Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kangaroosters

Kaz

junior
http://dailytelegraph.news.com.au/story.jsp?sectionid=1264&storyid=269383

By DEAN RITCHIE

October 1, 2003

SYDNEY Roosters coach Ricky Stuart has called for eight of his players to be considered for the Kangaroos as player burnout claimed another big name yesterday in Gorden Tallis.

In a dramatic day, Tallis, the Queensland captain, announced his retirement from all representative football.

The shock development throws a greater spotlight on Sunday night's grand final as the last chance for players to impress for the Kangaroo tour of New Zealand, France and Britain from October 14.

Stuart last night nominated hardman Michael Crocker as the player to replace Tallis. "Michael's versatility of being able to play hooker or in the back row would make him an ideal tourist," Stuart said.

"Obviously his chances now increase with Gorden out. I certainly think we should have eight players chosen or at least considered."

The Panthers are also calling for a strong Kangaroo representation with at least six players under consideration.

While calling for eight Roosters to tour, Stuart also took a fierce swipe at Australian coach and rival Chris Anderson.

Anderson said in Tuesday's Daily Telegraph that Penrith's forwards could run over the top of the Roosters.

Stuart fired back: "It wasn't surprising coming from him. He'd do anything for us to get beaten this weekend."

With 15 stars already out of the Kangaroo tour, the Roosters and Panthers could have up to 14 representatives between them on the tour.

Both clubs trained in front of fans yesterday. The Roosters drew 3000 supporters to Aussie Stadium while thousands were also on hand at Penrith Stadium to cheer the Panthers.

Crocker said of his Kangaroo hopes: "It would be a dream but at the moment I'm just focused on the grand final."

Stuart said his halfback Brett Finch should be considered along with rival halfbacks Craig Gower and Brett Kimmorley.

"Brett Finch has done his chances no harm recently," Stuart said. "His level of maturity has grown immensely.

"And his combination with Craig Wing would be a huge benefit for any tour side."

The Panthers under consideration are Gower, Girdler, Rhys Wesser, Luke Lewis, Joel Clinton and Preston Campbell.

Panthers chief executive Shane Richardson said: "If we play and win the grand final they will be forced to pick more of our players. That is a motivating factor for us."

The Kangaroos play a Test against New Zealand on October 18 before leaving for France on October 20.

The ultimate goal is a three-Test Ashes series against England. The squad will be announced Monday.

After announcing his decision not to tour, Tallis said: "Leading Australia on a Kangaroo tour is the highest honour, but my body is telling me it's just not up to it.

"I've got one year left on my contract with the Broncos and want to give that my best shot."

With Tallis and Andrew Johns unavailable, Darren Lockyer is expected to be named Kangaroo captain.

At first I thought it was April Fools Day, when I read this.

The SAD part about this story is Stuart believes it.

The only way Crocker & Finch will get picked is all the better players have withdrawn from the Tour.

Big Tim

Problem is Kaz, that many of the better players have withdrawn. Imagine an Aus side without the names of Tallis, Johns, BK, Tahu and Gidley. It is almost an Australia A side :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Kaz

junior
Big Tim2 said:
Problem is Kaz, that many of the better players have withdrawn. Imagine an Aus side without the names of Tallis, Johns, BK, Tahu and Gidley. It is almost an Australia A side :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

The Tour is now a joke.

So far 14 players have withdrawn.

rossy

I'm not sure if that's really the case. If you try and read between the lines, I think this is part of a broader dispute between Chris Anderson & Sticky. Stuart seems to be saying pick players on form not reputation. God knows, if Anderson had his way Kimmorley would be half with Ben Anderson @ 5/8 & Jarrad Anderson inside centre. Crock and Flanno have been playing better than a lot of other bigger names though. :D

I wouldn't trade them for the world.

Stevo_G

well it is the best chance great britain will ever have to win the ashes so they better win it cos they would never have a great chance like this again

rossy said:

I'm not sure if that's really the case. If you try and read between the lines, I think this is part of a broader dispute between Chris Anderson & Sticky. Stuart seems to be saying pick players on form not reputation. God knows, if Anderson had his way Kimmorley would be half with Ben Anderson @ 5/8 & Jarrad Anderson inside centre. Crock and Flanno have been playing better than a lot of other bigger names though. :D

I wouldn't trade them for the world.

so you wouldnt trade Crocker for say Rubin Wiki?
your nuts if you say no......... BTW im not serious, stay away from rubin!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

i do agree with stuart teams should be picked on form

Kaz

junior
Raider_69 said:
i do agree with stuart teams should be picked on form

If that is the case, Penrith should have heaps of players in the squad.

But it will be picked on, who is fit. :lol:

Rickys gotta be joking 8 players?

Wing, Mini, Fitzgibbon, Hegarty, Flannery - Yes
Crocker- Maybe
Finch - No way.
And I suppose Chris Walker is the other one hes thinking of. lol

We deserve a couple of players on the tour, but we wont get any, even with 15 odd players ruled out. It's such bullshit.

The Roosters that should be on tour:

Ricketson, Fitsgibbon, Hegarty, Minichello, Wing,

As for others Flannery and Crocker not a bad choice but probably other better choices than those two.

Now Brett Finch???? hes kidding himself, :lol: :lol: Thats worse than picking kimmorley in the team.

DaleyIsGod said:

Crocker- Maybe
Finch - No way.

We deserve a couple of players on the tour, but we wont get any, even with 15 odd players ruled out. It's such bullsh*t.

Ryan O'Hara for sure!!!!!

Maybe Davico, but if O'Hara isnt picked on tour I'll walk from Sydney to Canberra with my thongs on.

Once Dead

Finally the Poms will have a decent chance-i hope they don't hold back and cane the hell out of Australia.....GO YOU POMS!!!!!!!!!

PARRA_FAN said:
DaleyIsGod said:

Crocker- Maybe
Finch - No way.

We deserve a couple of players on the tour, but we wont get any, even with 15 odd players ruled out. It's such bullsh*t.

Ryan O'Hara for sure!!!!!

Maybe Davico, but if O'Hara isnt picked on tour I'll walk from Sydney to Canberra with my thongs on.

I'd love Rhino to get his due, but I just can't see it happening mate. There's too much bias against the Raiders when it comes to rep footy. By my thinking they'll take 4 props, maybe 5...And that will probably be Webcke, Civonicieva, Price, Kearns & Clinton...If they take a young prop it will be either Clinton, O'Meley or Villa.

Booyah

Out of the list Stuart mentioned;

Minichello
Wing
Fitzgibbon
Hegarty
Walker
Finch
Ricketson
Crocker

The only ones that deserve to go are the ones that have already played Test footy, and Mick Crocker. Walker is dreaming if he thinks he's a chance. Likewise Finch.

Ron Jeremy

aqua_duck said:
Finch- :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol:

I really hope the Pom's flog the Aussies.......im Australian myself but?? let's be serious.....if we wan't Rugby League to grow internationally then we need other countries to beat us on a consistent basis!!

I reckon in internations we should revert back to the 5 metre rule....it may mean less try's & a tighter game??

If Great Britain doesnt beat Australia in at least one game, then theres something definatley wrong with the game over there.