Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kemble's at a loss over big defeat

Skinner

From : http://www.nzherald.co.nz/section/4/story.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10474034

For me, Asotasi's comments at the foot of the article speak volumes

Neither Kiwis coach Gary Kemble nor captain Roy Asotasi could tell why the side performed so miserably at Hull yesterday.

"We don't know why, we just didn't turn up," Kemble said, admitting he knew his job was on the line, that he was feeling that pressure and that reviewing his own performance would have to be part of analysing the thrashing.

There was no cohesion, no attack, he agreed. "No, and we'd worked on that all week so that was very disappointing."

Changes had to be made in selection and the halves would be one area. "You look at your halves to direct the game," the coach said. Leuluai's injury would be assessed during the week but he had to keep looking for the right combination there.

Teenagers Shaun Kenny-Dowall and Chase Stanley would be considered in the backs as would prop Jeff Lima. They had all been training well. "We have to look at form: we have some players who haven't stood up."

Kemble said he was disappointed they conceded two soft tries early on, after speaking about the need to start hard and fast. Down 16-0 at halftime they still had some chance and he spoke about creating pressure and getting a good kick-chase going. "We didn't do that."

There was no cohesion, no attack, he agreed. "No, and we'd worked on that all week so that was very disappointing."

Changes had to be made in selection and the halves would be one area. "You look at your halves to direct the game," the coach said. Leuluai's injury would be assessed during the week but he had to keep looking for the right combination there.

Teenagers Shaun Kenny-Dowall and Chase Stanley would be considered in the backs as would prop Jeff Lima. They had all been training well. "We have to look at form: we have some players who haven't stood up."

Kemble said he was disappointed they conceded two soft tries early on, after speaking about the need to start hard and fast. Down 16-0 at halftime they still had some chance and he spoke about creating pressure and getting a good kick-chase going. "We didn't do that."

The coaching staff had to review all they had done during the week, he said. "We thought we did everything right, the trainings looked good."

Captain Asotasi and fullback Sam Perrett were the only two to come out of the game with credit but his answer to the question 'why?': "I dunno, it's pretty disappointing. There's no doubt the effort and desire is there. We spoke about a fast start and obviously that didn't happen. We had a couple of bad decisions go against us and Great Britain capitalised on our errors."

Asotasi, in his third test as skipper, agreed the team would benefit from wider leadership. "We've got a lot of young guys who are still finding their way."

And the squad is still finding its way with Kemble, his approach is a big change from that of Brian McClennan. "It's very different," Asotasi said of Kemble's coaching, "the boys are still trying to gel."

He said they had to stay positive and attack the third test.

ozbash

Former New Zealand rugby league coach Bob Bailey has slammed the current Kiwis players as mercenaries who have little regard for test football.

Much criticism has been directed at coach Gary Kemble in the wake of the Kiwis' 0-44 drubbing by Great Britain at Hull on Sunday morning but Bailey said the players' "disgraceful" attitude should be highlighted.

He was also critical of outspoken New Zealand Rugby League (NZRL) chairman Andrew Chalmers, who he described as a "boofhead".

Bailey said the players had shown a lack of urgency in all three tests under Kemble over the last month, including the 0-58 loss to Australia in Wellington.

"Most of the players don't live in New Zealand no more so they don't care about New Zealand much anyway," Bailey told Radio Sport.

"I believe if they make the Kiwis team it's a bonus for them at the end of the year.

"They make some extra money but as for putting on the Kiwi jersey, I don't think it's that important to them no more."

Bailey was most deriding of Penrith second rower Frank Pritchard, who he said was responsible for letting through "80 per cent" of Great Britain's tries.

Captain Roy Asotasi was the only player who could hold his head up following the weekend's capitulation, said Bailey, but the skipper was out of order with his veiled post-match criticism of Kemble.

Asotasi said Kemble was "still finding his feet" at international level.

"That's just a cop out from them trying to put the blame on somebody else, which players usually do," Bailey said.

"They should be looking at themselves, not the coach all the time.

"The comradeship of playing for New Zealand has gone. I don't think they really care whether they play or not."

The coach had no control over players' desire to tackle, a key measuring stick which had failed badly again over the weekend.

"Defending is a personal agenda," he said.

"You can go out on the paddock and make 50 tackles one day but if you don't feel like it the next week, you can make 20.

"It relates back to the individual.

"Blaming the coach is quite simple."

Bailey said Chalmers should be held accountable for his off-field antics, particularly his vocal disapproval of the referee appointment and the judicial process.

Chalmers last month described Great Britain prop Adrian Morley as a "maniac".

