Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Luke Brooks

Did the coaching staff not foresee this Brooks fiasco?

Did they really think he would accept half his salary, not saying he doesn’t deserve it. We needed to cut that cord.

But we let Hastings and Madden go, with what appears to have been no planning or thought for this scenario, I hope to f**k they have a plan, that is better than just bringing Madden back (if he comes). But we all know halves are like hens teeth.

Realistically, if Madden was thought to be a keeper, he would have been kept?

Just an absolute shit show.

Fordy20

Really happy for Brooksy. He’s finally free of this shit show of a club and managed to get a deal worth twice as much as the “fair market value” contract offered here. That’s just on paper though. How much more valuable will it be to play his natural game outside an Origin quality, game managing halfback? To play alongside quality like the Turbos?

He’s done quite well for himself, whereas this club is going into next year with one halves option on contract: Adam Doueihi. Complete shit show? Couldn’t agree more @Tigerm

Nutz

I don't think Brooks would or should be upset at the Tiges. He has been shown loyalty time and time again from the WT but we have buckled to pressure from disgruntled fans and a tirade of insults from the media. We are a rock show and he has worn the brunt of it.
WT low balled him but still offered him a contract and I've been told there was a TPA involved and have heard 3 different contract offer figures ranging between mid 500k to 800k but I think Manly's longer term contract tipped the scales.
I agree with you that it's best for him leaving as he not only should get to play finals footy but you never know he could even be part of a grand final game with DCE directing traffic.
Brooks just has to run and being a left foot kicker it gives Manly options. Also Manly have some decent backs that will help make Brooksy shine. Good luck to him I say.
He's an ambassador for the game regardless what people think of his ½ back qualities and not icing games.
I'm hoping Fulton has got a card up his sleeve with a midseason swap on the cards maybe with the young ½ - ⅝ Latu Fainu. (Also his brothers Sione and Samuela but is there dirty laundry attached with that family ie Manase?)
If there is a swap available then let Brooks and Tommy Talau go now since Trbojevic’s season-ending pec rupture and a Josh Shuster wanting more money Manly could agree with this. This swap may give Manly the depth and running game to make a finals bid.
I do hope we dont get Josh though, he reminds me of that lazy Mosese Suli who defected from the tiges)
What ever happens we have to make sure we keep all the good players....got to tie up the likes of Bula, Tupou, DaSilva ect for a long time and watch them and the team develop.

“Luke is a quality half-back, a former Dally M halfback of the Year, and brings over 200 games of experience to our club,’’ Manly coach Anthony Seibold said.

“He has got a fantastic left foot kicking game and is a really good runner of the football.

Read that again !!!

Luke is a quality half-back, a former Dally M halfback of the Year, and brings over 200 games of experience to our club,’’ Manly coach Anthony Seibold said.

He has got a fantastic left foot kicking game and is a really good runner of the football.

Every other coach that Brooks has had has talked him up in an effort to encourage him and for him to remain positive, for Brooks sake, hopefully it works our well for him.

Perhaps it will be DCE as the SOO player who wants to go back to Qld and unite with Dessie & Foran.

“Luke is a quality half-back, a former Dally M halfback of the Year, and brings over 200 games of experience to our club,’’ Manly coach Anthony Seibold said.

“He has got a fantastic left foot kicking game and is a really good runner of the football.

Read that again !!!

Luke is a quality half-back, a former Dally M halfback of the Year, and brings over 200 games of experience to our club,’’ Manly coach Anthony Seibold said.

He has got a fantastic left foot kicking game and is a really good runner of the football.
I guess he can’t say he brought a dud and we hope he comes good?

Nutz

Good morning fellow tiger supporters. Where abouts is the grey nomad this morning @Tigerm.
Is anyone doing something interesting today.
I'm getting another covid boost today.
Does anyone know if you can donate blood after a covid jab, is there a waiting period?

