Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luai the tigepie.

Nutz

Sorry doggy fans, that post about the Sydney Harbour Bridge was insensitive so I deleted it.

AKA Das Hassler

Don't know if anyone else agrees but watching these last couple of games again it's really starting to look like Luai is finally working it out with us. I think AD's current role at 7 is doing the trick for him ...Also with Luai...he's pretty much playing the role of the onfield trainer...constantly talking
..pointing and urging them on...he never stops! This cowboys tribute game would normally be a classic "didn't show up at a packed LO and got towelled up" for us but i just cannot see Luai allowing that to happen. His influence on this side is massive!

Nutz

Don't know if anyone else agrees but watching these last couple of games again it's really starting to look like Luai is finally working it out with us. I think AD's current role at 7 is doing the trick for him ...Also with Luai...he's pretty much playing the role of the onfield trainer...constantly talking
..pointing and urging them on...he never stops!
Well said, good leaders have good followers, and I believe we have them too.

The Rosco

..pointing and urging them on...he never stops! This cowboys tribute game would normally be a classic "didn't show up at a packed LO and got towelled up" for us but i just cannot see Luai allowing that to happen. His influence on this side is massive!
Spot on Das.
While we might have dreamed of a seamless transition from a 4 time prem winning club to ours, he was clunky for a while, but I think he has played much better in the past 4-6 weeks. We also have to take into account that JL seemed to have been instructed to facilitate LG as much as possible, lest he throw the toys out of the cot and have a sook. That set us back, because our systems learned in the off season went out the window when he of the "brave passes" stomped his feet and held his breath. We had to alter our playbook on the run . . . and let's face it, we ain't the best at learning and applying our playbook.
On field, off field, and in the dressing room . . . . we got it right this time.
Funnily enough, I remember his debut, and thought he would be a good get from the start. As he developed and started to collect rings, I laughed at myself for even thinking we ever had a chance to get this guy.
And then here we are !

Ron's_Mate

Jarome Luai says Wests Tigers have nothing to worry about … if they do one thing
By Christian Nicolussi
October 13, 2025 — 3.30pm

Jarome Luai says he will pledge his long-term future to Wests Tigers – on one condition.

“As long as they do right by me and my family, they’ll have nothing to worry about,” Luai said.

Luai has until April 30 next year to trigger a clause in his contract that will activate a further three seasons at the Tigers, adding about $3.5 million to his deal.

The playmaker was regularly praised by coach Benji Marshall for lifting standards on and off the field during his first year at Concord after leaving Penrith with four premiership rings.

Whether Luai has seen enough potential in the Tigers playing group to want to recommit – and whether his get-out clause is removed altogether – will be hot topics this summer.

Pressed on whether the Tigers had “done right” by him and his family, Luai said: “That’s why I’m still here. That’s why I’m looking forward to staying here as well.

“If they want to talk, then we’ll talk, but like I said, if they treat me and my family right, they’ve got nothing to worry about.”

Luai flew out for New Zealand with the Samoa team early Monday for the start of the Pacific Championships.

Having had time to reflect on the Tigers’ campaign, he said 2025 could not be described as a success because “we didn’t play in the finals”.

“That’s me as a competitor, and the years I’ve been through [at Penrith],” he said. “We can be a lot better, and it starts in pre-season.”

Luai, fellow Tigers Taylan and Terrell May, Canberra’s Josh Papalii, Parramatta’s Junior Paulo, Penrith’s Blaize Talagi and Brian To’o, and premiership-winning prop Payne Haas – who Luai refers to as “Samoa’s marquee signing” – are just some of the big names in action on Sunday against the Kiwis in Auckland.

Haas has been heavily linked to breakaway rugby union competition R360, with his management reportedly telling organisers last week the prop was only interested in entering negotiations if they were prepared to pay a minimum of $3 million a season.

Luai said there had been plenty of “banter” with the players about R360 and the wild money being discussed.

“The figures getting thrown around, as a player, it will always be eye-catching, but until it actually happens, I don’t think we’ll have serious conversations about it,” he said.

Taylan May’s late-season cameo was another promising sign for the Tigers, especially the quality of football he delivered without a pre-season, and Luai said he would be one of Samoa’s danger men out wide.

