Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looks like thr Dragons are ripe for the picking?

Eddie.

There are still aspects of our team that really concern me

* Soward kicking game v Moltzen. If they win the field possession war Moltzen could find himself under a heap of pressure at the back with kicks
* Gasnier v Lui. This was a horror show at Kogarah earlier in the season, and you can bet your life he will be stepping off the right foot straight at him
* Utai making the right decisions in defence. He had a real clanger in the match at Kogarah, left us exposed a number of times.

We need to make sure we turn up with our defensive heads on. We have still gave up some soft tries on our goal line in recent weeks I remember going into the Brisbane blockbuster earlier in the year, and how all the talk was how we needed to focus on attack to try and beat them. I think if we muscle up and at least by even stevens in the yardage and get in the face of the likes of Gasnier and Cooper on the edges we will have too much for them in the end.

However if we turn up just trying to attack and forget about the real efforts needed to strangle saints then we will go down.

Actually...i think we need to lose this game to have any chance in the semi's... Might be just the thing we need to tidy up a few things and not get too cocky...

meltiger

I dunno. Dragons coming off two losses and Tigers coming off a run of wins makes me very, very nervous... We've very rarely put more than three wins together, ever. Dragons have rarely lost three on the trot.

One thing's for sure, we'll know a hell of a lot more about this season by this time next week.

Agree 100% NC

Imagine what Benny is doing to them at training this week? If they run out thinking saints are gone.... We will lose.

Eddie, with regards to Gasnier, didn't Moltzen play in the centres that day? Meaning Gas was running at him AND Lui? Lawrence makes a tremendous difference in that regard.

super_coach

Eddie, defensibly we are a different team to even a month ago so Iam pretty confident we will go okay in this area. Like all games my concern is always making enough "dirty yards" to get a kick away that will apply pressure. Last week we were pretty good in this area and got better as the game went on. Iam not that sure if this week we will get the same latitude.

Completions and repeat sets are of cpurse the no1 weapon in beating better sides. This is usually not our strong suit but we are on the improve. I see this game as a fifty fifty bet

hybrid_tiger

They key is the forwards. If Galloway, Gibbs, Ellis and even Woods play like they did last week we are a massive chance. They made metres at will last week, and got us off our own line time and time again.

Eddie, defensibly we are a different team to even a month ago so Iam pretty confident we will go okay in this area. Like all games my concern is always making enough "dirty yards" to get a kick away that will apply pressure. Last week we were pretty good in this area and got better as the game went on. Iam not that sure if this week we will get the same latitude.

Completions and repeat sets are of cpurse the no1 weapon in beating better sides. This is usually not our strong suit but we are on the improve. I see this game as a fifty fifty bet

On the Sunday Roast (I think it was), Gould was saying that we were playing very similar to the top sides in the end, with set completions way up, even Hasler mentioned similar in the post match conference (along with his sqealing about the alleged FP?), so if we have learnt & we can keep control, then I think we are more than a big chance.
That's why experience is required as well as youth.

it almost looks as if we've learnt that sacrificing the flair for ball control is better for the team.

The Gambler

Dominate the Dragons forwards and we dominate the game.

Don't let them get a roll on to utilise Cooper/Gasnier.

Tiger Hawk

With the form Cooper is in, I've got grave concerns about Ayshford marking him. Other than that, if we can continue to play to our abilities then we're an even shot at this.

b.bear

I am a bit worried about them losing 2 in a row but, I think the Steelers forwards are off their game at the moment and with our forwards finding a bit of consistency and looking a bit more robust through the middle, we could get them this week...

it almost looks as if we've learnt that sacrificing the flair for ball control is better for the team.
Seems to be a gradual thing.
First focus was on completions, then adding some footy to it....no point completeng 34/38 if youre not scoring....our defense has improved as well - 16 tries ag. in last 6 games ...much better than the start of the year.

We defended last week like we did in last years semi against saints....i wonder what wayne will have in store for us

Ronnie Dobbs

I think this game will tell us a lot more about the Dragons than the Tigers TBH.

Tigers get on a roll and I don't think Saints have the confidence at the moment to halt it.

I'm expecting the Tigers to come out on fire and the Dragons to be on the back foot early. If Saints can hold out and regain the confidence in their defence, then they'll be bloody hard to stop this week and every week after that. Its all about my team regaining their mojo and rediscovering their grit and mental strength, which is what has stood us apart from the rest the last couple of years. This is not easy.

This could be a blow out for the Tiges or a repeat of last years Prelim. Saints coming home too strong in the last 20.

I agree with Bennett about Saints. They've played flash and had match winning leads the last 2 weeks and then cruised. Thats not an indication of poor form, its the indication of a team who are complacent.

This will be a cracker and I cannot wait.

Good luck to you all.

SSC Napoli

you guys are kidding yourselves. the dragons will win easily. bennett will not flog them all week but will have them ready for this one. tiger magpies are a soft inconsistent team, making the finals twice in 20 years.

Borat.

I never fancy us against a side like st George...

But I reckon this is the best time to be playing them....we are on the way up and they are on the way down....simple as that .....

What if we had just lost 3 in a row?? no thanks...

hardbaby

The Dragons have won everything there is to win under Bennett. They have lost momentum at the moment but it is a proud team that has been ridiculed after last week's performance. Expect a massive performance. I expect the Dragons to win and win well. It will be a great game. Maybe the best of the season. Get out there.

mepelthwack

I certainly don't think the Dragons are ripe for the picking but if we are still in the game in the final 20 I like our chances.

gronkathon

Young returning is a massive boost in that it gives Fein the chance to spark something from the bench.

I want a good performance.

hybrid_tiger

Am I the only one who is really worried about this game?

I hope I'm wrong but I can see us on the end of a bit of a flogging. Bennett's spray was just what we did NOT want to hear.

I think the key will be to start well and get an early lead, and not just 6-0. Make the Dragons chase the game and it will put them out of their comfort zone.

super_coach

They get( the dragons) so much go forward from Youngs work at Dummy half. Lots of very flat questionable passes right on the advantage line. Thats where it all begins from and that what has been missing for a few weeks now. You will see a much different team to last week take on the Tigers. Iam still not convinced on our form, barring last week it has been average win loose or draw. Anyway not long to go now

Am I the only one who is really worried about this game?

I hope I'm wrong but I can see us on the end of a bit of a flogging. Bennett's spray was just what we did NOT want to hear.

I think the key will be to start well and get an early lead, and not just 6-0. Make the Dragons chase the game and it will put them out of their comfort zone.

I think that this will be a really tough game. Saints are a quality team and they have 2 losses in a row.

We are an inconsistent team and have had a couple of wins.

We can win but I'm not exactly confident.