Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kyle Flanagan

56to66

Ilias's manager is stirring up trouble; Crawling has zero idea. Flanno Jr. is fine; if he were playing behind a decent pack, it would be a different story.

Ilias should have nailed three field goals. The Saints would be sitting in the top eight, last two games; the Dolphins would be premiers now. However, losing to Scumulla again is just FD.

offiah

As others have mentioned, decent 7’s are currently available. DCE, Sexton, Reynolds. We have plenty of cap money, what are we saving it for? We can’t go into another offseason without knowing who are halves are going to be.
I'm just talking about this year.

Next year sure, although Reynolds just rejected the Tigers and apparently sacrificing $1M... so the idea that you just throw some cash and they will come, not so sure.

But yeah, let's try and sell off Illias and go for Sexton. DCE won't want anything to do with us unless the Roosters and other top options pull the pin. He's switching to have a crack at a premiership before he retires.

blacksafake

As I’ve said before I’m not in Kyle’s corner but the old line they’re using of Kyle likely not making any other side could be used for Ilias too.
People going on about sexton seem to forget he’s playing behind a good pack of forwards which has suited him but behind ours he’d just be another Kyle imo.
Don’t forget he struggled to hold down a spot at the Titans beforehand.
I’d be happy to see how Ilias & LKT goes though.

twinkletoes

As I’ve said before I’m not in Kyle’s corner but the old line they’re using of Kyle likely not making any other side could be used for Ilias too.
People going on about sexton seem to forget he’s playing behind a good pack of forwards which has suited him but behind ours he’d just be another Kyle imo.
Don’t forget he struggled to hold down a spot at the Titans beforehand.
I’d be happy to see how Ilias & LKT goes though.
Spot on!

This will, no doubt, cop flak but, the Rabbits - coached by Bennett - and Parramatta - coached by Ryles and with SOO halfback - are below us on the table.
I know, I know - we’ve got a hard series of games coming up - but just an (attempted) reality check.
Fair enough!

I reckon Flanno should just give Kyle a stint in KOE even if he truly believes Kyle's one of our best. Otherwise, he's on a hiding to nothing

Illias will prove that it isn't all on Kyle, it's the current forwards lack of defensive line speed and inability to eat the meters in attack. This means bugger all opportunities for the halfback. Any halfback!

No wonder we don't have line speed in defense - half our blokes would be gassed withing the first 10 minutes

Parko1310

I don't think anyone is blaming it all on Kyle. That's a massive stretch to pin it all on one player, and no one serious is actually doing that. Clearly, our forwards are horrible and need to be fixed. However, it is so blatantly obvious that Kyle, even in a good team, is not the answer at halfback (or 6, or anywhere in the team for that matter). Kyle is not a good player, not at all. He is in a key position, and there are no attempts being made to bring someone in over the top of him, despite the fact that there were numerous opportunities to do so. Not being in the market for Fogarty really pissed me off.

The issue is threefold

He is a proven reserve grader at strong clubs because he is slow, predictable and has a very poor kicking game so what were people thinking would be his attraction to a struggling club like us?

We just accepted his fathers word that he would get the best out of him (meaning more than what other coaches could) and we allowed him to be extended early despite him still being slow, predictable and having a very poor kicking game.

We never entertained chasing an elite half to solve what has been a long term and festering problem that holds our team back. Instead we allowed nepotism of the 1st order because at our club he isn’t a depth signing he is a walk up start each and every week.

Mitty266

Fair enough!

I reckon Flanno should just give Kyle a stint in KOE even if he truly believes Kyle's one of our best. Otherwise, he's on a hiding to nothing

Illias will prove that it isn't all on Kyle, it's the current forwards lack of defensive line speed and inability to eat the meters in attack. This means bugger all opportunities for the halfback. Any halfback!

No wonder we don't have line speed in defense - half our blokes would be gassed withing the first 10 minutes
Like I said in a previous post of mine, was at the game live watching blokes walking back hands on hips to get onside whilst getting flogged by the dolphins.

Get2dachopper!

I think the main point is that the forward pack is pretty much the same when Illias was halfback as it is now with Kyle. A few supporters are now wondering why coach was seemingly impatient with Illias and dropped him but is still happy to stick with Kyle.

