Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Just a ‘what if’

Yeah I bought my tickets the night we made it, then sorted out the accomodation the next day. Drove up but had to rush back after the game so despite hanging around till well after midnight when the team was presented back at the club, I still got in the car and drove back to Melbourne the next day, looooong day…
It was 2 am when they finally got back wasn't it?

Ozzi_78

It was 2 am when they finally got back wasn't it?
Yes. Soooo late. Like annoyingly late given the circumstances of the first Premiership you’d think you’d want to get back asap and away from soulless Aussie stadium empty.

Thousands of people on the field waiting for them to return.

Yes. Soooo late. Like annoyingly late given the circumstances of the first Premiership you’d think you’d want to get back asap and away from soulless Aussie stadium empty.

Thousands of people on the field waiting for them to return.
True that, kind if killed the vibe a little bit. Next day was a write off for me 😆

I was back there for the celebration… packed in the sun it was great

Should have self manged myself better but that was out the window for the entire week leading up to it. Lost a tooth out of my head at Sunshine Coast Airport (It was loose for weeks) That was a sign!
I watched the game over and over again in my hovel above the bar next day, eating greasy take away. That's living Barry!

Should have self manged myself better but that was out the window for the entire week leading up to it. Lost a tooth out of my head at Sunshine Coast Airport (It was loose for weeks) That was a sign!
I watched the game over and over again in my hovel above the bar next day, eating greasy take away. That's living Barry!

1. manged
    [probably from the French ‘manger’ or Italian ‘mangiare’, to eat; perhaps influenced by English ‘mange’, ‘mangy’] adj. Refers to anything that is mangled or damaged, usually beyond repair. “The disk was manged after the electrical storm.” Compare mung.

My 'day' started many months earlier.
I listen frequently to my inner voice, it started yelling at me early in the season, as soon as that years indigenous jerseys were released.
It said "wear this jersey every home game this year and the Sharks will win the comp"
So i did.
3 months out I booked holidays for the week after, I was asked what I was doing, I told them its because the Sharks are going to win the comp. I was laughed at profusely.
My best mate had died the year before, we had always had an agreement, whomever teams went further into the finals the other would go to the games for support. I had the worst of that deal, for he was a Manly fan.
I'd organised a benefit night after his death to help his wife and son (my god son). Part of the fund raising was selling a t-shirt with him on it.
Also months out, my inner voice told me to wear that t-shirt under the jersey so he was there with me, but I was also told to not tell a soul, including my partner at the time, do that and we will win.
Fast forward to the game day, I was always confident but with 15 mins to go I got the shakes and for the first time all year i started doubting everything. My inner voice kicked in and said "go out for a smoke, and during that time we will score and win the game"
I walked down the stairs and heard the biggest cheer I have ever heard, ran towards a TV to check out the replay, "FIFITA!!!!" I then ran outside and had a smoke.
The rest is history.

Friends had organised one of their cars to be parked in the opposite car park of the ground, the junior footy grounds, their boot full of piss and ice.
I was there until 6am, with former Cronulla great, Chris Gardiner, drinking along side me.
Next day I went to the Leagues but ended up at Northies where they had the game in full replay,
at full time Lewie and Wado ran to the screen and I followed them, grabbing them in bear hugs, they hugged me back.
Lewie showed me how to do a selfie in front of the screen.
I was sick for a week after that.

Chimp

So… Thanks to our good mate Frenzy, I appear to have provisional digs lined up… I’ve dropped an email to a few airlines to see if they’d be up for giving me a price for a provisional flight that I can cancel (if we don’t make it) to try and avoid having to book a last minute flight… none have responded yet, and I doubt they’ll be up for that. I’ve also put an email in to the club, hoping they might have some business/corporate contacts at an airline who might be able to help… not after a freebie on the flight, just would be good to have a flight that I can cancel at no cost ‘if’ we get knocked out.
If anyone here has any good contacts with airlines who fly to the U.K., feel free to share….

So… Thanks to our good mate Frenzy, I appear to have provisional digs lined up… I’ve dropped an email to a few airlines to see if they’d be up for giving me a price for a provisional flight that I can cancel (if we don’t make it) to try and avoid having to book a last minute flight… none have responded yet, and I doubt they’ll be up for that. I’ve also put an email in to the club, hoping they might have some business/corporate contacts at an airline who might be able to help… not after a freebie on the flight, just would be good to have a flight that I can cancel at no cost ‘if’ we get knocked out.
If anyone here has any good contacts with airlines who fly to the U.K., feel free to share….
I'm not sure how much you travel but in my experience it would be 'fairly' easy to find a flight within 7 days you would think? I know things have been mucked about the last few years but I think you will still find a flight that day we make the GF. Being your geo location is an advantage for starters.

Just make sure your flight arrives in the city that the GF is being held. (Syd-a-ney or Brisbane).

Had a mate up here have a harrowing experience of trying to get back home form WA when the bad storms took out half of the power in Perth. He ended up having to find his own overnight accommodation in Perth then the flights were cancelled so he went via Melbourne, then Sydney then Brissie. The flight from Bris to Rocky was 5am the next morning so again the poor B had to find his own overnight accommodation and get to the airport at 4am-ish to get home.

His original booked flights was Perth to Brissie then connect to Rocky. A one day trip. Oh yeah and when the poor bastard went to get his car out of the Airport Parking his battery was flat as a tack.

I told him it was because he was a Hartley of Brookvale fan.

Cat's out of the bag.

Don't go thinking there's a good guy inside.

I didn't tell him he's sleeping in the well.

Who's got my lotion?

Are you allowed to take desperadoes into your abode? Isn't that against your parole conditions. I thought the judge was adamant about that when he gave his ruling.

I'm not sure

My parole guy hasn't been seen since the last home visit

Maybe he's in the well

The well or the wall cavity. Be furhucked if I'd be putting my napsack under your roof even if I was a transported bread stealing pom, I'd still prefer a park bench or under a tree.

The wall cavities are at capacity. I'll have to start cooking again.