Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lets Fill Our House!

5573701374_aeeb4f8f09.jpg

Souths V Broncos
June24-27th
NIB Stadium

The NRL is coming to "Our House" and there will be no better time to promote our bids chances than by filling it. Tickets will be on sale shortly (once the TV execs have finished fighting over who gets to show it!).

The Red Army will be out in force and we are looking for volunteers on the night to man the stall, hand out ballons to the kids etc. Please email if you can spare 1/2 hour before or during the game ([email protected])

We are also encouraging all fans to wear RED in a show of soladarity for our 2013 bid. Lets turn our house "Red for the Reds"!

yep coming soon for all Red Army members! It is our new logo that we have agreed upon. A range of merchandise and promotional stuff with it on will be coming out over the next few months starting with free balloons for kids at the NRL game!

Many thanks to Nuke for his artistic talents!

There'll be 15k there for sure. Prices and weather will have an effect and be the diff between a 15k crowd and a 19k crowd.

Paint The Town Red

The Red Army and WARL are asking fans to help paint NIB stadium Red at this years NRL game. With the IC likely to be deliberating on expansion options in June this is an ideal time for RL fans of WA to send them a very strong message. We are encouraging all fans to wear red and bring along a poster or banner supporting the WA Reds NRL 2013 bid. lets paint the town red!

I think they are around the 40metre line at the front of the Eastern stand. Email Richard or give Bree a ring at the WARL for more details and to book.

I wonder what Rusty and Souths make out of this game in a fiscal sense. I mean, what's their interest in Perth? They sacrifice a home game (and now maybe two) for Perth. Hmmm... Is PHaC still out in WA? Maybe some of his well to do mates just want a game out there, LOL.

If you can't get 25,000 to this game, Perth doesn't deserve a RL team. I have said this with the CC Bears - and my family live on the CC. 12,000 to NRL games should not be clapped. A complete sell out in Perth should be looked at first. Surely if 25,000 Perth natives can't go to a ONE OFF NRL game, there really isn't much call for a team over there.

I am not saying Sydney crowds are any better...but I reckon everyone should be pushing the 25,000 mark per match or its time to cull teams. Brisbane get great crowds. But Gold Coast, Nth Qld, Melbourne, Newcastle, Canberra...all one team towns...where are the supporters? Probably watching it on telly...LOL.

Nuke

NIB Stadium only holds about 20,000 I think. I say 'only' compared to your statement saying anything under 25,000 is a waste of time. I think the WACA holds about 25,000, however as we all learned during the Western Reds days, cricket / aussie rules grounds are terrible Rugby League grounds for spectators.

Oh, I didn't realise NIB was a smaller ground.

I hope no one thought I was having a go at Perth. I reckon every NRL match, no matter where it is played should really have 25,000 crowds. This should be encouraged in the current NRL and if teams can't get there, it's time for them to be reviewed.

Even more so for one team towns hoping to get in to the NRL. Should be setting a high bench mark.

Nuke

I haven't really been following the plans I'm afraid. All I keep hearing in Perth about stadium up-grades is that aussie rules people -despite having (I believe) recently having their stadium up-graded- want to pull down their stadium and/or build a brand new aussie rules stadium. Again, I don't pay attention to it all, but I do see from time-to-time people debating where it should be and where they want it.

I rarely see any mention of the rectangle-field stadium plans.

The new East $260mill East stand will be built end of this year and finished for early 2013. As for 25K, in your dreams. RL is simply not a very big code outside of two states, the NRL/ARL have failed miserably in the last 15 years to promote the game outside the heartlands so to expect 25k people to just suddenly decide to support an alien sport that has zero media profile is cloud cuckoo land mate. RL does not have a given right to the $'s of sports fans, it has to earn them and for too long has failed to even try to grow the game. No FTA, no or very ltd games in expansion states, very ltd funding outside NSW and Q'land, poor media support etc all means that RL is a minority national code. The fact we can get 15K+ (more than many heartland teams I might add) is amazing and shows a decent foundation to build on.