"I think he's made a fool of himself," Bailey said.

"How can the players look up to him and say `we've got something to aim for' if he's making a boofhead of himself at the same time."

The NZRL administration was the worst it had ever been, Bailey added, including iconic former coach Graham Lowe in his assessment.

"Graham's been recycled. Graham's probably going through the motions of being involved in rugby league late in life," he said.

"He probably believes in what he does but whether he's right or wrong is another thing."
-NZPA

doogiehowser_md

Also Bob Bailey needs to shut his mouth! If he keeps on bringing this crap up that we shouldnt pick players who dont care about NZ and so on we wont have players like Stanley,Paea, Foran, Proctor, Roberts etc pledging allegiance to NZ they'll just wanna play origin if they think there gonna get stick from oldies like him. So he should just shut it or face worser hidings than those recieved in the last few weeks. However I do agree with him re:Chalmers he is a fool. Kembles gotta go but I did like how he got all these up and coming guys to pledge allegience to NZ before Aussie & QLD got in their ears.

Skinner

doogiehowser_md said:
Also Bob Bailey needs to shut his mouth! If he keeps on bringing this crap up that we shouldnt pick players who dont care about NZ and so on we wont have players like Stanley,Paea, Foran, Proctor, Roberts etc pledging allegiance to NZ they'll just wanna play origin if they think there gonna get stick from oldies like him. So he should just shut it or face worser hidings than those recieved in the last few weeks. However I do agree with him re:Chalmers he is a fool. Kembles gotta go but I did like how he got all these up and coming guys to pledge allegience to NZ before Aussie & QLD got in their ears.

Can't disagree really.

Micistm

To be fair, I heard Bob Baileys interview on radio sport- and he was offering his honest opinion of which we are all entitled, Radio Sport actively sought him out for the interview, and like all fans of the game is no doubt speaking from an emotional point of view. He also suggested Kemble should be allowed to stay on as coach and given a chance, now he's there.
I agree in many ways with him. Bob was coach when they got similiar hidings in '91 vs the Aussies: 44-0 and 40-12 (after the fantastic first test in melbourne), but somehow the team seemed different. Likewise with hidings Endacott, Lowe, and Mclennon all received as coaches during their reigns. Great coaches, all have to deal with score blowouts. But this team...I can't describe it, it's just different. No heart, passion, interest. Everyone just seems to be going through the motions. A 'young' team isn't an excuse IMO, you'd think they would have MORE passion and desire to impress.

I like Kemble from what I've seen of him as a bloke and in interviews, but IMO I think the job is beyond him. I just hope he's not made to be the scapegoat and bear the brunt of everything. The extremely arrogant, egotistical heiracy in the NZRL must be cleaned out. It needs a complete revamp...fat chance, they will do anything but look at themselves. It's a disgrace.

hmmm, that Asotasi quote sounds similar to a full grab i heard on radio sport this morning from him, which they may have butchered up for the purpose of the article

Veitch was trying to beat up a whole Asotasi not thinking Kemble is up to it type of thing this morning as well, twisted the words as best he could.

Listened to a bit of that Bailey interview as well before turning it off. I'm sure Ridgey and Wiki, who put their bodies on the line every time in the black jersey, would enjoy hearing how living in Aussie meant they weren't passionate about it. Couldn't help thinking of the irony in his comments as well, remembering he had a 44-0 in his final series.

mean

I reckon too many of our kiwi kids these days that have made it in league have fat heads because all throughout their careers, they've been told how great they are. So with all that ego massaging they've neglected to do the hards yards and have rested or relied on their talents. I'm afraid that their work ethic is p*ss poor and the other kids that have had to work hard to get to where they are because they didn't have the skills, speed, and size have overtaken them and have the hunger and desire to be winners.

MKEB...

What current examples of players not so generously gifted in skill and have to put in the hard Yakka come to mind mean?.

I dont disagree with you, i just wonder who.

MKEB...

I can understand partly Baileys reference to mercenaries. Prime example Fuifui Moimoi, only chose to play for NZ because we selected him. To me,and I have said this before; he does not deserve to wear a Kiwi jumper.

I would rather have a bartercard player representing NZ than him. Then you will have a player who dreamed of playing for the Kiwis, whilst playing the junior footy for say Huntly, Greymouth, Waitara who will play with the passion that the Kiwi Jumper merits.

mean

MKEB... said:
What current examples of players not so generously gifted in skill and have to put in the hard Yakka come to mind mean?.

I dont disagree with you, i just wonder who.

Australians, particularly those smaller ones that have that tenacious attitude.

