Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

R&WTILLIDIE

He didn't say Good Culture he said Strong Culture as in a tight knit group, there's a world of difference.

We're getting a reputation as a club of bogans and ne'er do wells, if we haven't already - JDB, Sailor, Packer, Fonua-Blake, Amone, BBQ-gate, Award night no shows, etc. Time for massive changes, new owners, new leadership and management.
Aren’t good culture and strong culture the same thing?

I can’t see juniors conduct as a cultural issue exclusive to sgi or the whole of footy for that matter.

You’d have to find a link somewhere between the club and thr alleged offence and the conduct itself is so rare, just off the scale. It could have been any player at any club.

Neither SGI or the league can tie players up.

Junior and co have probably been read the riot act a million times by now. JDB, the embodiment of what can happen, there in everyone’s faces all the time for years.

You would think all players would understand their role and value to the club, fans, friends and family and it’s tough being in the public eye.

You can lead a horse to water…

I’m confident your club will find a ready replacement and that other youngsters will step up.

Just an amazing flukey opportunity for players under him to get a chance like this, it’s a brutal and competitive sport amongst the players. A good example of this is the contract situation. Almost all players are in it for themselves. Not many take a hit to keep marquee regrettably.

In these unique circumstances, the NRL should give you a hand up somehow. It should be falling over itself to repay the harsh way in which the bbq gate players were treated by sgi, which effectively killed off a willing season.

People disagree that it was too harsh, but I think it could have been managed better and in different ways. It hurt the fans more than anything else. It obviously had zero impact on Junior. He apparently didn’t hesitate to harm and punish when he could. Complete breakdown.

Not the clubs fault, I honestly think they’d be gutted, after their huge investment in him. And he’s on the up with a massive future. Pay day was approaching for the club as far as he was concerned and then….

I’d send him off to counseling, but it’s not going to cheer anyone up if he hangs around. He would sense people are quite angry about it.

since77

He didn't say Good Culture he said Strong Culture as in a tight knit group, there's a world of difference.

We're getting a reputation as a club of bogans and ne'er do wells, if we haven't already - JDB, Sailor, Packer, Fonua-Blake, Amone, BBQ-gate, Award night no shows, etc. Time for massive changes, new owners, new leadership and management.
A strong culture would have been demonstrated by a group of players being more interested in playing finals and obeying their coach than a piss up after scraping home against a Warriors team that threw a game away.

I'm predicting Amone will not spend time in prison will get a suspended sentence, the tradie will sue him for loss of income etc.
On the facts, I think it’s way too serious for a suspended sentence.

Don’t forget he’s in company. 2 blokes after 1 roofie. They are armed.

It’s a genuine miracle the roofie wasn’t killed, sustained brain damage or could even get up again.

The court will smash him. 3 years full time after discounts etc on a plea and he should consider himself very lucky.

The court will consider itself bound to send a strong message out to the community. This stuff won’t be tolerated. I’m not sure it will think it has much of a choice. It’s hands will be tied.

kit66

A strong culture would have been demonstrated by a group of players being more interested in playing finals and obeying their coach than a piss up after scraping home against a Warriors team that threw a game away.

Possibly. A bit of respect for their coach, a bit of common sense. What annoyed me was the amount of money these guys get paid to do something they love doing and they still can't keep it together for a season without acting like reckless teenagers with no responsibility or respect for anyone. The cultural aspect is or should be created by the Club from the top down, that's what's missing. New players to the club should walk in and quickly know their place and what's expected of them from their coach, management, team mates and fans, it's something they should look up to and be proud to be a part of. Who are the role models at our club for the new guys and younger guys ? JDB ? He's tainted. Lawrie ? Not a leader. Hunt ? Maybe but he has little support. And we have a coach who garners little respect and may be gone after a few rounds anyway.
Recruitment never went looking for leaders or guys to build a club around. It's more like every man for himself with us. You don't know if you'll be playing from week to week or be dropped for some old has-been for no good reason. Or indeed be let go, like Sims, when you've given your all for the club ( and when we need guys like him).
The good teams have a no nonsense coach and a strong core of experienced, respected players the rest of the team can follow and play for. It's not rocket surgery.

