Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kearney

DeanPay98

We would have won the 99 semi if Moran hadn't botched that try and if the Storm hadn't kept on hitting Jason Smith late. They weren't really penalized for the late hits.

The 2000 finals run was gold and even the Broncos game wasn't that bad.

In 1997 our team was severely injured so the losses weren't awful. Though losing to Newcastle after we lead 18-0 sucked.

2001 was disappointing in the GF. But really it felt like we were premiers anyway.

2002 we weren't expected to beat the Broncos.

2005 v Cowboys we had no Hindy and no Moi Moi.

The 1998 finals win against the Broncos with Chook Herron kicking goals was a favourite. Vintage season.

Its only fans like PouPou who are only happy if we win a Grand Final. There's a weird paradox here: on the one hand we're only successful if we win Grand Finals on the other hand Kearney is a good coach despite his win-loss record. Go figure.

For my money, I just want the Eels to be competitive each year. It'd be nice if we won a GF, but my life won't change if we do. I'd rather just be following a football team that gave me 26 weeks of good footy each year or thereabouts. At the moment I'm not getting 26 minutes.

IFR33K

DeanPay98 said:
There's a weird paradox here: on the one hand we're only successful if we win Grand Finals on the other hand Kearney is a good coach despite his win-loss record. Go figure.

For my money, I just want the Eels to be competitive each year. It'd be nice if we won a GF, but my life won't change if we do. I'd rather just be following a football team that gave me 26 weeks of good footy each year or thereabouts. At the moment I'm not getting 26 minutes.

Agreed 100%

Well said

what are the 5?

I reckon I can think of 3.

The Dogs game (or the Carige game?)

The 2001 GF

The 2005 major semi

Apart from that we actually mostly WON finals games in which we weren't favourites.

The 5 I mean are the loss to Norths in '97, The Dogs game we all remember unfortunately, loss to the Storm in '99, the '01 GF and the '05 Prelim loss to the Cowboys. But we had our fair share of upset wins though during that time too that's why I don't think it's a big deal.

Wise Old Eel

Gee, nobody cared about Brian Smith's win record when we consistently lost finals matches we should have won.

I'm sure you'll agree a premiership win or two will render irrelevant Kearney's early 'sweepout years' with the club.

:alcho: You really live in another dimension, don't you?

Let's start winning more games than we lose (under Kearney) before daring to dream, shall we?

WOE

oldmancraigy

The 5 I mean are the loss to Norths in '97, The Dogs game we all remember unfortunately, loss to the Storm in '99, the '01 GF and the '05 Prelim loss to the Cowboys. But we had our fair share of upset wins though during that time too that's why I don't think it's a big deal.

Probably a bit harsh on the team in 1997 and 1999.

We were a good team, but our opponents had only 1 less win all year. You'd hardly say it was a game we were red hot favourites in (like those other 3!)

Ah well.

Maroubra Eel

I'm all for rookie coaches. Just not at our club. At least most rookies have done their apprenticeship through the lower grades. Supercoach is doing his apprenticeship with our 1st Grade side and we're all meant to sit back and wait for him to learn his skills. What a joke.

And not a very funny joke either imo.

Despite Bennett's performance so far this season, he can at least point of a career of consistent coaching achievement. Kearney can only point to his impressive powerpoint presentation containing the catchphrases "structure" and "academy" and being happy with the lads and not needing any help....

Bennett also captain-coached Ipswich, and was head coach of Brisbane Souths, and Brisbane Brothers in the QLD Cup (or whatever they called it back then) for over 10 years before he got the co-coaching role of Canberra in '87. So he had the experience.

We've done the AGM thing, We've done the group hug thing down the coast. We've done the blaming individual players in press conferences. We've done the stick with the same shit players week in week out thing. Now it stand as 7 from 35.

PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF CHRIST, BUDDHA,MOSES, ALLAH, SACK KEARNEY NOW.

PLEASE!!!!!!!!

Wally21

We've done the AGM thing, We've done the group hug thing down the coast. We've done the blaming individual players in press conferences. We've done the stick with the same shit players week in week out thing. Now it stand as 7 from 35.

PLEASE!!!!!!!!

:D

spartan2153

PLEASE!!!!!!!!

Lol

PLEASE!!!!!!!!

:pray:

:lol:.

Worse than the 7 wins from 35 career coaching record imo is his stat for only 2 wins from last 19 games or something. That's dismal, give the fans some hope and bring in a decent coach for the rest of the season!

forestfan

That performance is not warranting a sack SK to be pushed forward by any means

the only reason he could be sacked would be for the totality of the 2012 season

I mean tonight we were good, f**king hate losing and its soul destroying but lets NOT put this one on SK and Arthur

If this amateur moron way out of his depth gets the sack it will deadset highlight my year. I just hope the board don't now try to mask his ineptness by announcing some signings and give us the spin on how this is part of the SK vision.

The guys has nothing, he is cursed, he is from Melbourne, I want nothing to do with him his methods, his philosophy. Please board members, f**k him off.