Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lomu & Vagana? Very disappointing.

Title says it all.
These two guys are supposed to turn our season around next year. Them & a new winger!!
I hardly think so from their semi finals displays.

Alan Shore

Vagana is without a doubt the world's best centre. So he will be great for the backline, meaning we can punt Ando Jnr. Lomu I will agree with you - he's very inconsistent.

Tamazoid said:
Vagana is without a doubt the world's best centre. So .

Girdler, Toopi, Tate, Lyon, Gidley, Gasnier...... & there just the ones playing in the NRL who are probably better than him.
Especially after seeing just how easily he got run down the other night.
His lack of genuine pace is frightening.
People bag Preston Campbell for missing 3 tackles. What about Vaganas 5 misses in a semi!!!

Alan Shore

blacktip-reefy said:
Tamazoid said:
Vagana is without a doubt the world's best centre. So .

Girdler, Toopi, Tate, Lyon, Gidley, Gasnier...... & there just the ones playing in the NRL who are probably better than him.
Especially after seeing just how easily he got run down the other night.
His lack of genuine pace is frightening.
People bag Preston Campbell for missing 3 tackles. What about Vaganas 5 misses in a semi!!!

Gasnier - Only rated because of his name.
Gidley - Ah, Sir Turnstiles. Has only got an overused flick pass.
Lyon - Hasn't really been that great this year.
Tate - Alright, just in the Test team to fulfill QRL quotas
Toopi - Inconsistent.
Girdler - Where's he been? Haven't heard of him since the World Cup, and BTW he's overrated

Special K

Before Vagana signed with us Reefy was telling us how he was the best centre in the world and how the dogs would never let him go..And now :oops:

millersnose

actually he didnt play well on the weekend

doesnt matter we always have jarrod to fall back on

in all seriousness though vagana is just the type of player needed in our backline even reefy would agree with that

Not on his form the other day Millers.
If that's what he is bringing, it's just more of the sam
I was shocked at how slow he is.

& Tamazoid, where has Girdler been???
Are you serious?? He has been on TV playing footy. Scoring tries, kicking goals, pulling penalties, taking intercepts & most important of all, promoting deft little plays down the shortside from dummy half.
Under-rated if anything.
BTW, after Vaganas display of non-speed, Girdler obviously has him beaten in that department too. At 31.

millersnose

lol

on that ligic anyone who has had a bad game wouldnt get a run

and girdler has had stacks over the years

Alan Shore

millersnose said:
lol

on that ligic anyone who has had a bad game wouldnt get a run

and girdler has had stacks over the years

Especially since the World Cup. And that was my point in the first place.

Good call. Lyons is easily better than Vagana. Far more destructive & fast.
However, Lyons was not on the market for us to buy. & if he was, we may have passed anyway.
You see, the purchase of Vagana was not of a clear cut devastating centre. Vagana is clearly not that. He is a finisher. How does he score the majority of his tries? Off sherwin grubbers & off loads from big forwards near the line.
Vagana is a Kimmorley & Stevens "plug-in".

Foz

Last weekend was the worst game I've ever seen Vagana play. He didnt play the week before against us. He didnt look right to me so I'm guessing he's carrying an injury. I'd have him in my side.
How does he get most of his tries? Well you can add the odd intercept in there as well.

Alan Shore

Criswell said:
Wait till you see how slow Nathan Merritt realy is. :shock:

Aww Criswell, I know its hard supporting an incompetent footy side that's run worse than a chook raffle, BUT, GET BACK TO YOUR BUNNY HOLE!

Thankyou.

shadowboxer

ha ha how funny - nothing like blacktip wit, add a particular expletive starting with an F and you have him/it/her all worked out.

Lomu - yeah fair enough he has been ordinary.
vagana - rate his season on A game where the entire team played like a bag of bog.

I hope we have a better season next year and cant see any positives by bagging new players before the off season has really got under way. good luck to the team and for that matter the supporters, dont give up....

Criswell

Tamazoid said:
Criswell said:
Wait till you see how slow Nathan Merritt realy is. :shock:

Aww Criswell, I know its hard supporting an incompetent footy side that's run worse than a chook raffle, BUT, GET BACK TO YOUR BUNNY HOLE!

Thankyou.

Mate i'm being serious. Nathan is a good player, but the speedster rap is some what overblown. Check some of our replays during the offseason.