Dragon David

Possibly. A bit of respect for their coach, a bit of common sense. What annoyed me was the amount of money these guys get paid to do something they love doing and they still can't keep it together for a season without acting like reckless teenagers with no responsibility or respect for anyone. The cultural aspect is or should be created by the Club from the top down, that's what's missing. New players to the club should walk in and quickly know their place and what's expected of them from their coach, management, team mates and fans, it's something they should look up to and be proud to be a part of. Who are the role models at our club for the new guys and younger guys ? JDB ? He's tainted. Lawrie ? Not a leader. Hunt ? Maybe but he has little support. And we have a coach who garners little respect and may be gone after a few rounds anyway.
Recruitment never went looking for leaders or guys to build a club around. It's more like every man for himself with us. You don't know if you'll be playing from week to week or be dropped for some old has-been for no good reason. Or indeed be let go, like Sims, when you've given your all for the club ( and when we need guys like him).
The good teams have a no nonsense coach and a strong core of experienced, respected players the rest of the team can follow and play for. It's not rocket surgery.
My thoughts too kit66. We really need some decent role models who bleed the red V somebody like Jason Nightingale.

jak

great post mate

Mojo

I recall Sims was with the SOO squad at the time of the BBQ and he said “If I knew it was happening, then it wouldn’t have happened!”. I also recall Mary saying of Vaughan: “He’s a great guy, but not a leader”. Nature abhors a vacuum.

Parko1310

Goes to show what a valued signing Finucane would've been if we'd landed him.

justadragon

you have to ask the question, why our leaders are not respected or valued by other members of the squad, we did have moose, sims, McColough, and hunt. If you look at both moose and sims history , its not flash, McColough like frizell , are not outspoken enough, they just like to set the example. With hunt there were rumors they other players werent happy with his new contract. So basically what makes a good leader in todays game along with all the attributes of culture that he must possess, who knows. Now you take Norm Provan, one of the greatest leaders the club has ever had, he was feared and respected, a bloody hard man. Would that work in todays environment, i dont think so, not with the new wave of talent that is happening in the NRL. I know a lot of people didnt like him but Cam Smith has been one of the best leaders at every level of the game in its modern age, and I dont think we have too many like him at the Dragons.

Norm Provan and the old elite, they better understood their influence.

I just learned today than Junior is related to that Manly church stabber guy, so maybe the tough guy idea is part of the family way of managing disputes.

The consequences of that terrible stabbing event should have sent a message to Junior as well.

If he’s got the rougher kind of family, it’s hard for a good club culture to settle into his head.

People can adopt lawless ways, but it’s a difficult life and almost always ends badly for the person, friends and family.

A few minutes of madness has destroyed absolutely everything he’s worked so hard for and let so many people down.

Auntie.Gerald

does anyone know whether the roofer was holding a tool and or nail gun etc ?

all we have is hear say re Amone and a hammer

im guessing this could alter a potential sentence?

Dragon David

Welcome back to the Forum Justa. Hope you had a good break.

does anyone know whether the roofer was holding a tool and or nail gun etc ?

all we have is hear say re Amone and a hammer

im guessing this could alter a potential sentence?
Roofie was running away, almost killed himself in his desperate bid to escape.

The ladder had to be moved to stop Amone from coming down and getting to him after he said “ Get the Merkin”

In the circumstances, I don’t see how Junior is going to argue self defence.

Plus he’s with a buddy, 2 on 1, making it even more serious.

If you running towards the fracas, climbing up a roof chasing someone, it might be hard to argue self defence.

Stranger things have probably happened though.

Roofie was running away, almost killed himself in his desperate bid to escape.

The ladder had to be moved to stop Amone from coming down and getting to him after he said “ Get the Merkin”

In the circumstances, I don’t see how Junior is going to argue self defence.

Plus he’s with a buddy, 2 on 1, making it even more serious.

If you running towards the fracas, climbing up a roof chasing someone, it might be hard to argue self defence.

Stranger things have probably happened though.
One side of the story

Best we wait till all the evidence is heard

Last time I checked the presumption of innocence still exists.

I am sure we all agree that if the incident occurred as reported, Amone is done wearing the red V.

Auntie.Gerald

Silverdale that account doesnt answer 100% what happened and what didnt happen.

We the public dont know what else happened regarding what the Roofer did or didnt do.

I dont like what has been reported...........but i am also patient enough to hear the whole story without casting judgement with half the evidence or in the case what might be judged as "hear say"

Silverdale that account doesnt answer 100% what happened and what didnt happen.

We the public dont know what else happened regarding what the Roofer did or didnt do.

I dont like what has been reported...........but i am also patient enough to hear the whole story without casting judgement with half the evidence or in the case what might be judged as "hear say"
Quite true the legal matter will take its course as it must and findings will be made. We will all have to be patient I agree.

I agree that the reports are hearsay to us and therefore it is dangerous to rely upon them.

But this is a forum and it’s ok to put a view across subject to the rules and law etc.

I suppose my point is, based on available media and what the reports have said is that it’s going to take quite a serious effort for Junior to run a self defence case.

And sometimes, hearsay is proven to be true and right.

What you tell me about Junior even if you were not there could have indeed happened.

I don’t see Junior threatening the papers etc for defamation etc. If what they have said is not true, he may never need to play footy ever again.

Thanks for your comment. It was good.