Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lip service or not? FTA games

Anyone think the IC will have a red hot go at fixing this?

The Brisbane Broncos will have their Friday night games reduced
Phil Rothfield The Sunday Telegraph April 08, 2012 12:00AM

241687-broncos-sharks-friday-night-footy.jpg

Dudded: The Cronulla Sharks have a hard time getting in front of the public. Source: The Daily Telegraph

THE NRL will try to ensure all clubs get a minimum of four Friday night games from next season following research which reveals the Broncos are getting a multi-million dollar corporate advantage over their rivals.

The Broncos have been allocated 12 free-to-air games in the opening 14 rounds which attract an average weekly audience of 905,000 viewers on Channel Nine.

Over that same period, the Cronulla Sharks have had 13 of their 14 games on Fox Sports, which has an average audience of only 255,000. The figures reveal why the Broncos' sales reps can sell jersey sponsorship and ground signage and advertising at a much higher rate than many other clubs.

The Broncos boast to their advertisers they are watched by 11.25 million TV viewers in the first 14 rounds.

Cronulla, who have only just managed to get a sponsor, get only 4.2 million viewers over the same period because of the way the NRL draw is done.

The Broncos have a big edge of having a city to themselves while Sydney has nine clubs fighting for the corporate dollar.

The independent commission has made it a priority to work on a fairer draw for all the clubs next season.

Previously, coaches have complained about the on-field advantage which gives the Broncos a full seven-day recovery most weeks.

But it's the commercial benefits that far outweigh anything else. While Queensland clubs and the Broncos will still dominate Friday night under plans for a revamped draw, other clubs will get a minimum four games. Talks are also under way with the broadcasters about doing the entire schedule 12 months in advance, as the AFL has done for years.

Apart from the Broncos, the Wests Tigers have been well served in the first 14 rounds of the draw, with nine free-to-air games despite poor form and being on the bottom of the ladder.

The worst affected are the Cronulla Sharks (one), and the Warriors and Raiders with only two free-to-air matches.

Madsharkie

It needs to change. Totally wrong the way it works at the moment. How are we supposed to attract new kid supporters if all they see are the donkeys...

DJShaksta

Yeah its a joke, theres no excuse for all clubs not having the same amount of tv games.
the donkies getting 12 out of 14 games on TV is an absolute rort.

Weaponhead

No. I don't think they will. For nine it is all about ratings. It's a no brainer that they pump the broncs. It's not am even playing field but that's the real world.

For us, we have to keep winning to get a shot. We have been garbage for a long time and have a small supporter base and are perceived not to play attractive footy. Nights like last night will show the broadcasters that they are missing out by continuing to brush us.

Well gee whizz willickers .......... have they just woken up to this rort.

Hmmmm I remember a few years back now a team that won the wooden spoon and didn't have a sponsor got the first five straight FTA games. Hey Mr Steggles.

Yeah, it is a real level playing field you have had Mr Gallop.

Moi, I don't think nothing will change for us until we are a financially secured proposition. Then we will be able to kick up a stink about this crap.

Everybody under the sun knows about the rort. You should hear non donkey supporters north of the tweed going on about it.

But it doesn't hit the press up here because the Donks and their connections are a protected breed.

Weaponhead. It is a proven track record that no matter who plays on Friday nights the Footy will always get fantastic ratings.

The other stations put on crap because they know that the League is the ratings winner. The advertisers won't go MIA because the farkkkennn Donks are not on every farkkkkkkennnnn friday night.

It pisses me off just quietly.

Nine chooses the games.

Nine sponsors the Broncos.

WIN sponsors the Cows.

The Titans have it all sewn up as they are sponsored by Nein AND FOXTEL.

How is this allowed?

scaled.php

screenshot20120408at110.png

screenshot20120408at111.png

Since 73

weapon's right it won't change.

Prime time Friday nite all the boofhead donkey supprters settle down to watch their team.

One city, one team so they have a billion supporters therefore ratings go thru the roof, therefore nine sells those slots at premium dollar.

Imagine primetime Friday night and the Sharks are playing the Raiders.

Nine won't watch viewers turn over to Murder she wrote just so Gal and the boys get their face on tele.

Have I been missing Murder She Wrote? sh!t.

I know i was upset about missing Coast on S.B arhhh S.

Got a T box now so I can record shows too. Murder she wrote ehhhh, sounds good.

How does Jessica Fletcher know so many people just quietly.

Everywhere she goes some poor merkin kicks it.

Who'd go anywhere near her? Fuquing jinx.

Mr Fourex

I'll admit that it doesn't seem right........and I hope it does change so that all the whining and innuendo that Brisbane are "cheating again" will be put to bed.

Tbh......I'd love the Broncs to have a few more Sunday arvo games and I'll think you find most Brisbane supporters feel the same way.

That said, surely you can now see that for TV to want you, you have to be playing well.

The Sharks are playing well. It's the only reason slothfield has even mentioned you in his "article" about a long standing issue/whine from other clubs

Windy70

Jessica Fletcher would of been arrested a long time ago. She has to be an old female Dexter.

And Dexter is dead spit of Kimmorley, so there ya go.

Since 73

How does Jessica Fletcher know so many people just quietly.

Everywhere she goes some poor merkin kicks it.

Who'd go anywhere near her? Fuquing jinx.
I'd be more worried you know her name.

She should have the shoe's job. He couldn't solve a murder if he did himself.

roboshark

Geezus ch 9 are MerKins. Fancy putting eels vs knights on today ahead of our game

One of the worst games in living memory today

I hope their ratings suffered...scumbags

Tucky

Geezus ch 9 are MerKins. Fancy putting eels vs knights on today ahead of our game

One of the worst games in living memory today

I hope their ratings suffered...scumbags
I only saw the last 20 minutes and it was horrendous. Glad I didn't bother sitting through the full game.