Skinner

mean said:
I reckon too many of our kiwi kids these days that have made it in league have fat heads because all throughout their careers, they've been told how great they are. So with all that ego massaging they've neglected to do the hards yards and have rested or relied on their talents.

Why is the name Cooper Vuna pounding in my head...

mean

Skinner said:
Why is the name Cooper Vuna pounding in my head...

Yes, he's was at the forefront as I was writing the post. Hopefully Paki Afu doesn't follow in his footsteps, although Paki is more subdued in his demeanour.

ozbash

Rich102 said:
Side effect of the Viagra probably.

:lol: :lol:

The Kiwis must at least come close to the British in the third test this weekend and beat France the weekend after for coach Gary Kemble to keep his job.

New Zealand must come within a handful of points of the home side at Wigan on Sunday, as another big defeat would be "unacceptable" and could lead to Kemble's sacking as coach.
Sources said that Kemble's excusing of the 44-0 second test result by pointing to the players who have missed this northern hemisphere tour and will be available for the World Cup did not go down well.
One said: "Those players are not 44 points worse than the British".
But the NZRL chairman Andrew Chalmers played a straight bat, while hinting that Kemble's role will be debated when they return home from tour.
Chalmers said: "As I said before, his position is safe and as we indicated previously, we will obviously do a thorough review at the end of the tour."
He said a review of all staff was a standard feature of every away trip, but added: "I think it is important, especially building up to the World Cup, that the review is thorough."
Chalmers could not reveal who would conduct the review or when. He again pointed to Kemble's contract, which runs until the end of the World Cup, and said: "We need to give the coaching staff and management the fullest amount of support throughout this tour.
"It is important to avoid emotional over-reactions to difficult results. We need calm, clear rational thinking."
In Kemble's favour is the apparent atmosphere of team unity despite the humiliating result, but going against him is a feeling he has still to "win over" the dressing room.
Kemble is expected to make substantial changes today to his squad for the third test, after another disappointing performance from some key players.
The Kiwis are shifting to Manchester from Leeds to be closer to Manchester Airport, from where they fly early Monday morning for France for their tour-ending fixture, a game which has become unusually significant as Kemble's future becomes cloudier.
Skipper Roy Asotasi will be in Leeds today, as he features at the official launch of next year's World Cup.
The International Federation was meeting last night and understood to be on the agenda were final World Cup plans and the expansion of the Tri-Nations into a four nations, beginning with a tournament in the northern hemisphere in 2009 and one in the southern in 2010. One issue for debate is whether to include France and the Pacific Cup champion on alternate years, or whether to have an annual play-off between the Pacific and European champions for the fourth spot.

www.stuff

Excellent interview with Kemble on Radio Sport this morning.

A few key points from Kemble :

* Theres a number of players in that team that aren't up to international standards
* If he could he would drop 4 or 5 players
* Feels some players are just treating this as a holiday
* He'll be telling those players in one on ones tomorrow
* He'll be questioning people's loyalties in the one on ones
* If they lose this weekend he may quit
* Admits they've let the country down

Dr Crane

Mixmasterreece said:
Excellent interview with Kemble on Radio Sport this morning.

A few key points from Kemble :

* Theres a number of players in that team that aren't up to international standards
* If he could he would drop 4 or 5 players
* Feels some players are just treating this as a holiday
* He'll be telling those players in one on ones tomorrow
* He'll be questioning people's loyalties in the one on ones
* If they lose this weekend he may quit
* Admits they've let the country down

While i'm hardly a Kemble fan, i'd love to see how he'd go without the passengers in the side.

mean said:
Shall we second guess who Kemble is referring to?

hmmm

Fui (even though I dont think he's been used properly), Rapira, Whatuira, Pritchard (although I though he was really trying out there on Sunday, and is one of the most talented dudes in the team), Anderson, possibly Tuiaki ?

mean

Or are our teams just not fit enough? The Kiwis looked zapped, but I suppose that was there fault for handing over possession and forcing the errors on the last.

The GB's defence reminds me alot like a few of the NRL teams where they were up fast in defence which also I may add exploited the Warriors fitness at times.

ozbash

Mixmasterreece said:
hmmm

Fui (even though I dont think he's been used properly), Rapira, Whatuira, Pritchard (although I though he was really trying out there on Sunday, and is one of the most talented dudes in the team), Anderson, possibly Tuiaki ?

i thought rapira and louie did reasonably well on sunday.

pritchard
whats
hohaia
toopi
halatau
smith.

i would love to see a planeload of JK's land at heathrow tonight and say "here we are, wheres these bloody poms ? "

the current team is lifeless.