Dragon David

I want a half back that has dash and flair and a great kicking game together with good defence. Am I asking too much? Is there any available? I think I am asking too much and no-one of that calibre is available anyway!!

Looking at our halves in firsts and cup, Kyle is very apprehensive with a lot of his decisions - unsure to pass or run and when he runs he gets stopped easily and his kicks are meaningless - his defence isn't too bad while in the case of Ilias, he has a reasonable running game and does pass to his outside men efficiently enough and can set up tries, his kicking game is so so as well and defence is not too bad. Of the two, I would go for Ilias. SF has to try him again and give him a lot of support and make him feel confident and not under any undue pressure.

Glover is more a goer and has more speed than Kyle and Ilias and can get in good kicks from what I have seen. Defensively might be a bit less effective than the other two. I'd give him a go alongside his reserve grade mate LKT.

SF can only say what he has said about Kyle (as he is his dad) but needs to do a closer examination of all options available to him and to justly put in a player that has better abilities in most areas as a halfback and go with it and provide the media with his decisions and how he has weighed up things to make his choice and if it is still Kyle, then that is it.

I really was hoping for Kyle to be the answer but seeing how he has not set the world on fire like Cleary, Sexton, Moses' DCE, Campbell, Reynolds, Luai, Fogarty, Hughes etc. etc. he one day will need to be sent packing and the Club bite the bullet and go for someone even a player from the Super League before it is too late and before the Perth Bears and PNG snap up the ones we would need and Flanno has to accept this.

St_Bondi

Probably been said before but there’s a reason the Chooks and Dogs didn’t want him and it’s as clear as day now. I can’t remember the forward pack he was behind at the Chooks but it would have been better than the Dragons currently and he wasn’t wanted there.

jeffdragon

I want a half back that has dash and flair and a great kicking game together with good defence. Am I asking too much? Is there any available? I think I am asking too much and no-one of that calibre is available anyway!!

Looking at our halves in firsts and cup, Kyle is very apprehensive with a lot of his decisions - unsure to pass or run and when he runs he gets stopped easily and his kicks are meaningless - his defence isn't too bad while in the case of Ilias, he has a reasonable running game and does pass to his outside men efficiently enough and can set up tries, his kicking game is so so as well and defence is not too bad. Of the two, I would go for Ilias. SF has to try him again and give him a lot of support and make him feel confident and not under any undue pressure.

Glover is more a goer and has more speed than Kyle and Ilias and can get in good kicks from what I have seen. Defensively might be a bit less effective than the other two. I'd give him a go alongside his reserve grade mate LKT.

SF can only say what he has said about Kyle (as he is his dad) but needs to do a closer examination of all options available to him and to justly put in a player that has better abilities in most areas as a halfback and go with it and provide the media with his decisions and how he has weighed up things to make his choice and if it is still Kyle, then that is it.

I really was hoping for Kyle to be the answer but seeing how he has not set the world on fire like Cleary, Sexton, Moses' DCE, Campbell, Reynolds, Luai, Fogarty, Hughes etc. etc. he one day will need to be sent packing and the Club bite the bullet and go for someone even a player from the Super League before it is too late and before the Perth Bears and PNG snap up the ones we would need and Flanno has to accept this.
Even though De belin scored a few times LKT could of thrown it out wide as we had many overlaps.

56to66

The issue is threefold

He is a proven reserve grader at strong clubs because he is slow, predictable and has a very poor kicking game so what were people thinking would be his attraction to a struggling club like us?

We just accepted his fathers word that he would get the best out of him (meaning more than what other coaches could) and we allowed him to be extended early despite him still being slow, predictable and having a very poor kicking game.

We never entertained chasing an elite half to solve what has been a long term and festering problem that holds our team back. Instead we allowed nepotism of the 1st order because at our club he isn’t a depth signing he is a walk up start each and every week.

This "We just accepted his fathers word that he would get the best out of him (meaning more than what other coaches could) and we allowed him to be extended early despite him still being slow, predictable and having a very poor kicking" game"

Ilias isn't the answer either, very poor game management