell you to f**k off too.

Maximus

My experience working with young people is that respect isn’t bestowed due to age or hierarchical structure, it’s earned through actions. I actually quite enjoy this idea, although I can see why it would be challenging for generations who held more reverence for age and experience.

I also think that our social institutions eg employment aren’t working the same way for young people. Job security and conditions aren’t what they once were so employers aren’t treated with the same respect. But I’ve found young people incredibly respectful towards me whenever I’ve approached them in an authentic and honest way.

People who respect young people in the workforce, and treat them like colleagues, get respected. People who demand respect because they are older and more experienced, and treat them like shit, don't get respected.

That guy is upset that young people don't respect him after he treats them like shit

No! Not until this Board has been replace. We will be doomed to a bottom 8 team while our imbercile management team continues to make bad decisions with no repercussions.
I'd say we have a few new Board members appointed recently, so all we need to replace are those who have been there for so long and those who are there for the wrong reasons.

Then get a professional head of football and Hasler as head coach on a 3-year deal. In my opinion, once we do all of this, recruitment will take care of itself and hopefully our Club culture will improve dramatically.

since77

People who respect young people in the workforce, and treat them like colleagues, get respected. People who demand respect because they are older and more experienced, and treat them like shit, don't get respected.

That guy is upset that young people don't respect him after he treats them like shit
I can only speak to my own experience- my two early twenty-something kids and their large groups of friends are incredibly switched on and proactive in regards to work ethic. They have to be if they want to earn their place in this world. I’m very impressed with what I see coming through in the generation coming out of school over the last 5 - 10 years or so. They’re way more switched on than I was at the same age.

But I was an employer when your generation - Generation Y - was coming out of school and while it’s of course a generalisation, as a collective they were the most entitled, whiniest and pathetic group of kids I ever saw come through in all my years as an employer. The attitude I see in your last few posts suggests you’re someone who never would have got past the interview stage with me.

The Word

Rubbish. Conduct detrimental to the game has been a standard breach in contracts for ages, and a bunch of players have been sacked after being charged. Being charged with a serious crime brings the game and club into disrepute, so it is within the contract terms to sack them and not pay out
Of course they can sack him that's not the point. The point is if he's found not guilty he has a case for unfair dismissal and they will need to pay out his contract.

Maximus

I can only speak to my own experience- my two early twenty-something kids and their large groups of friends are incredibly switched on and proactive in regards to work ethic. They have to be if they want to earn their place in this world. I’m very impressed with what I see coming through in the generation coming out of school over the last 5 - 10 years or so. They’re way more switched on than I was at the same age.

But I was an employer when your generation - Generation Y - was coming out of school and while it’s of course a generalisation, as a collective they were the most entitled, whiniest and pathetic group of kids I ever saw come through in all my years as an employer. The attitude I see in your last few posts suggests you’re someone who never would have got past the interview stage with me.

So I never would have got through the interview stage because I think older people shouldn't just treat young people like garbage and still expect respect? Probably says a lot more about you as an employer than me as an employee.

Maximus

Of course they can sack him that's not the point. The point is if he's found not guilty he has a case for unfair dismissal and they will need to pay out his contract.

And he wouldn't win. Being charged brings the game into disrepute, so he's in breach of his contract. Whether he gets found guilty or not doesn't come into it, as he's already performed the action that breached the contract.

I read the whole thing, and you are a whiny entitled boomer.

You literally stated that young people have no right to speak about their employment conditions. I'm in my 30's, but if I was working with someone with your attitude, I'd probably tell you to f**k off too.
You honestly are laughable-every comment i see from you on here is a negative. Try being nice for once-you might just get it back. Firstly i never said they have no right to speak- i said they think they have the right to be heard by everybody. Secondly you'd never work with me-i only work with talented people not perennial whingers. I learnt a long time ago not to waste my time on people like you-so brave behind a keyboard. Goodbye