Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lomu

shadowboxer

What happened with Lomu last night??? Comments elsewhere of minimal game time and no confidence by his coach, i wonder what his impact will be next year.... :|

Special K

the word is he and ricky don't get along at all. A new club with his talent could help him but if he plays like he has been since he signed with us he will be the new Tweddle on the bench in PL next year.

Morley?? Was that the bloke that hid behind the posts whilst Cayless did all the hard work. Same guy that tried shot after ridiculous cheap shot, of which only two (high & illegal) did any damage. Same guy who left the holes for the Panthers to run through in attampting his ridiculous "big hits"

He lost me last night.

He aint tough, he's a cheap shot specialist & a thug of the highest order.

His hit ups aren't as effective as marty langs or Cayless.
His tackles aren't as hard as Prestons.
His offloads are "unremarkable"
But he is quick! which makes you wonder why he could not be found in attack when he was needed the most.
Quick to hide.

Hahahaha tackles not as hard as Preston's

Morley is one of the best forwards I've had the pleasure of watching.

He belted EVERYONE.

Aries

while on Morely... I wander if the Poms will pick him, or will they only use the Players that play in England?

blacktip-reefy said:
He sure did!!!!!
Everyone that could not see him coming.(from offside & the blind side)

haha I cant believe this
He nailed everyone from front on

How drunk did you say you were?

watch him again.
& he did little damage last night.
Great for Ray Warren. Great for the 1 second shot in the footy promo.
But a liability in defense to his team.

Paulmon

Hulkamanic 36 said:
the word is he and ricky don't get along at all.

I've heard that as well, but you'd have to wonder why Ricky kept selecting Lomu in first grade if he didn't get on with him. No use having a fresh player on the bench and giving him 10 mins each week.

Special K

Paulmon said:
Hulkamanic 36 said:
the word is he and ricky don't get along at all.

I've heard that as well, but you'd have to wonder why Ricky kept selecting Lomu in first grade if he didn't get on with him. No use having a fresh player on the bench and giving him 10 mins each week.
Because he has size and he made the NZ team last year so he must be able to play.

I haven't seen much of him besides the memories of last year and how he killed us.

Ricky is a pro and if he feels its best for his team to have him there, he'll be there but once his contract was up ricky would have been the main guy behind giving him the arse.

A liability maybe when he would make a big hit and bounce off but good to watch. I think he was more good than harm, was he responsible for any tries?

How long is a ball of string?
He was responsible for the loss of many metres for the Chooks. Every Morley "hit" lead directly to a quick play the ball & many metres.

millersnose

a reefy classic

morleys front on defence was spot on all night

penrith guys were limping and dazed

he is the best forward in the game

millersnose said:
a reefy classic

Well your entitled to your opinion.
just a shame yours had taken such a battering this year.

On the GF 7 players made more tackles than him.
fizgibbon, Cayless, Pula & lang made more hit ups.
3 of his own forwards made more metres by a country mile.
maartin lang made more metres, nearly double.

Villasanti hits harder, more often & people dont get dazed. They dont come back on the field. Ask Webcke. Villa also offloads. Morley cant. Villa kicks. morley can't. Villa makes many more metres than morley.
Villa hits Fittler. Morley(from behind fitz) hits Villa, Villas smashes Morley(not seen again in the game)

Now we go to the Broncos.
Webcke & Civo. Morley better than those two?? Give me a break!! They are both so far ahead of him in every area of the game it is not funny. Tackles, hitups, metres & OFFLOADS.
Now Newcastle
Oh why bother, the stats tell the picture completely & still 10 teams to go.
But hey, Ray Warren loves MMMooorrley.

millersnose

blacktip-reefy said:
millersnose said:
a reefy classic

Well your entitled to your opinion.
just a shame yours had taken such a battering this year.

actually reefy last year you predicted a warriors win this year i predicted an easts win

hardly a battering ...but if the claim makes you feel better

On the GF 7 players made more tackles than him.
fizgibbon, Cayless, Pula & lang made more hit ups.
3 of his own forwards made more metres by a country mile.
maartin lang made more metres, nearly double.

a tackle count doesnt tell the whole story

the effectiveness of those tackles is the important thing

Villasanti hits harder, more often & people dont get dazed. They dont come back on the field. Ask Webcke. Villa also offloads. Morley cant. Villa kicks. morley can't. Villa makes many more metres than morley.
Villa hits Fittler. Morley(from behind fitz) hits Villa, Villas smashes Morley(not seen again in the game)

Now we go to the Broncos.
Webcke & Civo. Morley better than those two?? Give me a break!! They are both so far ahead of him in every area of the game it is not funny. Tackles, hitups, metres & OFFLOADS.
Now Newcastle
Oh why bother, the stats tell the picture completely & still 10 teams to go.
But hey, Ray Warren loves MMMooorrley.

all opinion

morley plays to a succsesful game plan

a roll on and quick play the ball is as important as a couple of meters as evidenced by the roosters appearing in the last 2 grand finals

you seem to have an agenda to call morleys hits "from behind" - surely this is an insult to our intelligence as he is a front on defence specialist

I reckon I'd have Morley over any of those players you mentioned reef.

Dont know if he is the best forward in the game but he is close to it - he is the best to watch in my opinion.

Booyah

Aries said:
while on Morely... I wander if the Poms will pick him, or will they only use the Players that play in England?

He'll be the first one they pick. Hell, they might even make him Captain. Andy Farrell does nothing at Test level.

Morley and Cayless were the only two Roosters to shine. Sattler and Priddis were absolutely awesome for the Panthers. I still can't believe that Sattler managed to chase down Todd Byrne - the guy must have been running on pure adrenaline.

As for Lomu, I vaguely recall that he handled twice for as many errors, then was quickly taken off. Did nothing and I hope that is not a sign of things to come next year.