Wizardman

Every other coach that Brooks has had has talked him up in an effort to encourage him and for him to remain positive, for Brooks sake, hopefully it works our well for him.

Perhaps it will be DCE as the SOO player who wants to go back to Qld and unite with Dessie & Foran.
I'd laugh my ass off if that happened. I cannot see it though for two reasons.

(a) DCE has the unique chance to remain a one club player and can have the trimmings which go with that.
(b) DCE has a negative history with the Titans...doubt he messes his Manly legacy to go with them.

Good morning fellow tiger supporters. Where abouts is the grey nomad this morning @Tigerm.
Is anyone doing something interesting today.
I'm getting another covid boost today.
Does anyone know if you can donate blood after a covid jab, is there a waiting period?
G’day @Nutz I’m free camping in a place called Croydon in nth qld for a couple of days. Weather is hot as buggery, not missing the minus degree days at home, but we are getting good internet.
Ask about blood donations when you get your shot.

Nutz

G’day @Nutz I’m free camping in a place called Croydon in nth qld for a couple of days. Weather is hot as buggery, not missing the minus degree days at home, but we are getting good internet.
Ask about blood donations when you get your shot.
Good point about blood. I've used plenty if others kind donations so I thought I'd reciprocate. My missus jokingly called me a leach....nice one hey...cheaky gal.
Is your van aircon?
I spent most of my adult life in north qld and I never really got used to the humidity.
It didn't bother me if I was fishing or something like that but sweating when your trying to relax is annoying.
What attractions does Croyden have mate, can't say I've had much to do with the place. I think its an ol mining town isn't it?

WA Tiger

Read that again !!!

And “that’s a formidable spine” from Anasta…and “he’s got a good running game” Siebold, funny!!.. also The only shit show is the club that has Brooks on his books. Even $600k a year is an expensive mistake..I’ll enjoy watching him play for manly..

Front-Rower

Read that again !!!

Leadership skills? Organisational skills? Finals experience? Nah, just a good left foot kick and running game. Heaps of dud halfbacks can kick and run the ball.

Good point about blood. I've used plenty if others kind donations so I thought I'd reciprocate. My missus jokingly called me a leach....nice one hey...cheaky gal.
Is your van aircon?
I spent most of my adult life in north qld and I never really got used to the humidity.
It didn't bother me if I was fishing or something like that but sweating when your trying to relax is annoying.
What attractions does Croyden have mate, can't say I've had much to do with the place. I think its an ol mining town isn't it?
Yes it is an old gold mining town, over 3000 in its hey day, looked a reasonable size, but not many (by the looks, less than 200?) now.

Yes the van is AC but can’t use it free camping, don’t have a generator.

I planned to come up this way for our winters, as it’s just too f**king cold at home.

Don’t know about living here full time, but not minding a bit of heat for a change.

But life is so different up in these areas, no one rushes, a different life, housing is cheap as chips, though food items are certainly dearer than in bigger places for obvious reasons.

Crazyperpman

Any thought that Brooks would sign out of loyalty were misguided. The fact is he has signed for the highest offer for every contract he has signed, its just WT were hellbent on paying him on potential rather than performance.

Brooks has made out like a bandit. The least loved of the "Big 4" but has been on the most money for the last 4 years. I say Well played, but the jury came back on him a long time ago. He has been overpayed and underperformed and its time for both parties to go their separate ways.

Good luck in your life Luke.

Tiger Ted

Any thought that Brookes would sign out of loyalty were misguided. The fact is he has signed for the highest offer for every contract he has signed, its just WT were hellbent on paying him on potential rather than performance.

Brookes has made out like a bandit. The least loved of the "Big 4" but has been on the most money for the last 4 years. I say Well played, but the jury came back on him a long time ago. He has been overpayed and underperformed and its time for both parties to go their separate ways.

Good luck in your life Luke.
He owes Isaac the swindler Moses big time.IM’s agents fees would b way above mkt rates re Brooks’s contract etc