Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights V's Eels Post Match Discussion Thread

Misanthrope

Hell, it wasn't really the kind of win you'd want to boast about. They won it, but they won it against 14 men minus the best player in the modern game.

Phillips

chriswalkerbush said:
Hell, it wasn't really the kind of win you'd want to boast about. They won it, but they won it against 14 men minus the best player in the modern game.

stacey jones does not play for the knights ;-)

Misanthrope

Phillips said:
stacey jones does not play for the knights

lmao, wasn't expecting that claim. I'm used to hearing 'Brett Kimmorley', 'Allan Langer', and even 'Darren Lockyer'.

antonius

As everyone has said that was a real gutsy effort after losing Johns, Seage, and Tahu, and with Kennedy playing on one leg. I have got to say though we started off very poorly, two crucial mistakes in the two first sets IMO cost us the game. It was the Knights of old again, we saw it last week against the Storm, to flashy in the opening stanza. We needed to control the ball and complete our sets in the initial stages, Tahus kick on the first tackle after a Parra mistake on their line was dumb, Parra regain the ball and score , Then a couple of plays later BK trys to throw an imposible off load again on their line when we are pressuring them, and bang Parra get it back and are in again. Take those two plays out of the game and we win. I thought after the Panthers game we had turned the corner this year, but those two plays alone show we have a bit to learn in respecting the opposition at the start of games.

Still Like I said there was a lot to be proud of last night, Perry, Wooly, and Parso were fantastic for us, and Bedsy really controlled us along with Kidley after Joey went off. I also thought Ennis filled in well at a vital time. All I can say is remember 1997 we lost Johns for the best part of that year, and along came Denovour who played us into the finals, who's to say Johns wont get back on the field before seasons end? It's not all lost, Kidley has definately stood up and looks to be capable of doing a job for us, and we have Ennis, and Witt there to fill the other Halfs role. I guess we'll know more on Monday, but I'm certainly not throwing in the towel.

Dynevor had a ripper of a game yesterday in the local comp according to reports this morning. Maybe he wants a recall? :lol:

It was a gutsy performance from the Knights, but it was all too rushed and impatient to win a football game. They've got to learn to calm down and do the simple things right first. Hopefully a good week of training will get their minds on to what they should be doing.

eddo

*melliez* said:
.... that nowdays the result is taken way too seriously. I remember when I was younger, you would always say congratulations to someone when their team won, nowdays all you get is bagged out about it.

I agree that results are taken much too seriously. Look at the Roosters v dogs crowd.

*melliez*

eddo said:
*melliez* said:
.... that nowdays the result is taken way too seriously. I remember when I was younger, you would always say congratulations to someone when their team won, nowdays all you get is bagged out about it.

I agree that results are taken much too seriously. Look at the Roosters v dogs crowd.

That game is a perfect example of what I was talking about

Johns Magic

Personally I think BK had a shocker of a game. Don't get me wrong, I think that he is one of the best forwards in the competition, but yesterday he just did some really dumb things.

The Eel's second try came as a result of a BK knock on- fair enough, he just couldn't hold onto it, but it gave the opposition the roll-on that they needed. The ball was turned over, Cayless made a half-break, and Burt scored under the posts.

Just before half-time, with less than a minute to go it was obvious that the knights were not going to score in the time given. The Eels kicked off, BK got the ball, and made a hit-up. He then did a very immature thing- something you wouldn't expect from a veteran of the game. Instead of just playing it safe, and taking the tackle, BK tried to perform an unecessary off-load. He lost the ball, Parra got it and scored on half-time, putting them back in front. This was what really annoyed me, because dropping the ball is understandable, but trying to force a dumb, 50-50 pass that wouldn't have got us anywhere anyway, is just senseless.

In the second-half, the Knights were in a great attacking position, when Kidley threw a cut out pass intended for Ennis. BK, who had no chance of catching it, stuck out his hand, and got a finger to it, causing Ennis to drop the ball, and the Knights to bomb a great opportunity.

With 4 minutes to go, and down by 4, the Knights were on their tryline with the ball. Once again, BK took it up, and tried to throw an off-load- and a very obvious one at that. Of course, it was a shocker, and Hindmarsh dived on it, thus preventing any chance- small as it was- of a Knights victory.