Nuke

Yep, pretty much. The very first Western Reds game at the WACA in 1995 drew 24,932 people. Most of which were RL supporters I'm pretty sure (I was about 14 at the time, so perhaps my memory is a tad distorted, but that's what I believe anyway). The big difference between then and now is the preparation work in the years prior. In the late 1980's, Rugby League was years ahead of any other sport as far as promotion goes. We had the best adverts and captured the imagination of most Australians. The NSWRL (as the comp was then run by) had Ken Arthurson & John Quayle, who seemed to know how to get people interested - even in places like Perth who didn't have a team. From then until the early 90's, games were taken to places like Perth, Auckland, Adelaide, ect, which ultimately sowed the seed for expansion. In Perth, there was at least one game per year involving different teams from 1989 until 1994. Interest was growing. I think in 1993 when the Western Reds were given the green light for kickoff in 1995, interest boomed. I remember playing juniors at the time, and every year from '93-'95, more and more kids were playing the game here.

Compare that to now. The NRL has pretty much been focussed on the heartland areas (admittedly in big part due to other sports trying to infiltrate and even take over), and it's been up to the individual clubs to organise games here. Even then, local media has almost snubbed us. I firmly believe it's because they don't want to promote anything other than their 'precious' AFL and possibly even feel threatened by us (and justifiably so! Haha!). All the groundwork in building up this WA Reds team has been done almost singlehandedly by the WARL with little assistance from the NRL & ARL.

Another couple of things that have happened since 1995 is Union got their foothold in here (meaning League & Union fans here are no longer deprived of a 'rugby' code in which to support), and the general rise in the cost of living. People just don't have as much money to throw around as they did 16yrs ago, so on a cold, wet, winter's night, plenty of people are going to decide that they'd rather stay in and save some much needed money than brave the cold. If they had a bit more money in their pockets, they might be more willing to spend it on a ticket to the footy for a few hours and have a few drinks.

beave

I wonder what Rusty and Souths make out of this game in a fiscal sense. I mean, what's their interest in Perth? They sacrifice a home game (and now maybe two) for Perth. Hmmm... Is PHaC still out in WA? Maybe some of his well to do mates just want a game out there, LOL.

If you can't get 25,000 to this game, Perth doesn't deserve a RL team. I have said this with the CC Bears - and my family live on the CC. 12,000 to NRL games should not be clapped. A complete sell out in Perth should be looked at first. Surely if 25,000 Perth natives can't go to a ONE OFF NRL game, there really isn't much call for a team over there.

I am not saying Sydney crowds are any better...but I reckon everyone should be pushing the 25,000 mark per match or its time to cull teams. Brisbane get great crowds. But Gold Coast, Nth Qld, Melbourne, Newcastle, Canberra...all one team towns...where are the supporters? Probably watching it on telly...LOL.

the stupidity in this entire forum of late is disturbing.

I don't know how long you have been following League but NQ have had excellent crowds since day dot. This year there has been well publicized dramas up here plus 3 years of utter garbage on the field efforts but I'm sure you are well aware of all this......... :roll::roll:

the stupidity in this entire forum of late is disturbing.

I don't know how long you have been following League but NQ have had excellent crowds since day dot. This year there has been well publicized dramas up here plus 3 years of utter garbage on the field efforts but I'm sure you are well aware of all this......... :roll::roll:

Sorry dude - Nth Qld always get healthy crowds and should not have been included.

Nuke

Newcastle's stadium has been in the process of upgrading for the best part of two seasons, plus when they were building the Andrew Johns Stand a few years before that. Large sections of the stadium were blocked off due to construction, hence the lower-than-usual crowds. The Knights also haven't exactly been setting the world alight in recent years either, so those two factors, plus the expensive memberships and ticket prices (prior to Nathan Tinkler coming on board) mean the crowds have been down on what they got mid-90's.

I agree, we (Newcastle) still should have higher crowds than we're getting, but it's not as terrible as you make out it is.

apology accepted :D

Still...Nth Qld was kept and 'maybe' nurtured (though there was heaps of hard work AND heartache and losses) to get them to being a NRL side.

I just kinda wish the NRL - News Ltd and/or ARL - had shown the same loyalty/forethought with Perth, and others.

They brought in Melbourne and just plonked in in there. Killed then resurrected the Gold Coast. Let Brisbane rule the roost when they could have had a 2nd Brisbane team.

Anyway - after Sunday's win, the Cowboys are the 2nd half kings. I heard 22-0 to Canberra and didn't bother going back to the score as I was at Souths game. Then when I heard the Cowboys won I just laughed at my wife (she is a Para fan and it happened to her too!)