Yeah I mean look at what Hayne did to the titans. They looked like they were going to have a good year before Hayne came. They haven’t been the same since he’s left. He doesn’t make teams better he seems to make them worse. Completely opposite to your Maloney’s or Ennis’.
What I think also separates Latrell from Hayne is his love for his heritage. I imagine he would want nothing more than to be a role model for young indigenous players coming through the NRL. I just don’t see the dickhead inside of him like I do with some players. He’s a bit too competitive on the field which sometimes comes off as grubby but that’s fine with me.
Every school has the 'star' athlete. We had one [except he was a top bloke, not a dickhead]
Whenever the male teachers caught their 'star' up to no good, the attitude was 'What a scallywag. Boys will be boys hahaha' and all is forgiven. [When we were caught doing the same thing, we'd get 6 of the best] Excuses were always made. He could do no wrong.
[Sadly, he gave me a lift one night when I was 16yo. At the last minute I decided to ask him to drop me off so I could drop in on a mate. He took off & ran into a telegraph pole around the corner dying instantly. Had I not got out, I would've also died]
Hayne always had people making excuses for him. Remember when he debuted in the SOO & he threw a ball in-field that was about to go over the sideline, gifting a try & a win to Qld?
The very next day his mother, his MUMMY, is plastered over the front or back page saying 'Stop picking on my poor little Jarryd'. FFS.
That I sense was the story of his life, people making excuses for him when he fell short or was out of line.
He was so naturally gifted, not to mention a big strong unit, that everything came too easily for him. Hayne just drifted along, taking it easy.
It's well reported that he's a bludger at training plus he was a sulker. Imagine the effect that had on his teammates, especially younger players.
Did coaches go easy on him? Idk but I reckon that his laziness was the root of his toxicity, especially at the Titans. He only went there for the $$$. A quick pay day. [Hanging out with freeloading thugs can't come cheap. All that grog, cocaine & the strippers aint paying for itself]
As you say, Mitchell has his family & community around him.
Everyone is saying the same thing re; needing to be superfit so we can be sure that would be Bennett & the trainers focus. Interesting to see how quickly he shapes up. All that running at FB will help, lol.
Now it's wait & see.