Sure, he was playing on one leg all night, and sure, you would rather have him on your side than against you, but last night BK had a game that he'd rather forget, and perhaps a few of his errors cost the Knights the game. Hopefully he bounces back next week, fully fit, and plays to the best of his ability

Tams

Firstly, to all the Eels supporters who have come on here and been civil, supportive even, thanks a heap! It's nice to know that some clubs have decent fans!
My phone rang at 8am this morning. Not great on a Sunday. It was my dad. He's an Eels supporter. I braced myself for the laughing and teasing and general bagging - it didn't come. What did shocked me more - my father (the most stubborn Eels supporter you'll find) took back every bad word he ever said about the Knights being a one man team.
To all our baggers, take a leaf out of the old man's book. We proved beyond a doubt last night that we are NOT a one man team. We may have lost Joey for the season, but players like Buderus, Kennedy, and both of the Gidleys really stood up last night.
All I can say to teams we still have to play this year is watch out - our boys are gonna be fired up!

Misanthrope

My mate, an Eels supporter of old, said a similar thing. I think the team did a lot to dispel that illusion last night- but it won't be gone until they start winning continuously. The media loves it.

Risa

I honestly am still dumfounded. I was sitting with melliez during the game around the 40m line and honestly, when he went down I knew it was something horrible. Watching the footy show this morning his girlfriend and his mum had a feeling something bad was going to happen.

I don't want to, and won't believe that our season is over. I just think when we get all these players back that we'll still have a strong squad. We asked Clint Newton last night, he'll be back in 2 weeks. Heard Hughes is 2 weeks, Robbie is only around 2-3 weeks away I think.

It's strange too that Witt didn't play in first division last night. He had a slight calf injury according to Big League. Fingers crossed he'll play next week. The guy must be happy to get an opportunity, even with it coming in very bad circumstances.

I'm never like this...last night I kept picturing Joey going down. I was so sad. I'm never like this after a game. It is just worse with Seage being out with the same injury as well. He's only young, so there's still plenty of opportunity for him.

Stranger

Johns Magic said:
Personally I think BK had a shocker of a game. Don't get me wrong, I think that he is one of the best forwards in the competition, but yesterday he just did some really dumb things.

Agreed Bk had a terrible game for his standards.

Knights could have defused that last try verry easily but we didnt.
We can win withought joey but our best chances are with BK, The giddleys simmo and parsons.

No body is giving Wooly a wrap but the try was fantastic

Risa

From http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,9103464-23209,00.html

NEWCASTLE have vowed to "do it" for Andrew Johns after their champion playmaker was ruled out for the season last night with a torn anterior cruciate ligament.

Johns in agony after injuring his knee.
While stunned at losing their captain in last night's extraordinary match against Parramatta, which saw both Johns and fullback David Seage suffer the same injury, the Knights have wasted no time in rallying together.

"We want to make sure we do the right thing by Andrew ... and David Seage," said a solemn Knights coach Michael Hagan.

"We've still got a job to do, it's just got a bit harder."

Johns and Seage join Robbie O'Davis, Steve Simpson, Mark Hughes and Clint Newton on the injured list at Newcastle.

Johns was inspected by both Knights doctor Peter McGeoch and Parramatta doctor Michael Johnson, who does all of Newcastle's knee surgery.

Both came to the same conclusion that Johns' right knee requires a full reconstruction, unless there is a miracle when scans are taken tomorrow.

It is the third year in succession that Johns has had his season cut short by injury, following a broken back and a bulging disc in his neck in 2002 and 2003, respectively.

Newcastle's odds will blow out as a result, but the team has dismissed suggestions its premiership chances disappeared when Johns propped and fell to the ground in the 19th minute.

"We're still proud men - we're not going to roll over with our legs in the air," prop Matt Parsons said. "We'll all get together. We've got something to achieve and we've still got plenty of good footballers in our team. It's not over yet."

Hagan now must decide who fills the No7 jersey for the rest of the season, with Kurt Gidley the early favourite after having a taste of the position when Johns was sidelined last year.

keeney

if BK has a weakness its his tendency to push teh offload, evn moreso when to everyone around him the pass is not on, and while this leads to a fair few tries adn breaks when eh gets around dfeneders, it also leads to alot of turnovers adn knockons