“He’s a freak, bro ... and if his mind is right, and he’s motivated, and he’s got a goal to work towards, then he’s a threat to a lot of others,” Luai said.

Now 28, Luai captained Samoa in a series in England last year, and will share the responsibility with Paulo this year.

The tiny Pacific nation made it to the World Cup final in 2022, and is still awaiting the returns of Stephen Crichton and Spencer Leniu, two players who will miss this series due to injury and fatherhood respectively, ahead of next year’s World Cup.

Wizardman

I call a spade a spade when it comes to this club. Luai have NEVER alluded to the possibility of leaving in his time here. I absolutely believe him for a few reasons.

1. His talk has always been positive about the club.
2. He is absolutely overpaid when it comes to on the field form. Some people seem to think Perth or PNG will offer him more....but I don't buy that. At best for Luai, they could offer him similar money but I seriously doubt they will blow the salary he has at WT off the park. I seriously doubt he'd go overseas or interstate at this point in his career when he can earn great money while living in Sydney.

Im very confident he'll stay. In saying that, f**k we need a lot more from him. He could well be here on another three years after next year on massive money. Im not confident he will deliver on that.

Jarome Luai says Wests Tigers have nothing to worry about … if they do one thing
By Christian Nicolussi
October 13, 2025 — 3.30pm

Jarome Luai says he will pledge his long-term future to Wests Tigers – on one condition.

“As long as they do right by me and my family, they’ll have nothing to worry about,” Luai said.

Luai has until April 30 next year to trigger a clause in his contract that will activate a further three seasons at the Tigers, adding about $3.5 million to his deal.

The playmaker was regularly praised by coach Benji Marshall for lifting standards on and off the field during his first year at Concord after leaving Penrith with four premiership rings.

Whether Luai has seen enough potential in the Tigers playing group to want to recommit – and whether his get-out clause is removed altogether – will be hot topics this summer.

Pressed on whether the Tigers had “done right” by him and his family, Luai said: “That’s why I’m still here. That’s why I’m looking forward to staying here as well.

“If they want to talk, then we’ll talk, but like I said, if they treat me and my family right, they’ve got nothing to worry about.”

Luai flew out for New Zealand with the Samoa team early Monday for the start of the Pacific Championships.

Having had time to reflect on the Tigers’ campaign, he said 2025 could not be described as a success because “we didn’t play in the finals”.

“That’s me as a competitor, and the years I’ve been through [at Penrith],” he said. “We can be a lot better, and it starts in pre-season.”

Luai, fellow Tigers Taylan and Terrell May, Canberra’s Josh Papalii, Parramatta’s Junior Paulo, Penrith’s Blaize Talagi and Brian To’o, and premiership-winning prop Payne Haas – who Luai refers to as “Samoa’s marquee signing” – are just some of the big names in action on Sunday against the Kiwis in Auckland.

Haas has been heavily linked to breakaway rugby union competition R360, with his management reportedly telling organisers last week the prop was only interested in entering negotiations if they were prepared to pay a minimum of $3 million a season.

Luai said there had been plenty of “banter” with the players about R360 and the wild money being discussed.

“The figures getting thrown around, as a player, it will always be eye-catching, but until it actually happens, I don’t think we’ll have serious conversations about it,” he said.

Taylan May’s late-season cameo was another promising sign for the Tigers, especially the quality of football he delivered without a pre-season, and Luai said he would be one of Samoa’s danger men out wide.

“He’s a freak, bro ... and if his mind is right, and he’s motivated, and he’s got a goal to work towards, then he’s a threat to a lot of others,” Luai said.

Now 28, Luai captained Samoa in a series in England last year, and will share the responsibility with Paulo this year.

The tiny Pacific nation made it to the World Cup final in 2022, and is still awaiting the returns of Stephen Crichton and Spencer Leniu, two players who will miss this series due to injury and fatherhood respectively, ahead of next year’s World Cup.

I believe he will prove to the best signing the club has ever made.
His off field work with the team driving standards are irreplaceable imo.
I feel a lot more confident when he's on the field, we did improve this season, but it also showed, we have a long way to go, which we all thought would probably be the case.

Im very confident he'll stay. In saying that, f**k we need a lot more from him. He could well be here on another three years after next year on massive money. Im not confident he will deliver on that.

