Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lift your game Idjets - Is this the Game Day Thread or what?

DJDL

I don't, we were dead comfortable for 80 minutes. The knights, whilst shit, were hardly second string as well, they had a few forwards out 2 of which are utter garbage anyway. We also have a few out injured too.

I'm normally the first to jump on the pillock (!) but we're early in the season and in the middle of a fairly decent road trip. Reckon the conservative play is a plan, well I hope so anyway.

I hope you’re right.
It’s the only thing I am prepared to concede in Fitzy’s coaching. Maybe he’s saving things for the business end.

But I’m not confident that is the case.

Until we beat one of the more fancied sides at, or near enough to, full strength and with an even share of possession, I won’t be getting my hopes up.

shaggs

I’m not a great Wilton fan but he was tough today.

Any thoughts on whether we have front loaded all of our fitness training and the boys are heavy legged by the 65-70 minute mark?
With the aim to be fresh and tapered by round 20 odd?

Cheese sandwich

I hope you’re right.
It’s the only thing I am prepared to concede in Fitzy’s coaching. Maybe he’s saving things for the business end.

But I’m not confident that is the case.

Until we beat one of the more fancied sides at, or near enough to, full strength and with an even share of possession, I won’t be getting my hopes up.
I'm hearing you mate. I'm probably just in a good mood because I despise the knights with a passion :)

Cheese sandwich

Any thoughts on whether we have front loaded all of our fitness training and the boys are heavy legged by the 65-70 minute mark?
Judging by how the season went last year for most teams I would hope this is the case. Lot of teams limped into the finals last year just waiting to be sent to Bali

ragzouken

Stop using your brain mate!
But yes I’ve been thinking we have been playing reserved this first part of the season the coach mentions as much in his presser.

My thinking they’re just trying to make it through to first bye/origin the ln start doing things

roboshark

I can tell you that we appeared to warm up way longer than the nits

Imagine if Nicho played as poorly as Ponga, and was as anonymous as often as Ponga is, the hammer he’d get in the media.
How does Ponga get off so lightly in the media, given he’s the highest paid player in the game?
I was thinking the same thing. If Hynes played like Ponga did today, it'd be the "narrative" all week. If Ponga had to get a gig elsewhere, I reckon he'd struggle. His time has come and gone.

shadowboxer

I was thinking the same thing. If Hynes played like Ponga did today, it'd be the "narrative" all week. If Ponga had to get a gig elsewhere, I reckon he'd struggle. His time has come and gone.
Same as the coach.
Sharks show up, play shit and win.
Sack coach, tell Hynes to get a blow dryer.
Not much whipping of O’Brien or Daddy boy Ponga.
Move on

roboshark

What was the go with out end of sets today. How many times did we die with the ball on the last. Havent seen that much before

Well we tried that same ploy against Ricky's Boyz last week and it worked a treat in the dying minutes.

That loss might come back and snap us on the arse in September maybe.

I see a log jam of top eight contenders

Get_Sharked

We were all looking at the bludger of a draw before the season kicked off, recognising we had an absolutely busted start to the year. Knew the travel would take its toll. We might be playing conservative to combat that, or we might be flat as a result of it.

Either way, we put on a good margin out of town a week after a trip to Perth. Some things looked less janky. Not going to complain.

What was the go with out end of sets today. How many times did we die with the ball on the last. Havent seen that much before
It was all about making them restart in the corners and not risking giving them 7 tackle sts from the 20 metre line. In the public service we call it risk management.

I think we played conservatively not to give too much away to future opponents. I'm happy with a 20 point win and Happy to be watching on delay on Kayo, from what you folks are saying about the Ch 9 coverage.

eddiesmith

A solid win, as others have mentioned we’ve had a horror run with travel in the early part of the season so it’s just nice to bank some wins.

Absolutely there is a lot to work on, there’s also plenty of history of teams flying out the blocks in first 6 weeks and being nowhere when it counts at the end of the season. It’s a long season, let’s see how we’re looking around origin time in terms of clicking and decisive wins.

What was a positive today was to see them actually take advantage of an extra man and just about put the game out of reach. Shame the 3rd try was dropped, but it’s not often we actually seem to dominate those periods so was a nice change.

Chimp

I actually think the last tackle options were a tactic based on the fact Newcastle are shite, and other than Marzhew (who’s a beast ball in hand), they had no meter eaters, so they were gonna really struggle to get out of their own end and into good ball provided we didn’t give them any leg ups - and because they’ve no impact, there was no reason for us to give away 6 agains or penalties.
It just meant we played boring (again). I think we’ve adopted the Wayne Bennett approach to early season - play boring, basic rugby and try not to beat yourself.
Given the draw and the travel, 4-3 is a decent-ish start, and bar shitting the bed against the raiders (where todays last tackle tactics would have seen us home), we should be 5-2.
4-3 with an absolute shit ton of improvement in us isn’t a bad start.