Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looks like thr Dragons are ripe for the picking?

Next week, perhaps our best chance to get them, what a strange season, starting to look a lot like last year?

N.C.

I dunno. Dragons coming off two losses and Tigers coming off a run of wins makes me very, very nervous... We've very rarely put more than three wins together, ever. Dragons have rarely lost three on the trot.

One thing's for sure, we'll know a hell of a lot more about this season by this time next week.

I like the direction we are heading compared to the direction Stains are

One week at a time....wont get any decent odds though

id rather they won today tbh

still im confident of a good showing, and the team certainly wont lose hope if we are down at halftime

we owe these pricks one

I dunno. Dragons coming off two losses and Tigers coming off a run of wins makes me very, very nervous... We've very rarely put more than three wins together, ever. Dragons have rarely lost three on the trot.

One thing's for sure, we'll know a hell of a lot more about this season by this time next week.
We've had 3 consecutive wins or more 13 times since 2000

westie

I agree with what Gus wrote the other day. Bennett is probably thrashing them at training trying to get them to peak at the right time. Whether or not that means they'll be off next week... I guess you'd have to be in the camp to know.

TrigaTheTiger

I suspect they are going to towel us after the caning Bennie gave them in the post match.

Seriously - its nothing against our blokes, but the Saints will beat anyone this weekend.

Ron's_Mate

I suspect they are going to towel us after the caning Bennie gave them in the post match.

Seriously - its nothing against our blokes, but the Saints will beat anyone this weekend.
That's what people were saying last week about St George vs Souths & look what happened there. Seems like St George are not in good form at the moment. Anyway, I plan to be there & hope for a great game with the Tigers coming into form.

N.C.

We've had 3 consecutive wins or more 13 times since 2000

My point is that we tend to stumble once we hit three in a row. Until 2005, 3 was our longest winning streak. After 2005, I can recall maybe one or two occasions where we've broken through that magic barrier.

How many times have we had 4 or more consecutive wins since 2000?

N.C.

Answer: 5

Winning streaks (according to http://www.rugbyleagueproject.org/):

2000 - 3 wins
2001 - 3 wins
2004 - 3 wins
2005 - 3 wins; 8 wins; 4 wins (remember that?)
2007 - 6 wins
2009 - 6 wins
2010 - 3 wins; 4 wins; 3 wins; 3 wins
2011 - 3 wins (and counting?)

Maybe I should stop worrying so much... Seems we've managed to get over the three game hurdle often enough in the last few seasons.

Bring on those Dragons.

The Saints will be tough. They are a quality team and they will be looking to turn their form around.

We on the other hand are inconsistent and I wonder if we aren't due for a shocker.

super_coach

If we play like we did against the Eagles and the Dragons play like they did against Souths we will win by 20, but thats not going to happen.

The Drags will be fired up and come out all guns blazing, but I think if we can match them in the 1st half we will go away with it in the second half, as long as we get a fair share of the ball. The Drags usually end up on the right side of the penalty count and you can bet it will be Archer or haynes in charge and that is not so good for us

N.C.

Incidentally, the last time the Dragons lost three games running was in August 2009.

The last time we beat them was August 2008.

We are due.

this is the worst time to come up against the Dragons.

We played 40 good mins against Manly, and they played quite a restricted game.

You can't hope the Dragons will go into their shell and win them game by playing half a good game of footy.

Radical Rat

this is the worst time to come up against the Dragons.

We played 40 good mins against Manly, and they played quite a restricted game.

You can't hope the Dragons will go into their shell and win them game by playing half a good game of footy.

Well that's exactly what they've done the past 2 weeks, so I reckon we can most definitely hope for and even expect that.

super_coach

In the first half Souths forwards were hardly sighted, the backs and the little men were doing all the hard yards. In the second half they hit hard with their forwards and Sandow and co run roit. If our forwards play with the same venom as last week they will cause the drags all sorts of problems.

Wayne B will flog them all week so they will come out firing but I think we have them covered, they are on a decline and we are on the rise

simmo1

Their confidence has deserted them in recent months. They'll try and grind the ugliest of wins on Friday to try and regain some of that. If we get off to a good start, we should be able to win.

b.bear

We need our forwards to come out firing ,this will be their biggest test up til now .I like the pack we had last week ,hope nothing changes.