Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lockyer accused of bar "tackle"

Lockyer admitted it was him after seeing the latest footage but couldn't recall doing it. He was probably drunk, and a lot of us have forgotten stupid things we've done while intoxicated.

Bring on the haters, but it doesn't change the fact that it was a nothing incident and not many people care.

Half of Brisbane cared enough to ring the club and slander the owner!!!

Cheers to Locky for being man enough to come out in public. Admit his mistake and apologise. Now thats how players should behave when they screw up. Good on the man

Yeah, what a man. Lied, then fessed up when he was caught. Then blamed the grog - the same thing the Broncos told us he was trying to ban at the club. What a load of sh*t.

Casablanca is full of polynesians most nights who, purely by their size, are intimidating to a lot of little white guys ... there's no way Terry (who is a prize f'wit - and I can tell you this from personal experience) would have been "terrified" by a handful of footy players when he is used to several groups of a dozen 140kg plus poly's hanging out together looking menacing.

Before I cop a racist taunt I used to run another club that was 90% polynesian and/or islanders. The islanders were always way less trouble than the average private school white guy but sadly that's the stereotype they have. Almost all over them are great guys and big softies ...
I'll second that.

Simo

jimmy said:
What he " should have just said " and what HE DID SAY is what it is all about. He lied and told the truth only when the new video emerged.

He shouldnt have had to say anything at all, it was not even an incident, cant believe that makes news.

It turned into his crazy lie but should never have been asked in the first place, what a non event.

Kia Ora Storm said:
Why did he deny it ??...makes him look even more of a fool now.

If he had integrity then he would admit it... __________________

I have no idea, I agree the lie was silly.....because it was such a non event it made no sense to lie.

The news tried to jump on the pissed broncos coatails and reeled Locky in hook line and sinker when he told a porky.

Does anyone who has seen the video actually think its newsworthy?

Green Machine

And this has relevance how?
I think it has a lot of relevance. It will be interesting to see if this Joel Macdonald, who has been charged with public nuisance after an alleged street fight, gains as much attention as this minor incident that Darren Lockyer has been involved in

Jimmy

He shouldnt have had to say anything at all, it was not even an incident, cant believe that makes news.

It turned into his crazy lie but should never have been asked in the first place, what a non event.

I have no idea, I agree the lie was silly.....because it was such a non event it made no sense to lie.

The news tried to jump on the pissed broncos coatails and reeled Locky in hook line and sinker when he told a porky.

Does anyone who has seen the video actually think its newsworthy?

If he had chosen to say nothing he would be admitting guilt. That is why he tried to put it at rest by telling the lie. You don't understand that high profile footballers on a drunken rampage will ALWAYS be newsworthy.

mattyg

this is fkn ridiculous...we have the sexual assault allegations, darren lockyer blatantly lying about a nightclub incident then the truth coming out...and several fans ringing up threatening a bar owner...if it was good enough to fine the dogs $500,000 (most of it suspended) after 2004 coffs harbour, then the Broncos definately deserve the same punishment. But as i've read elsewhere, it would just be like taking money from your right pocket and putting it in your left pocket...

Simo

If he had chosen to say nothing he would be admitting guilt. That is why he tried to put it at rest by telling the lie. You don't understand that high profile footballers on a drunken rampage will ALWAYS be newsworthy.

So this to you was a drunken RAMPAGE! lol.....sure had the high profile players actually gone on a drunken rampage then it would be newsworthy, but again if thats what you call a rampage then you will have a great career in the tabloids!

Jimmy

So this to you was a drunken RAMPAGE! lol.....sure had the high profile players actually gone on a drunken rampage then it would be newsworthy, but again if thats what you call a rampage then you will have a great career in the tabloids!

I'm afraid you are one of the few Bronco fans still defending their actions. I have said that Darren Lockyer is a great player and, without consuming a lot of alcohol, a good citizen. He and the other players behaved very badly in this case and have to wear the results. He has apologised because the video revealed the truth that they acted as drunken hoons. If you don't like the word " rampage " I am sorry but it is MY opinion it was exactly that.

I hear he's got nothing on your mate Johnsy

My mate ????

Nice effort in deflecting that Lockie and your club are nothing but lying turds. How pathetic, when it was a nothing incident at all. Why not come out and put his hand up, apoligise? He and the club tried to lie about it knowing he was in fact the one, as Weak as piss.

Simo

I'm afraid you are one of the few Bronco fans still defending their actions. I have said that Darren Lockyer is a great player and, without consuming a lot of alcohol, a good citizen. He and the other players behaved very badly in this case and have to wear the results. He has apologised because the video revealed the truth that they acted as drunken hoons. If you don't like the word " rampage " I am sorry but it is MY opinion it was exactly that.

I am far from a Broncos fan and wear blue come origin time. We will have to agree to disagree because that to me is the furthest from a rampage you could get.

If you could describe (have you seen the video?) what about it is a rampage it would be interesting. Did he hurt anyone, knock anyone over, tackle anyone (and I mean tackle), punch anyone, kick, scream, push, shove????

He has apologised cause he got caught out in a lie, my point all along has been that he had no need to lie because he did nothing wrong.

Jimmy

I am far from a Broncos fan and wear blue come origin time. We will have to agree to disagree because that to me is the furthest from a rampage you could get.

If you could describe (have you seen the video?) what about it is a rampage it would be interesting. Did he hurt anyone, knock anyone over, tackle anyone (and I mean tackle), punch anyone, kick, scream, push, shove????

He has apologised cause he got caught out in a lie, my point all along has been that he had no need to lie because he did nothing wrong.

The hotelier complained that this group invaded the bar and grabbed unopened bottles of liquor. They threw some money on the floor and departed with the manager in pursuit. I have seen the video showing Lockyer physically confronting the pursuer. These people were clearly under the influence and carried on like drunken hoons. If you maintain that Lockyer and the others " did nothing wrong " I am retiring from this debate because we have very different views on what is acceptable social behaviour.