It's not just on him but I'm not sure he will deliver to his pay packet. I'm also concerned that pay packet may impact our cap.

In stating that I think our squad is good enough to do well in the finals and he will play a massive role in that happening.

We just have to wait and see how they perform.

WA Tiger

Does anyone know Luai’s win loss record this year playing and not playing. I’m trying to work out where all this confidence in him is coming from. Another thing did you notice the difference in how Luai and Walsh presented after their big wins. (A Clue ‘humble / arrogant” - boy/man- knows everything / wants to learn )
Is it 4 more years wiz sheeeeit
And his number 1 concern is that the club treats his family well.. fk.. how insulting to even say that and which movie is his mind living in .. godfather probably

Nutz

It's not just on him but I'm not sure he will deliver to his pay packet. I'm also concerned that pay packet may impact our cap.

In stating that I think our squad is good enough to do well in the finals and he will play a massive role in that happening.

We just have to wait and see how they perform.
There's also a chance that the cap increases will lessen the impact of his huge salary.
I haven't criticized his effort because, as usual, it hasn't been a perfect transition for him. The several changes to the half position and the Galvin saga can't have helped.
When he first came to the club, it would have been ideal to have a settled backline from preseason onwards.
Next year is no different. It will chop and change all year for sure.
However, he's paid big bucks and his energy amongst the group, on and off the field is much needed. That's not enough though. I'm hoping a full preseason will help get the backline more settled but I'm unsure how rep footy impacts all this.

Nutz

I call a spade a spade when it comes to this club. Luai have NEVER alluded to the possibility of leaving in his time here. I absolutely believe him for a few reasons.

1. His talk has always been positive about the club.
2. He is absolutely overpaid when it comes to on the field form. Some people seem to think Perth or PNG will offer him more....but I don't buy that. At best for Luai, they could offer him similar money but I seriously doubt they will blow the salary he has at WT off the park. I seriously doubt he'd go overseas or interstate at this point in his career when he can earn great money while living in Sydney.

I can't see the new clubs, or any other club, paying more than us because Jarome is not a half and will most likely play ⅝ with the tigers next year.
He hasn't yet proven he can ice games at ½ so his regime doesn't look that good in that position.
He won't get the money he's on now at another club playing at ⅝ either imo.
He has his family settled here and is surrounded by his friends. I doubt he'd throw that away unless the money is ridiculously more than it is with us but that's not going to happen.
If we can get our backline settled early and they start to gel and we go on a winning streak then there is no need for him to go.

Does anyone know Luai’s win loss record this year playing and not playing. I’m trying to work out where all this confidence in him is coming from.

I couldn't find his win loss record.

I have some confidence in him based on what I've seen him do on the field. I reckon he can get the job done at all levels. He performs well in origin. He can create tries. He has won multiple premierships. His defense is good.

On the negative side his discipline was poor at numerous times last season. We lose games from poor discipline. That needs to be fixed.

Another thing did you notice the difference in how Luai and Walsh presented after their big wins. (A Clue ‘humble / arrogant” - boy/man- knows everything / wants to learn )
Is it 4 more years wiz sheeeeit

I reckon Walsh is a great player but the guy is a moron. I think Luai is more mature than Walsh.

And his number 1 concern is that the club treats his family well.. fk.. how insulting to even say that and which movie is his mind living in .. godfather probably

I think it's just dribble. I mean what are the club going to do.

WA Tiger

I couldn't find his win loss record.

I have some confidence in him based on what I've seen him do on the field. I reckon he can get the job done at all levels. He performs well in origin. He can create tries. He has won multiple premierships. His defense is good.

On the negative side his discipline was poor at numerous times last season. We lose games from poor discipline. That needs to be fixed.

I reckon Walsh is a great player but the guy is a moron. I think Luai is more mature than Walsh.

I think it's just dribble. I mean what are the club going to do.
There seems to be stats on here for everything else..prob less than inspiring

More recently he’s been close to shit

Walsh is showing him up with his humility big time.. and yet Walsh is at the very top for greatest individual performance of all time in a grand final ..What Luai isn’t hasnt and never will be. In fact a country mile separates them.. take a closer look at Walsh that’s how to behave post game .. that’s how it’s done .. that’s humility, that’s class. He’s a late learner but he’s got it

‘Tis dribble